We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a hotel than a B&B, nice people”
Review of The Summerfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Summerfield
Ranked #206 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here quite a bit recently and would like to say a big thanks for the care. As you read on the other reviews:
Big rooms
Clean
For being above a pub surprisingly quiet even when they have a disco on (some saturdays)
Bathrooms basic but fine
Flat screen, tea / coffee and water etc.
They have 4 rooms and external access so you don't have to go through the pub and come and go as you please.
Breakfast is traditional B&B type breakfast, and usually will have a paper as well for you to read. Parking is available on street.
This will be a perfect location if you are coming for the olympics or if you are doing the O2 arena. Walking distance to local train station.

Room Tip: Best room is probably room 4, however single beds so if a couple maybe not so preferable.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josepherely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for The Summerfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 31 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed 1 night at the Summerfield as we were in London to see a concert at the O2 arena. The room was lovely, very comfortable. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, bottle of water, biscuits in room with kettle. Hairdryer in cupboard, and iron, ironing board and trouser press on landing for use.

We heard no noise from the pub at all.

Breakfast was served in the pub bar, the breakfast was the best we had ever had, lovely thick bacon and lovely sausages. I had a pot of tea to myself and my partner had a coffee with no problem asking for a second.

Very helpful owners and staff.

We got a taxi to the O2 which cost £11, but it is possible to get the train/subway if you know which one to catch.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Arrived after 11pm in the evening. Given a warm welcome by landlord and regulars. Taken up to room which we were very happy with. Found room to be clean, spacious and comfy. En suite bathroom was spot on. Full English breakfast was both generous and delicious, service was excellent.
Pub was delightful. Enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere. Not only allowed us to bring "take away" into pub, but provided plates and cutlery which they cleared away for us at the end.

In short, rooms were spot on, breakfast was excellent, hospitality and atmosphere were super, value was outstanding. We will be staying here again the next time we visit London.

Dean and Andrea Brown,

North Wales.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 4
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deanalexbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Rooms were nice, breakfast very good, but totally over shadowed by the the landlord who I can honestly say was the rudest person I have ever met in all the times I have been staying in hotels / B&B's and I can only put this down to the fact that he didn't like who and what he thought we were, he knows what we mean and I wouldn't reccommend this place to anybody, he doesn't deserve the business.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayling_Islander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Accommodation is surprisingly sparse in SE London, and the high prices reflect this. The Summerfield therefore represents good value. The staff are pleasant, but unobtrusive as they are busy running a pub. The rooms are at the top of the building, approached by an outside staircase, which is good when creeping in late at night but less so when it's raining. Our room was palatial in size with a spacious bathroom. It would have been nice if the radiator valves had been turned on to the right setting in advance. Breakfast in the bar was cooked to order using very high quality ingredients. The location is convenient if that's where you need to be for some reason (ours was the Rivoli Ballroom) and the street parking is easy enough. The pub can get very noisy but the rooms are well insulated so this is not a problem. We'll be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The Summerfield Tavern is a pub in S.E. London with four lovely rooms above. The rooms are really big (by London standards especially!!); they are clean and modern with flat screen TVs and nice solid furniture as well as tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water. The bathrooms are a decent size and have complimentary shower gel. The breakfast is delicious and the staff are really friendly!

All in all it is a really excellent value place to stay - it surpasses anything you could get for the same price in central London. It is however further out of london than the underground but it is only a ten minute walk to the station and that gets you into the city in approx 20 mins. The only problem with the pub was the traffic noise - there was no air-con so we had to have the windows open but that also let all the sound in!! I'm sure the noise wouldn't be a problem if you kept the windows closed but then I'd suggest asking for the fan in summer-time - I know some rooms had one.

Highly recommended!! Would stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

we travel to this area to visit family 3 or 4 times a year and have struggled to find a nice clean accomadation with friendly staff. we have tried several others who have come up short despite charging more. now we have found a little gem for regular visits

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briansgoneawol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Station Hotel
#93 of 563 in London
56 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#12 of 563 in London
160 reviews
Brooklyn House
#174 of 563 in London
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windmill Hotel
#254 of 563 in London
256 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 563 in London
768 reviews
Bennys B and B
#89 of 563 in London
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summerfield

Address: 60 Baring Road, London SE12 0PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $71 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summerfield 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Summerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summerfield London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing