We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic: sleep and take a shower”
Review of Wardonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wardonia Hotel
Ranked #612 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The best of this hotel is the situation, only 100 m from St Pancrass station. Tiny rooms and not comfortable bathroom. If you have more money posibilities take another hotel.Perfect if you want sleep and take a shower.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonyandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel is within walking distance to the King's Cross underground, British Museum... King's Cross is a major station for many lines. It makes commuting around great.
But don't expect too much from the price, it is as small as possible as an en-suite bedroom.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayJinLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My first impressions of this hotel were good. The building is attractive and despite being two minutes from Kings Cross station, the street was quiet. (The area around Kings Cross has greatly improved in the last 10 years or so, by the way). The staff were efficient. There is a luggage storage room, but it's not within sight of the reception desk and seems to be left unlocked all the time, so be careful what you leave there.

My room was very small and so was the bathroom, but both were clean and the kettle worked, the TV worked ... no problems there. However, the problems started at about one in the morning when I was awoken by a persistent screeching noise. It sounded like a large fan that needed oiling and was as irritating as trying to sleep in the same room as someone operating an electric drill. No chance of closing the windows as it was a warm night, so I missed out on sleep.

Have read a few other reviews and no-one else has complained about this, so perhaps it just wasn't my night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romance_for_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is really close to the station! (2-3 minutes) and is very well connected to 6 metro lines. There are a lot of nocturnal buses and it's quite safe return even if it's late (i was alone with my younger sister and we didn't have any problem). the room is REALLY small and the bathroom even smaller. It was relatively clean but I've seen wors. It's a quiet zone so even if we opened the window there were no noises.I would recommend this hotel to young people who wants to visit london and uses hotel only for sleeping =)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel was surprisingly close to the Kings Cross Station in London. As I have arrived from Paris by Eurostar, it was perfect for me. I thought I would have to take a cab from the station to the hotel, but once I went out of the station I could see the hotel, and it was quite easy to walk even carrying luggage. It's location is just perfect, near the metro and trains stations, lots of cafes and pubs, one little mall and supermarket.

The hotel is clean, it has a nice shower, but the room is really tiny. We had to put the luggage under the bed so to have some space to walk. The bed was comfy, but small - which was no bad for me and my husband, as we love to stay close to each other :).
They also don't have elevators, so, it is sad to take the suitcases up and down through the stairs. Despite the size of the room and the stairs fact it is good, clerks were friendly and helpful.

I will probably be back in the next year! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaSNatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wardonia is superbly situated no more than 150 meters from Kings Cross and St Pancras station. It is a gentle hotel bit quite spartan and small rooms, but it is neat, clean and nice. There is not much disturbing noises from the streets outside and the hotel it self is quiet and gentle.

Strangely enough there is no safe in the rooms or safety deposit possibility at the reception, but the area is nice and the atmosphere around the area feels very secure.

We - I traveled with my family - had a great time and the Wardonia staff were friendly, helpful and nice.

I would call this a very price worthy hotel, perfectly situated and I feel comfortable to recommend it to any one traveling on a budget, with certain standards of quality.

The Wardonia don't serve any food or breakfast, but there is plenty of nice places nearby. Though the hotel would benefit by complying to the standard of adding small fridges and safes in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at Wardonia with a friend on late May Bank Holiday weekend, 2012. We chose is for its price and location, It is only a 5 minute walk to Kings Cross/St. Pancras stations, as we came down from Yorkshire and needed to get to Heathrow in the early morning (but out of Kings Cross). Being so close to the Underground we were able to use the Wardonia as a base for both daytime and night-time activities. The Wardonia is very basic hotel comprised of 4 or 5 Victorian houses, so the rooms are identified by stairwells. Our room was on the 4th floor (with no elevator) and as it was the hottest week London had had all year, i.e. 29 C, the room was boiling hot, with a western exposure. We had to keep the window and blinds open all night long and sleep with no sheets! The bathroom was small, as I had expected, but the shower worked well and it was clean (I now know what dentist do with their old spit sinks). You leave your key at the reception desk and the clerks were always friendly and willing to answer guest’s questions as best they could. The one bonus was the Ipad that was available for guests use, it made last minute inquires or research much easier. There is no breakfast or dining room, so we walked down the street to St. Pancras and bought fruit and yogurt at the M&S To Go. In addition, McGinty's pub, just around the corner from the hotel served a good pint and dinner.

Overall, the Wardonia is a good value for a well located hotel for the fit traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st or 2nd floor should be less hot and ask for north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valleyguy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#298 of 1,077 in London
1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#849 of 1,077 in London
457 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#265 of 1,077 in London
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#554 of 1,077 in London
947 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#941 of 1,077 in London
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wardonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wardonia Hotel

Address: 46-54 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#100 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $67 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wardonia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wardonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wardonia Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing