We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, friendly staff, basic facilities”
Review of Wardonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wardonia Hotel
Ranked #547 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, friendly staff, basic facilities”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent location for the money. Not in the centre of town but the near by tube station (kings x) will take u anywhere in about 10-15mins.

As the price implies the room we stayed in was small and basic but was clean and cozy. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    446
    273
    75
    42
See reviews for
119
378
179
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I only stayed one night in this hotel but the biggest compliment I can pay it is that I've booked to stay there again in the near future. The room was small but as the plan was not to spend too much time there that wasn't an issue. It was clean and tidy and the bathroom was what you would expect. For £55 for the night it was excellent value.

The only negative was that the matress was a bit too soft for my liking and so I didn't sleep as well as I could have but that was a minor point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magamar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glam South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Easy check in, pleasant staff. Very small rooms, but what do you expect in a budget hotel in a capital city. Tea/coffee facility provided, also hairdryer and TV, bedding immaculately clean and the benefit of an equally clean en suite (with the smallest hand basin I've ever seen - but we had one!). Strange system of stairs A to E, no lifts so if you have mobility problems I would advise you request a room on the ground floor, steep stairs to the rooms. Room keys are left with reception each time you leave but it is open 24 hours so no worries if you're late back. My one concern is lack of fire exits, the fire alarm went off while I was there and everyone had to make their way out through the same corridor to the assembly point at the front of the hotel, luckily it was a false alarm. Room also very warm and as there was a storm in the night, rain came through the window onto the bed so I had no choice but to close it and suffer the heat, great in Winter though I expect. Within east walking distance to Hatton Garden, about 20 mins and if you carry on you can walk through Holborn to St Pauls and then on to the Tower and Tower Bridge.

Room Tip: Hotel in a side street so no road noise front or back of the hotel but ask for a low room if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdFACup08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I spent 2 nights at the Wardonia hotel. the room was very clean , and although the bathroom was small it had large shower. The staff were friendly and very helpful ,and it is well situated near train stations . And there are plenty of places to eat near by . I would definitely stay there again, when visiting London .

Room Tip: If you have trouble managing stairs, choose a ground floor room as there no lift , I was on 3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyvern B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My single room was compact but well equipped and clean. I would definitely stay again. I chose a top floor room to avoid noise which worked but the stairs are hard work with a large suitcase (no lift).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenGenie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our room was situated up staircase E & on the 3rd floor which was a bit of trek but we're young so managed it. The staff were friendly enough & a very nice housekeeper set us in the right direction when we got lost looking for reception.
As everybody else has said yes, the rooms are tiny. If you're planning on spending a lot of time in your room then this isn't the place for you. If you're looking for somewhere as a base to plan your sightseeing & sleep that isn't silly money then this is spot on. Our room was very clean & being so close to such a large station it's easy to get to anywhere in London. There is no breakfast at the hotel but there is a pub next door that serves breakfast until 10am, a Costa at the station & other places just up the road so you can get whatever suits your scedule.
Overall good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A nice place to stay for business trips as it is very conveniently located near king's cross rail station. Room size was quite small and there was no breakfast facility in the hotel itself. There is no lift which can be a bit inconvenient. Overall not a bad place especially if you book in advance and get a cheap price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajesh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#566 of 1,069 in London
915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#252 of 1,069 in London
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#830 of 1,069 in London
437 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#950 of 1,069 in London
288 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wardonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wardonia Hotel

Property: Wardonia Hotel
Address: 46-54 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#99 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wardonia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wardonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wardonia Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing