We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!”
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #47 of 567 London B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Walking distance to several underground station, Russell Square is the BEST! KingsCross if you'll take Eurostar... Supermarket on next block. Surrounding area is safe & convenient. Price is OK for such an expensive city. Little narrow stairs to climb with your LUGGAGE! Service (elder gentleman) was not so nice... No fresh towel available for each day (change if you ask).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 607 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

Good price considering the very good location. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. Wifi available. Otherwise furnitures, bed and carpets are very very old. Walls are paperthin. Overall an ok experience for a week-end.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We picked this hotel based on good reviews in Trip Advisor. It was possible to choose between en suite bedrooms and shared bathrooms. The first room (double) was really tiny but then we moved to another room (a double and a single bed) and it was much more spacious. Since accomodation is expensive in London, i could say it was a fair price quality ratio. We enjoyed the neighbourhood - Bloomsbury. We remembered the good reviews about the cafe (Bloomsbury Coffee House) on the basement. The breakfast was very good: excellent capuccino, delicious homemade granola with natural yoghurt and bananas, bacon and eggs... The information that we got by e-mail before the trip was accurate and close to reality. We definitely recommend this place and we would stay in St Athan's also in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was my second single night stay at St Athans (the previous being in October 2010) and there are some improvements. They now have card key locks rather than the flimsy keys they had last time. It makes the whole place feel more secure. Last time I was in a single room (£45 inc breakfast) and this time a double (£57 breakfast not included) both on the third floor.

Once again the rooms and shared bathrooms were clean and staff were friendly. They have free luggage storage on departure and it was no problem that I wasn't coming back for it until 9pm. My small gripe was simply now that breakfast wasn't included in the price but it is still one of the cheapest places in the area.

I wouldn't stay for a prolonged period or if I was with my wife, however for my "normal" London purposes (occasional single nights prior to examinations), it does its job very well and I will return again with no qualms.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeryShortDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very nice place in a great centrally located neighbourhood: Bloomsbury, where eateries, shops, pubs, Brunswick Centre, the British Museum etc. are all nearby as are the tube stations Russell Square and St. Pancras. We loved staying at St. Athans. The staff is really friendly, the room we had was spotlessly clean, the beds were good and there was a small fontain in our room. The shared bathroom/toilet was down the hall and very clean as well.
As is already mentioned in other reviews: too bad there is no possibility to make a cup of tea in the room and that there is only one plug. Other than that: really good value for your money. We'll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robynn11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Bathrooms had to be shared. The room itself was decent. Although there were hairs in the soap. The location was nice though. Close to the Russell Square tube station. Easy access to a hop-on-hop-off bus tours.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank njweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a great hotel because of its location. It is about 2-3 blocks from the Russell Square underground station and is about 5 minutes from downtown London. This hotel is spartan in its amenities. The room was just big enough to fit the bed in and had a small sink in the room. The toilet and shower were outside the room and shared with several others. This seems to be a popular hotel with youth groups and chaperoned high school aged kids. If you are planning to see London and want a small, cheap room to basically just sleep in, this is a good hotel. Dont go here if you want TV's, coffee makers, and lots of space. The staff was extremely friendly and were very helpful. There are several pubs in the area and small food markets. I would stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor facing the street. It was four flights up, but there was less noise from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkGoCougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 567 in London
233 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#10 of 567 in London
167 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#43 of 567 in London
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 567 in London
777 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 909 in London
2,620 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#72 of 567 in London
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $87 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel, Bloomsbury, is a simple, eco-friendly, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. It’s A grade II listed 200 year old Georgian terraced houses, retains many of its their original features, fitting in well with the historic area, and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London, Covent Garden and the new British Library. We’re also only a short bus ride away from many major the attractions, such as of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres, bars, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Athans Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing