We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent apartment but no WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grainstore Apartments
Ranked #447 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights on business and was checked-in - upon advising I would be arriving later - at the Grainstore but was actually staying a short walk away at the Westgate Apartments. All are much and such the same, apparently.
Location is great if you're at ExCel but otherwise it's a bit remote. WiFi router didn't work but I didn't have time to get this sorted. Common areas in purpose-built block could do with some attention. Apartment was clean and comfortable enough but cotton sheets would be an improvement over the cheap covers which are used. Expect aircraft noise in this area from London City air traffic, but hotels nearby are no different in this regard. Will probably stay more central next time and travel out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Like other reviewers it took me a little while to find the Apartments as it's not a full hotel with reception and what have you. The staff once I located them were helpful and the room perfectly reasonable for a 3/4 star property, nicely appointed and comfortable.

There are a couple of reasonable looking restaurants and bars nearby for a quick meal but it's not central London with the hustle and bustle - depending on what you're after this might well be perfect.

A taxi ride to the airport in the morning was quick and cheap, DLR also convenient though would have taken longer hence took the taxi.

Overall I'd say if you have business at the ExCeL Centre or (as I did) an earlyish flight out of LCY it's pretty reasonable, otherwise I dare say you'd find nicer spots, but probably not as cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked this stay on line and the web site states arrival between 2 and 5. We organised to arrive at 4. Finding the place was really difficult with no real signs and a scruffy office.

When we arrived we were told that the lady who needed to check us in had left and there was no one to do it (bear in mind this was at 4pm and their site was clear about before 5). A guy from another company who shares the office was amazingly helpful and phoned them. I heard the lady on the phone being very critical of trying to get hold of us. She tried twice 30 mins before and we were on the tube and she left no message

This guy then checked us in and had real problems taking us to the appartment which was a real maze.

If this guy had not been there when we arrived we would have been stuck for the night. We tried to call them on both numbers we'd been given and could not make contact so we would not have been able to get in.

Once there, the appartment was clean and comfortable but the service and attitude was the worst I had ever experianced.

Apparantly, the lady who was supposed to check us in fancied an early night (we were told later) and as a result almost left us in London with no where to stay.

In summary:
- nice appartment
- very difficult to find
- appalling service
- no out of office hours contact ability if there is a problem

I would avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at the Grainstore when I attended a recent conference and exhibition at the ExCel Centre. The rates offered were far more competitive than the nearby hotels and I appreciated the flexibility of having my own lounge and kitchen. As other reviewers have indicated the reception/arrival experience was poor but keep in mind that this is not a hotel with a full compliment of front of house personnel.

Once in my apartment, I was quite happy. The one bedroom ground floor flat was accessible via a lift (down two levels) and I overlooked an interior courtyard. The furnishings are contemporary and comfortable and the apartment was clean - with the exception of a rogue spider-web in one corner! Tea, coffee, sugar (but not milk) were all provided and although I didn't cook, if I had wanted to the kitchen had every utensil I would possibly need.

Bathroom fittings were as you'd find in a 3/4 star hotel and a good quality hair dryer was also provided.

Due to the location I wouldn't recommend these apartments as a base to explore central London, but I would definitely stay here again if I needed to attend an event at ExCel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SP2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I booked the Grainstore Apartments as I was on a business trip and thought the extra space and independence would be ideal.

The taxi driver couldn't find the apartments, I couldn't find an entrance, and was left in a scruffy office for ages until someone eventually came, gave me an envelope with one sheet of paper and the key then pointed to the lift. My apartment was down a long dark corridor, which smelled very musty, and one door had been smashed open and had been padlocked. Not very reassuring when you are a woman travelling alone!

The apartment was grubby, and had filthy stained pillows in the cupboard. Walls marked, carpets stained, bathroom plughole had hairs in it, and there was a smell of cigarette smoke.

There were no instructions for any of the appliances in the kitchen, nor for the TV.

I tried to access the internet, following the instructions, only to discover there is no service in this apartment. This was a complete disaster for me, as I had overseas business calls to make in the evenings. There was no-one around apart from some chap reading a book at a desk in the lobby who said he was just the relief guy, but he would pass the message on. I never did get internet for the whole 5 days I was there, and no-one came back to me about it. The TV didn't work properly.

There was a party one night in the apartment opposite. It must have gone on until about 4am and the noise and language was appalling. I kept the curtains closed in the apartment as frankly, I didn't feel safe there.
I complained about the noise next day, and the same guy on the desk promptly handed me a photocopied letter with details of how to complain to the local authority! so they must be used to noise complaints, I imagine.
Since complaining formally to Grainstore management, I have since found out that many of the apartments are privately owned. The manager tried to say that there is wifi in the apartment, and has ignored my other points.
I stay all over the world with my job. I do sometimes get a disappointing hotel, but I can overlook some glitches. This place however is dreadful, overpriced, and how they have the audacity to say they are 4* luxury beats me. I've stayed in better 2 star places.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Causette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Although the apartment was of a very high stsndard the customer service is appalling. This place is difficult to find, it claims no parking on the internet so we booked to park at London City Airport only to find a multi story a stones throw away for a third of the airport price on arrival. After finally gaining entry the reception area is not staffed. I eventually traced "a voice" to a room and thought I would just knock and find out how you get the key to your room. This turned out to be the apartment manager who took ages to answer the door. When we finally got the key to our flat we discovered it only had one bedroom when we had booked for two and had written confirmation of this. We were simply told my mother would have to sleep on the sofa as there were no spare apartments. After a four hour drive down from Leeds this is really not the service we expected. However, the apartment was of a good size, very clean and well furnished. The balaconies are furnished with outdoor furniture and overlook a pleasant courtyard. Sineage in and out of the building is distinctly lacking, if you are not on the main floor it is even difficult to find the lift or your way around the building to actually get out. Very frustrating when all it would take is a couple of signs. Although the overland tube link is quite far out of London the excel station for the DLR is very convenient and you are soon in the centre but it can be quite tiring getting back out to the exel area after a long day in town. All in all the apartment was great, customer service very poor and location ok if you are not too worried about getting about. It is a shame they are so badly managed as the apartments themselves are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buttywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Possibly the worst 'premium' hotel/apartments I have stayed in during my times in London. I have to travel to Canary Wharf every other week and end up staying everywhere in the Docklands (Hilton, Marlin, Discovery Dock, Brittania, etc.)

Let's rack off the problems with my one night stay: the lights in the bathroom did not work, stains on walls and carpet and a used nappy left in one of the rooms!, wifi connection was flakey upstairs and did not connect downstairs, poor television reception, and the hallway lights had a habit of not working...

When I checked in the staff were very unhelpful because I did not bring my confirmation. Yet I have never had to bring a confirmation to any hotel before!?

For £170 you can get much better around Canary Wharf...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PureToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 929 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grainstore Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grainstore Apartments

Address: The Grainstore 4 Western Gateway | Excel Royal Docks, London E16 1BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $431 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grainstore Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A selection of spacious 1, 2, and 3 bedroom short let serviced apartments in Docklands, Excel London, E16 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grainstore Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grainstore Apartments Hotel London
The Grainstore Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing