We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of Blue Bar

Blue Bar
Ranked #118 of 1,277 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of London's most sought-after destinations since it opened in 2000, the Blue Bar sets London's bar scene alight with the most sophisticated, colourful cocktails in town. The Blue Bar was extended into a state-of-the-art glass pavilion during 2016, giving it a new spaciousness and a contemporary twist, yet retaining all of the iconic Lutyens Blue panelling originally conceived by David Collins Studio. It also still has its original Edwin Lutyens lighting, alongside new furnishings by Collins's protégé Robert Angell. The extended, lighter space encourages a lively ambience, in which our skilled and knowledgeable mixologists can serve up exclusive signature cocktails with impeccable style and a touch of razzle-dazzle
Detroit
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

cool vibe, a little to dark(seems like all London bars are that way, not sure why). great service, my son and I were greeted promptly, by the manager. seated right away. drinks took about 15 minutes to arrive, no big deal. this place gets a bad rap on trip advisor, but i found it much better than The Dorchester, Claridges, The Savoy, and The Connaught. among others. go there, the place is pretty cool.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Zonidetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    11
    6
    5
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big let down”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We visited the Blue bar after a fantastic meal at nearby Petrus and it was a big anti-climax.

We had just experienced service of an exceptional standard at Petrus, so the blue bar compared very poorly. Our drinks were brought to us by a nice polite male waiter, but at the end when they brought the bill over they had added on 2 extra cocktails that we hadn't ordered, and charged for a whole bottle of wine which they had served us only 3 glasses from. When we politely queried this with the moody waitress her response was 'if its on the bill that's what it is'. Then she said 'if you've got a problem go and speak to the manager'. She really spoke down to us and was completely uninterested in our problem.

Such a shame as we had just experienced the best service of our lives, and then the At the blue bar this all came to an abrupt end.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not really what you expect from a top bar!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had drinks there last week with friends pre theatre. Whilst you expect high prices from this sort of place (£130+ for 8 drinks) it is a tad cheeky charging £3 for a mixer. Place looked a bit tired with uncleared tables on arrival and service fairly snail like. None of this would have really mattered but at end when i paid the waitress said pointedly "so you dont want to add anything for service" this took the biscuit as the bill already charged nearly £15 in service charges!
This hotel has a great reputation and you can't help feeling the current management is simply trading on it!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slightly tired looking”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

As I sit here now, I recollect fond memories of various nights of having cocktails. However in the cold light of day, I notice how old and filthy the carpet is, the floor is speckled with crumbs and I noticed the bar man when serving the table next to me used his fingers to put lime wedges in the glasses as opposed to bar tongs, and there was a glass of unwanted orange juice behind the bar which he also put on to the tray. How long had it been sitting there? I believe I shall finish my latte pay up and hot foot it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pricey, Great cocktail list, good service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Bottom Line: A sophisticated, expensive bar in the Berkeley Knightsbridge with excellent cocktails, superb service, and tasty food.

The Great: An extensive cocktail list (I can vouch for the Blackberry Sazerac, Walnut & Maple Old Fashioned, and the Smoked Lychee) with a wide variety of drinks and solid scotch selection. The wait staff is incredibly attentive and very efficient. The atmosphere is a combination of sophisticated London with a hint of trendiness. Even the "bar nuts" comprise of a good mix of high quality olives, spicy cashews, and other gourmet bites. The "bar food" consisted of a variety of tapas-style items. We leaned towards the Asian dishes including quite good sushi, dumplings, and scallop carpaccio.

The Expensive: You probably knew this walking in, but it is quite expensive. If you're staying at the Knightsbridge (hopefully on someone else's' dime), you already knew that.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheJewgernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing