We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Opulence Central London
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$263
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$211
$193
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$243
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$281
$238
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$175
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
$160
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$244
$167
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
$135
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
11
16
35
54
158
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
16
35
54
158
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 274 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in UK. No bar. No lift - so up 3 floors with bags. Bathroom door did not open fully as hit sink so had to enter bathroom sideways. Room so small had to step over end of bed to get round - so H&S issues there ! On arrival were grunted at by receptionist. Asked to use toilet facilties as could not check in - downstairs basement 1 toilet in very small room.
Staff seem to think good place to meet at 8 am and talk VERY LOUDLY is outside your door which has a massive gap all round it - so put suitcase behind as did not feel very secure at all.
The bed was comfy and the telly worked - that's about it. Whoever rated this as 4* needs their head examining - 2* at best.

Room Tip: If you want a good room pick another hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gez1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

In what dimension is this place deemed to be luxurious ? Whoever gave this 4 stars must have been sniffing glue. My street to room critique is; grand frontage, looked promising at this point but by step 2 on the worn stairs doubt had crept in. I disturbed the slightly disinterested receptionist to check in, don't know why but got the distinct impression she wanted to kill me, the gloomy surroundings must have made me paranoid. Up more worn stairs to the room, closed my eyes before opening the door in anticipation of the glorious interior, closed em again after opening in disbelief. The room was probably nice ish when done up about 10 years ago but hadn't probably been clean since! Here we go .. Fridge didn't work, new kettle but no tea, coffee, milk spoons etc peeling wallpaper, multi layered curtains (which dragged on floor as miles too long) wouldn't open and where tie back holders had once been were now just holes in the wall, 1:5 climb up sloping floor from door to window, lamp didn't work, bedding dirty, no blanket(s), extra pillows without pillowcases, grotty bathroom with mouldy grout, cracked sink, fan didn't work, safe didn't work. I thought oh well it's only one night and all rooms look the same with the light off but this one didn't as light poured in through the 3 inch gap at the bottom of the door. Could have complained but didn't as receptionist still scared me, so ran away on check out and won't be back.

Room Tip: Walk further down the street and choose one of the other hotels
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BobT1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our Room was nicely decorated and cosy. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. However, our room hadn't been cleaned properly on checking in. We found a large packet of crisps half eaten still in dressing table drawer and an empty bottle of drink. Despite there being a kettle and cups in the room, there were no tea bags, sugar, milk or biscuits. We requested this from Reception on going out to dinner and were assured that our room would be stocked on our return. It wasn't, we had to ask again. We weren't given adequate supplies of this to last for the following morning and our room wasn't restocked. There were no hotel brochures detailing their services left in our room. No mention was made concerning breakfast available at the hotel. We had a double room yet only one bathrobe supplied. Hotel Interior quaint but shabby...needs redecoration. Service very poor and not worth the high price per night. We won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Usually, I have a bad habit of forgetting reading Tripadvisor before executing a purchase. Usually shows the right idea Tripadvisor of the hotel you buy. I write this review to confirm once again that every rule has an exception.
I bought this hotel excited about its location and price. Then, I read the reviews on TripAdvisor and I was quite depressed. I arrived at Opulence Hotel with very bad expectations.
Fortunately, sometimes things don’t happen the way you can imagine. The hotel greeted us with very good treatment of their employees and the room, although being small, was warm and friendly, and very clean, with quality furniture. The TV worked on, at least, 25 different channels, not even one Arab! The refrigerator was clean and in good conditions and the sheets and towels also.
The hotel has small rooms and four floors by stairs, but everything else is fine. The service is warm and friendly and best of all is its location. Is in full West End, close to almost everything and the most useful transports.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EstebanMartucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The pictures online are not of the same building or rooms, there was hair on the bed spread, the curtains and walls were stained, there were no pillow cases, the attendant was awkward and rarely at the desk, there was a christmas tree blocking the entrance for our entire stay (we literally had to shove through it causing the ornaments to fall off and break and pine needles got stuck in our clothes), and they wanted an extra £10 per night for internet. And this all cost more than an a different hotel we stayed at in London the weekend before which was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Grace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews