We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belgrave Hotel London
Ranked #152 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

This hotel is perfect for the wallet conscious traveler. The hotel is clean, you get a small room and a tiny bathroom and the hotel is located one block from an underground tube station. Other reviewers mention safety concerns? There were no suspicious types while I was there but hey, you're in a budget hotel so you might not find the most snappy dressers in the lobby! The rooms have locks, there is a safe so there are no security issues as far as I was concerned. If you are afraid of your own shadow, stay home. The front desk staff are of eastern European origin but I think you'll find this is the norm for London's hospitality industry. I found the hotel staff to be competent, helpful and friendly. You want to save some $$$ and don't mind a small room? Stay at the Belgrave Hotel.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — tiny bathroom (to be expected but I don't have to like it)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    99
    58
    16
    20
See reviews for
45
103
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

Stayed over at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of May with my boyfriend. We had a lovely time in London and we were more than happy with the hotel.

It is very good value for money, clean, comfortable and friendly. The continental breakfast also made for a good start to the day.

The area is well linked to the city, by bus and tube, and seemed pretty quiet and relaxed. There are a mixture of ethnic groups and ages in this area it would seem and despite what others have previously said on here, we never saw nor heard any trouble and felt safe going about during the day and the evening.

The staff were friendly and happy to help when asked for assistance. The rooms were well maintained and, for the money, comfortable and spacious.

Its simple, clean, safe and close to town without being 'in the middle of it all'. I would recommend this to those travelling to London and not wishing to pay over the odds.

  • Liked — Clean, cheap
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank N_RScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirkkala, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

I spent 18 nights in London (12 single room, 6 double) while attending a course at King's College and, obviously, considering the length of stay accommodation around Park Lane was out of question. After a tiring megasearch in the net I ended up to the Belgrave's web pages and was lured by its clean looks and good basic facilities. Considering the price (£55 for a single, 70 for a double) in central London I was both hopeful and terrified about what to expect.

True, the first impression from outside is unconvincing but inside it was a different place. The hotel must have been refurbished quite recently. The public areas were clean and tidy. The small reception hall was basic but worked great with current newspapers and LCD-TV (and a cute aquarium on the wall). I paid for my single nights on arrival and for the doubles when checking out so I'm not sure what the actual policy is. The staff was very friendly and spoke good english (contrary to some previous opinions in this thread).

I got my single room from top floor street side. Despite it being one of the smallest I've ever had I ABSOLUTELY loved it. It was impeccably clean and modern with everything perfectly at hand (LCD, safe, water heater, hair dryer). With ample light from three windows it was the coziest ever and I really felt home. There were a couple of desk drawers, an open closet and a luggage rack but no other storage space. The bed was comfortable with a good pillow. Electric outlets with multipurpose sockets were located in the bathroom (for shavers 110/230V) and within the digital safe. WLAN was available for £4 / 4h.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the towels were changed daily. Absolutely no complaints about housekeeping here. The water pressure in shower was great - actually there was only one pressure level: high with adjustable temperature. I would have appreciated a separate handheld sanitary shower by the toilet, however.

The traffic on Clapham Road is lively, especially during the rush hours but it didn't bother me. When my girlfriend arrived the staff with kind intentions placed us to a big room on the quiet (but a bit junky) backyard side and I requested to get back to the street side which they arranged in a couple of days despite a full house. We stayed in a double room on the first floor which resembled the single I had. The double rooms, being larger, somehow lacked a bit of the cozyness of the single and weren't quite as "fresh" - but very clean and tidy.

The breakfast (inclusive) was quite basic but gets you started. The small buffet consists of cereals, yogurt, toast, croissants, marmelade, cheese, fruit, juice, tea and coffee. The breakfast room is small but full of natural light. There were also two LCDs for watching morning news (nice feature).

The hotel is located on a very spacious streetside in a suburban neighborhood and the locals are a mixture from various ethnic and socioeconomic groups. Every now and then I came back from downtown after midnight and not once did I feel unsafe. The hotel is only 150 m and one minute walk from the Oval Underground station and several night buses stop right in front of the hotel. There are no dark alleys and the area seems quiet in the night. Right across the street there is an internet cafe, a 24 h supermarket, a fried chicked takeaway also open till late and a couple of peaceful pubs. I don't know what life is like further down in Stockwell but the area seemed totally ok (to an academic go-better like myself *grin*).

The location was good. Even without a Zone 1-2 Travel Card (which is an extremely worthwhile investment if one wants to effortlessly explore the city) one reaches the Thames at Vauxhall bridge easily in 15 minutes by foot and Westminster / South Bank within half an hour. The tube takes you to from Oval to Waterloo in 6 min, Charing Cross 10 min, London Bridge 10 min, Piccadilly < 15 min, Oxford Street < 15 min, Kensington 20 min, Greewich 30 min. In addition the numerous bus connections leave almost from the doorstep.

All in all, I consider Hotel Belgrave an unbeatable value for money in central London area. It is very clean with modern services and friendly staff. Unless someone treats me with a £150+ per night downtown experience, I will surely be staying in Belgrave again.

  • Liked — Cozy room, easy connetions
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank MikaTamminiemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2007

Having read reviews we were very pleasantly surprised. The place newly done up and the staff very pleasant . Its very cheap for London but much better than travel lodge etc
Just for the record - The lift does go to the breakast room . The doors have the usual double locks so no one is likely to break in and there is an in room safe. The breakfast is continental ie some cornflakes and toast but what more do you expect for the money. The place was spotlessly clean . The staff are not English but this is London No one who works in hotels is English. !!

I would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Clean and Friendly
  • Disliked — Room a bit small
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2007

I and my niece stayed for several nights at this hotel. We looked for affordable accommodation, but we should have read first the reviews here. It seems all the negative points to be true. It did not seem a secure hotel, with a lot of suspicious people either in the lounge or outside. The staff are entirely of foreign origin, barely understand English. We didn’t feel secure and checked out earlier than planned. So trust negative reviews and book another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank corky_gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

After reading some of the reviews i was a little bit wary of bokking there. check in was fast and i was shown to my double room by the staff who i found very hepful and willing. i was really impresed and wondered about the validity of the other reviews.

There is no restaraunt but as i undrstand there are plans for a restarant and bar which would really make this place really lively. There is a lovely italian right across the road and many other restaurants in the local area.

The hotel is across the road from the Oval tube station and close to waterloo.

Our double bedroom was spacious, however there was no airconditioning which could get hot in summer. A double room cost 65 pounds and was more than excellent value for money on par with Confort Inn/ holiday inn express. The decor is nice and did not hear any noises in the night or anyone at the door.

There is a 24 hour reception which wuld make it ard for any intruders to enter the hotel without purpose. The hotel also has wireles internet access, lcd screens and sky.

I highly reccommend this hotel and would not stay anywhere else when visiting this area.

  • Liked — proximity to city
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank fazlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2007

We stayed at this hotel in January for a couple of days. It claims there is a lift, but the proprietors have omitted to say that to get to the hotel lounge you have to climb a step of several dozens narrow steps. How one can manage to do this with several suitcases is left to one’s imagination. On the other hand the promised breakfast is without any imagination: each day the same staple of rolls and toast. No eggs, no marmalade. Only the packaged cornflakes were of several varieties. Some rusty black crumbs were flouting in the mineral water jug. There never seem to be many guests in there. Hotel charges you at your check-in for your entire stay, which was not stated in our booking. This made bad impression. Staff barely speaks English. Some suspicious types ----- lurking in the lounge. The area of Lambeth where the hostel is located is according to recent stats above average in terms of criminality. Actually we regularly saw tugs assemble not far from the hostel, across the street. We checked out earlier and moved to another hotel in downtown London. This is bad accommodation in insecure area. Better to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank jospeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#203 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea Guest House
#311 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
London Bridge
Eurotraveller Hotel
Eurotraveller Hotel
#751 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#610 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel London

Property: Belgrave Hotel London
Address: 9-13 Clapham Road | Oval, London SW9 0JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belgrave Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Affordable 4 Star Guest Accommodation in Central London!" This bright, clean and friendly hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the Oval Cricket Ground and Tube Station. Good-value rooms each have a flat-screen TV and private bathroom. The tourist attractions surrounding Westminster and Buckingham Palace are just a few stops on the Tube away. Waterloo Train Station and the South Bank can be reached in 10 minutes' Tube journey. Very close to Brixton Academy, the largest music venue in London. Our modern rooms at the Belgrave Hotel each feature satellite TV, a telephone, radio and tea/coffee facilities. Free Wireless Internet is available, and there is on-site parking. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable, offering affordable accommodation with quality service. Check In: From 13:30 PM (24 hour reception) Check Out: Up to 10:30 AM Chargeable Parking Available (Advance Booking Required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belgrave Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrave Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing