We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good value for your money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #43 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good value for your money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

After reading mixed reviews, we booked for 3 nights in St. Athans for our stay, based mainly in their central location and affordable price.
Although the rooms are no luxury (ours was relatively small), the breakfast is quite good and the staff is very helpful for any inconvenience that may arise. Shared bathrooms were clean and tidy.
All in all, if you are searching for a budget accommodation within central London, this hotel is a good option to be considered.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sebas_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    234
    108
    30
    28
See reviews for
149
118
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

despite the mixed reviews, we booked for a 2night stay. we were only here to see bits of london and weren't planning to stay in the hotel except to sleep.

we originally wanted to get 2 rooms with ensuite as my husband and i were travelling with another young couple and a friend. however, we were told that only the 5person-accommodation was available. that was fine with us; the room was small but manageable (bunk bed, double bed and a single bed). we didn't get the ensuite but there was a sink in the room with several washrooms just around the corner.

anyhow, the location of the hotel is excellent and near the king's cross/st pancras station. plus: the full 'english breakfast' included in the cost was pretty good; wait-staff were friendly and quick.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wand3rlust74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We were late with booking a room, so we had to settle for a room with shared bathroom. The room was basic, but very clean. The shared bathroom was also clean. English breakfast, which was included in the price, was tasty and big enough to set you off for a nice start of a day. When it comes to locstion, the hotel is 5 min away from Russel Sq tube station and very close to the British Museum.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norkrainian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shatin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Well , this is my forth trip to UK and I usually stays in London around Russell square.
Unfortunately, my stay in St Athans marked my worst experience of all UK B&B.
For my family of four, we have a very crowded room with smelly old everything. En-suite toilet and shower is a small space cut off from corner of the room. A small piece of soap is all that we have ( no shower gel and shampoo, not to mention baby lotion that I can found in other B&B in UK). Voice from outside can be heard so clearly ( man and car) despite all window closed and curtains drawn at night. I woke up every hour. There is no tea or coffee in room.....
The morning before I left London( 26 June), I wake up around 7 am and went to the only sitting/common/internet room of St Athans for internet access and found a staff sleeping on the sofa with snoring. I waited for 10 minutes outside in the corridor hoping he will noticed and wake up but he did not. I finally entered the room and worked with my computer for over another 10 minutes until the man wake up and left the sitting room with no apology. Sitting room should to reserve for guest use and not as the sleep area of staffs!

I left with a lot of dis-appointment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onemanbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefangeyer, Owner at St. Athans Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
I'm sorry that you and your family didn't enjoy your stay with us. We go to great lengths to make it clear in our advertising that our place is a simple no frills hotel where the rooms can sometimes be small and we don't supply baby lotion- hence our reasonable rates for central London. We do however pride ourselves on our clean rooms and hospitable service, so appreciate your comments on these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

The location is great and the price, very convenient for London standards. Good breakfast and clean sheets. However, the toilet was not clean, the handwash basin had a big hole instead of a strainer (which could cause the loss of any object dropped accidentally) and the carpet in the bathroom was a bit dirty too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed here last night after I'd been to a concert in Camden. The location was ideal, being only a few tube stops away.

As I'd travelled alone, I had a single room which was small, but clean and tidy. It had a sink, but the toilet and shower were a short walk down the corridor. You can purchase an en-suite room for a few pounds more, I believe.

But for £44 a night (even without your own telly, although there is a lounge downstairs with TV and internet), you get what you pay for. And when you include a decent breakfast into the price, that's a good deal by London standards.

The bed was comfortable and I would've got a decent night's sleep had it not been for some inconsiderate noisy idiots who came up the stairs just as it was starting to get light.

Overall, I would definitely consider staying here again for a night or two. I couldn't complain about the facilities, the hotel was clean and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunnerphil1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

I'm happy to say that our choise was right! St Athans is a clean, familiar hotel near Russel Square and St. Pancras. There are many attractions near the hotel, like the British Museum.
Our room was small, but confortable and clean. We use the shared bathroom, and it was always clean and vacant.
People of the hotel are friendly and helped us when we needed something.
I'd like to spend some words for the breakfast, that is fantastic: we had the full english breakfast (sausages, tomatos, bacon,...), lovely, and there were also other things, like korn flakes, bread, butter, marmolade, coffee. Very good!
Thank you very much for everything!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladynadia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#23 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#62 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#115 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#27 of 556 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#58 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#71 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Property: St. Athans Hotel
Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel is a simple, clean, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. A grade II listed Georgian terraced house, it retains many of its original features and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London and the new British Library. It’s only a short bus ride away from the attractions of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres and famous night spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Budget Places, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Athans Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing