We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, buzzing area”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #407 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice place, buzzing area”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very clean, well-maintained, friendly establishment within walking distance of buses and tubes. Lots of good eateries all over and shops selling every kind of fods imaginable. Lively, friendly area, never felt unsafe for a moment, would return again and probably will.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    97
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
47
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My friend and I had a really nice stay at The White Lodge. Good for every
thing, transport, eating places, etc. Very clean, comfortable, quiet too! A satisfying egg breakfast plus cereals, fruit, and endless toast, tea and coffee. The staff could not be more helpful. Highly recommended as a London base.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staff at the White Lodge were very friendly from the first call to departure, very welcoming, and they really took an interest in their guests and their feeling comfortable during their stay. The room was tiny, clean and cosy, and absolutely affordable even though I only booked two days in advance. It is nicely locared in walking distance of the Alexandra Palace and Crouch End, and has good access to public transport. The breakfast choice of toast, eggs, cereal and fruit had all I needed, and the housekeepers always made sure I had everything I needed. I will definitely keep the White Lodge in mind for my next trip to London. Egizia

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Egizia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Staff at the White Lodge were very friendly from the first call to departure, very welcoming, and they really took an interest in their guests and their feeling comfortable during their stay. The room was tiny, clean and cosy, and absolutely affordable even though I only booked two days in advance. It is nicely locared in walking distance of the Alexandra Palace and Crouch End, and has good access to public transport. The breakfast choice of toast, eggs, cereal and fruit had all I needed, and the housekeepers always made sure I had everything I needed.
I will definitely keep the White Lodge in mind for my next trip to London.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location was just what we needed: 10-15 minutes from the underground station in a safe surrounding. We came back on foot at midnight and did not felt threatened.
The welcoming at the hotel was friendly and efficient. The room although small was extremely clean and no fuss. A sink was included in the room. Toilet were few meters from the room.
The breakfast was adequate.
We would return and recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ambarrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The location was great - very near to Crouch End and Muswell Hill and also good for transport into the city. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel was great value and I'd gladly stay there again,..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

As our daughter lives nearby ,this was our second time staying at White Lodge and we would certainly stay here again. The staff are very friendly and take an interest in their guests. The rooms and linen are very clean with toiletries provided. The breakfast of boiled eggs,toast,cereals and fruit was fine for us.This is a well run guest house which is great value, £68 for a double en suite room. Crouch End is a ten minute walk away and has a good atmosphere with a wonderful patisserie..It is also well situated for buses.We would recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dorsetgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#265 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#465 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#578 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
London Guest House
#501 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: 1 Church Lane | Hornsey, London N8 7BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in London
#278 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private family-run guest house with 16 bedrooms located in North London. Awarded 'Three Star Guest Accommodation” status by the English Tourism Council. Very near to Alexandra Palace, host to a variety of exhibitions, concerts and a large ice-skating rink, and within easy reach of bus, train & tube stations to all parts of London. Most popular central London destinations are no more than 30 minutes away. Our motto: cleanliness and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing