We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excelent Little Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Home London B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At Home London B&B
Ranked #252 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Romans, France
1 review
“Excelent Little Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great place for some days in London.

Excellent Little room, small but tidy and good just for sleep. You can visit London and have a relaxing place in this hotel.
Very easy to arrive to the town center. Good atmosphere. You can do your own breakfast.

Stayed October 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
22
25
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We liked the At Home Bed and Breakfast in Ealing, we had a family room with its own shower room.We thought the place was very clean and well managed.

The room overlooked a large garden. It was a quiet and peacefull place to come home to after a hectic day’s sightseeing.

We liked the fact that we could help ourselves to breakfast and do our own thing. We stayed a week and the room was serviced every few days which was more that we expected.

The children had a lovely time playing in the garden with Mr Beep the dog and all in all we had a lovely stay- we thought the place was good value.

Last summer we stayed in a bed and breakfast in Central London and we had a very bad experience,there were bed bugs and the traffic noise went on all night! We are so happy to have found a genuine b and b this time and we highly recommend the At Home for its tranquillity,

Cleanliness and arty environment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise, id
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had the "budget room" - three beds & shared bathroom. We didn't expect much and got less than we expected.

We knew the bath was shared. We didn't know it was on a different floor.

We knew there was a dog. We didn't know it was a yapper.

We knew the house was near a subway. We didn't know it was a 10 - 15 minute walk and then 30 - 40 minutes to tourist sites.

The staff was non-existent after registration except when we searched to find someone to fix the non-functioning toilet.

The house is run like a hotel. Self-serve breakfast. Drop the key in the kitchen when leaving.

It is clean and functional. I agree if you want a place to lay your head it's adequate, but not worth the price.

Room Tip: Don't pick the third floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank american2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This excellent B and B provides a comfortable and flexible accommodation for the cost concious business traveller. The facilty of an early breakfast is most useful for those with meetings in London. Overground and underground stations are a short distance away

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafing
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We (7 people) had a great stay at this B&B It was fun for us to sit in the kitchen in the mornings and have breakfast we made ourselves. We loved the absolute quietness in the night and the lovely garden. Access to the city was easy and Rosa was a great help to us how to get to her place by taxi in the middle of the night. Her replies to our mails were very helpful and caring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

If what you are looking for is just a place to lay your head at night in a good neighbourhood for a good price, then this B&B will fit the bill. The room and linens were clean and functional and the ensuite small. The self-serve breakfast was decent, if somewhat plain (basic milk, cereal, bread, yogurt, eggs). To be fair, this is all plainly stated on the B&B website, so there were no surprises. Rosa herself was pleasant and helpful, providing local travel information. The walk to the Tube was fine, 10 minutes. As a frequent B&B user, I guess I'm just used to a few more of the personal touches I usually receive. All in all, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

All things considered, this is not a B&B I would recommend, or one that I would stay at again. But, bearing in mind London can be very expensive and budget accommodation may be difficult to find, keep these points in mind if you select this B&B.

The house gives you the impression of being rather cluttered. You enter into a hallway that is filled with odds and ends, and then into a dining room/ kitchen, that is clean, but again, very cluttered. There are a thousand knick-knacks about the place, and the shelves are filled with things I don't think would have been used in ages. These are the common areas and the rest of the ground floor is private.
The room we had was for three people (en-suite) on the first floor. There are also shared facilities available. The beds were comfy and the room and bathroom very clean, but very tiny. We barely had place to move about with the three beds in the room and the basin area in the bathroom was just big enough for a person to stand. The pictures on the website show a garden with outside seating. We did not have any access to this, possibly as the weather was rainy. However, on the clear days too, outside seating was not mentioned as an option. The blinds in our room were broken, and were not repaired for the entire 5 nights we stayed there. However, the host did try to resolve other difficulties we had - she added an extra heater to our room when we said we were cold. The rooms are cleaned once every 2 or 3 days. We were there 5 nights, and the room was cleaned on our third day. Basics such as tea and coffee are provided in the room, but no soaps or shampoo.

Don't expect much in terms of hospitality in this B&B. First impressions aren't great. We knew this from previous reviews, but it's different when you experience it in person. We had arrived after a 14 hour flight. The owner asked our family (who'd driven us from the airport to the B&B) to wait out in the rain, then sat us down and asked us to pay for the 5 nights stay. We knew this was the procedure, but since we had already paid a deposit, amounting to more than one night, we felt this urgency rather unnecessary. Either way, any welcome would have been appreciated.

We found commuting to the city to be rather long. We took an hour or so from point to point, give or take 10 minutes depending on how many tubes you needed to change. The tube is about a 15 minute walk from the B&B, but there's also a bus down the road that we found quite convenient. The bus stops aren't covered though, so it can mean a wait in the cold and rain.

The breakfasts were the one redeeming thing about this place. It was self-service and offered till 12 noon. There was a decent spread - eggs, bread, yoghurt, juice, cereals, fruit, cold cuts. We found this really convenient as we could choose any schedule we liked.

This is simply a place to sleep and eat, with none of the charm generally associated with a B&B. A budget hotel, if available at the same rates, would be a better option.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rads_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paradise Accommodation
#190 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
#258 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#133 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golders Green Guest House
#296 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Grange Lodge Hotel
#94 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home London B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home London B&B

Property: At Home London B&B
Address: 20 Denbigh Road, London W13 8QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — At Home London B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your At Home London B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home London Hotel London
At Home London Bed And Breakfast
At Home London B&B England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing