We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant budget hotel in very handy location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #50 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant budget hotel in very handy location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My rating is based upon the service we received, cleanliness and value for money...

Upon arrival the staff were amazing, really accommodating, friendly and helpful, even the cleaners went out of their way (we turned up early of check in). The St Athans is perfect if you need a base not too far from Kings Cross or St Pancras. While it might be basic, it is very clean and well cared for. I can't disagree enough with the negative comments on this site, we have two small boys and while staying in one room with them is a challenge in itself, the staff made it really enjoyable. The cafe beneath the hotel (same ownership I think) is also great, with a good range of light food and good hot & soft drinks, plus free wifi.

Our room had a double bed and two singles plus a sink and furniture. The shared showers were a short flight of steps down, a good size, the four of us all coped in one unit together! The lounge has free wifi, a TV and plenty of reading literature. There's a late night shop very close to the hotel as well as a few eateries. We tried Fork one day, round the corner, very nice coffee.

If you're looking for a basic, affordable room in a well positioned hotel in London, you can't go wrong with St Athans.

Room Tip: Room 6 doesn't face the street and is close to the shared shower & loo facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatentracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    254
    114
    33
    29
See reviews for
158
126
81
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Walking distance to several underground station, Russell Square is the BEST! KingsCross if you'll take Eurostar... Supermarket on next block. Surrounding area is safe & convenient. Price is OK for such an expensive city. Little narrow stairs to climb with your LUGGAGE! Service (elder gentleman) was not so nice... No fresh towel available for each day (change if you ask).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good price considering the very good location. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. Wifi available. Otherwise furnitures, bed and carpets are very very old. Walls are paperthin. Overall an ok experience for a week-end.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We picked this hotel based on good reviews in Trip Advisor. It was possible to choose between en suite bedrooms and shared bathrooms. The first room (double) was really tiny but then we moved to another room (a double and a single bed) and it was much more spacious. Since accomodation is expensive in London, i could say it was a fair price quality ratio. We enjoyed the neighbourhood - Bloomsbury. We remembered the good reviews about the cafe (Bloomsbury Coffee House) on the basement. The breakfast was very good: excellent capuccino, delicious homemade granola with natural yoghurt and bananas, bacon and eggs... The information that we got by e-mail before the trip was accurate and close to reality. We definitely recommend this place and we would stay in St Athan's also in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was my second single night stay at St Athans (the previous being in October 2010) and there are some improvements. They now have card key locks rather than the flimsy keys they had last time. It makes the whole place feel more secure. Last time I was in a single room (£45 inc breakfast) and this time a double (£57 breakfast not included) both on the third floor.

Once again the rooms and shared bathrooms were clean and staff were friendly. They have free luggage storage on departure and it was no problem that I wasn't coming back for it until 9pm. My small gripe was simply now that breakfast wasn't included in the price but it is still one of the cheapest places in the area.

I wouldn't stay for a prolonged period or if I was with my wife, however for my "normal" London purposes (occasional single nights prior to examinations), it does its job very well and I will return again with no qualms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeryShortDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very nice place in a great centrally located neighbourhood: Bloomsbury, where eateries, shops, pubs, Brunswick Centre, the British Museum etc. are all nearby as are the tube stations Russell Square and St. Pancras. We loved staying at St. Athans. The staff is really friendly, the room we had was spotlessly clean, the beds were good and there was a small fontain in our room. The shared bathroom/toilet was down the hall and very clean as well.
As is already mentioned in other reviews: too bad there is no possibility to make a cup of tea in the room and that there is only one plug. Other than that: really good value for your money. We'll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robynn11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Bathrooms had to be shared. The room itself was decent. Although there were hairs in the soap. The location was nice though. Close to the Russell Square tube station. Easy access to a hop-on-hop-off bus tours.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank njweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#69 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#22 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#261 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#82 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#72 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Property: St. Athans Hotel
Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel is a simple, clean, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. A grade II listed Georgian terraced house, it retains many of its original features and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London and the new British Library. It’s only a short bus ride away from the attractions of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres and famous night spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Athans Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing