We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Christmas Shopping!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alfies Antiques Market

Alfies Antiques Market
Ranked #535 of 1,434 things to do in London
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Christmas Shopping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I went here to find some christmas presents in sort of last minute style..it was great! They had a late opening on and it was fantastic to just wonder around the building and meet all different kinds of people selling and looking for nice finds. You have the feeling to be in some experimental department store in Berlin!...well until you see the prices, which show that these are serious antiques dealers. but the range of furniture, jewelry, art and accessoires is overwhelming and I did find some Christmas presents for a lower budget. It is just the amount of collectables that is fun to explore!
Definitely a must- go for the cold winter days! I haven't had such a fun shopping stroll for a while!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank chijojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    11
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Eclectic market and great cafe with a roof terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I went primarily for breakfast and was not disappointed. The food is all cooked to order and my veggie breakfast was £4.95. The service is relaxed and casual with papers available to read etc. It good to support local businesses and the clientele are arty locals.

Great, varied menu available all day but cash only.

The market downstairs are antique and vintage stalls. Many stalls open as and when the owner arrives and the nearby shops mirror this too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Alfie's is an indoor market with about 100 dealers selling antiques, collectables,ephemera, and vintage clothing.A fascinating market with quality merchandise.There's a rooftop cafe as well.We've been going to Alfie's for fifteen years now, and always find something of interest at a good price.We always look forward to visiting this market when in London.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank newyorknatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

I had read about this antiques market in various publications and on the internet and was looking forward to visiting it. There are certainly lots of stalls but the sellers were all completely uninterested in customers, most of them either on the phone or eating. We visited the roof top restaurant at 12.30 to be told that they were not taking food orders as they had a large party expected ( 3 tables for 8 people) hardly welcoming.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank MAXINEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfies Antiques Market also viewed

 

Been to Alfies Antiques Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing