We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It's a basic B&B but great value for money in London” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #45 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's a basic B&B but great value for money in London”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

I had read good reports about this B&B so decided to stay here on a recent trip to London. I am self-employed and so have to fund hotels myself which is why they need to be super cheap. I had a few meetings lined up for a 3 day business trip so booked to stay here for two nights. It is a family run B&B and the woman who took my booking was really pleasant and friendly. It gets booked up fast so do call up as soon as you known when you need a room. They only had different rooms on the consecutive nights I needed, so she booked me into a single room (£44) for one night and double (£57) for the next. The double is slightly more expensive but she said she had one at the back of the building that was quiet, so I agreed.
The hotel is an excellent location, walking distance from Russel Square, Holbon and similar tubes. There are quite a few cheap B&Bs on the same road. When I arrived the receptionist infomed me that they had a cancellation and I could have the quiet double room for two nights. She gave me the keys so I could look at both rooms. The single room was overlooking a main road but I suspected noise would not be too bad as it was the 3rd floor. The double room however looked really nice and seemed quiet so I took it at £114 for two nights, which seemed like a bargain! Both rooms were up some winding stairs, but I had no difficulty reaching them and cannot unsderstan previous reviewers who have complained about the stairs or the fact the staff did not carry luggage. You don't expect a concierge in a £44-a-night central London B&B. People who cannot carry luggae up these stairs clearly have too much luggage and could not carry it down the street - it is their problem. I had a moderate amount of luggage and easily managed to carry it up. Both rooms are quite spartan and basic but they have a desk and wardrobe. I prefer the double rooms as they are nicer and yet still good value for money at £57. The single rooms are a tad depressing and you wouldnt want to sit in it all day, but fine if you are just sleeping in it. I had some work to do so did it at my desk under the window and worked away peacefully with no disturbances.
I had an excellent night's sleep and slept like a rock.
The breakfast wasn't my scene especially. It's instant coffee (yuck) and horrid plastic bowls with cornflakes in and warmish milk on disgusting tablecloth-ed tables, cramped in with loads of other people, mainly tourists from mainland Europe . I didn't take the cooked breakfast as I can't stand that kind of thing so can't comment. One day I had scrambled eggs which was ok, but in short th breakfast is nothing to write home about but what do you expect fro £44/£57? They don't have tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom but that didn't bother me as there are supermarkets nearby where you can buy drinks and who drinks/likes the kind of instant tea and revolting tea normally on offer in B&Bs? Sorry, but I would rather go to Starbucks outside so it did not bother me it wasn't there. The most important thing you want when like me you need a cheap place to stay in central London is a ) a comfortable bed b) safety c) a good location you can safely walk to at night and b) quietness. The other things (breakfast, tea/coffee/concierge) are not important. When you come home you have to ring the main door to get in and someone is there all night so it's not a problem...and they are cool about whatever time you come back. I quite liked it as it made it feel safe and when you come back they check you are a guest etc..

Room Tip: Ask for a back room that is quiet and take a double rather than single
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elephant777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    244
    110
    32
    28
See reviews for
154
124
72
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Great location stayed there for 5 nights and it only cost 180 pounds, great breakfast too and very helpful staff
The only set back is that there's no elevator in the hotel

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in the ensuite family room. It was basic, but very good access to the Russell Square station. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful. Small bath, narrow stairways, but overall we thought it was a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianag99217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

budget hotel. fully cooked English breakfast, the same everyday, but very tasty. location is FANTASTIC!! approx 15 minute walk to Oxford Street. staff very friendly and helpful. room is COMPACT and basic. the bedding needs to be replaced, I brought my own blanket which was clean. It was my second time staying here and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: room facing the street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetters000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. We really felt to be welcome here, staff is very nice and friendly, helpful and available at all times. If you need an hair drier or to chat about every subject that may come to mind, this is the right place! More than a hotel, this place looks like a hostel... where else can you find a block notes filled in by visitors full of local suggestions?
Obviously, this is no paradise: rooms are small (but clean), bathroom is shared, there is no lift (this is a 4 floor building). But price is definitely below average, we found it a very good deal!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polpi_viaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I have stayed here a number of times when work calls me to stay in London. It is nothing fancy and a lot of the rooms and furniture is quite old-fashioned, but it is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The toilets and shower rooms (either en-suite or shared) are fitted out to a very high standard. Nice and clean as well as modern in style. The rooms are more basic, but the shower definitely makes up for it in my books! Was slightly dubious of the shared bathroom system, but there are so many and only ever a few doors away from your room that this was never a problem for me. Haven't yet had to wait to use the toilet or shower - bonus!

The English breakfast is a great start to the morning and staff always welcoming when coming and going.

Remember this is a 'no frills' hotel - you'll need all your own toiletries and wi-fi is only available in the shared lounge. Also beware the top floor rooms with large suitcases, as the last flight of stairs can get quite steep!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten_Clapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here twice in 2011, and found it a very well-run place in a very well-located area of London, by a friendly, hard-working, responsive family-operated team. The buildings' rooms are kept very clean even though they are older, probably former small attached homes. Breakfast was a freshly-cooked hot one, with other choices available.

As a very well-travelled person on a budget who has travelled all over the world, for many years, it's the sort of place I appreciate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whale154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#24 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#64 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#155 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#19 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#72 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Property: St. Athans Hotel
Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel is a simple, clean, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. A grade II listed Georgian terraced house, it retains many of its original features and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London and the new British Library. It’s only a short bus ride away from the attractions of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres and famous night spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Athans Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing