We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping up the standards over time - a good sign”
Review of High Road House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
High Road House
Ranked #99 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Keeping up the standards over time - a good sign”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nearly two years since I last stayed, but just as good as last time. The bed is still super comfortable, the fridge and magazine drawers well stocked, the quirkiness of a small boutique hotel twanging the emotions like no international chain can. No, there is no pool, no bellboy, no spa, no gym. But the reception service is good, the private dining room and public brasserie downstairs both served by young and largely (if not enitrely!) efficient staff. And the location in one of west London's smartest boroughs, half-way from the city centre to Heathrow, with an excellent antiques store next door, quirky little shops along the High Road and in Turnham Green Terrace, and the huge range of local restaurants and coffee shops, all make for a refreshing change for the jaded traveller. My wife, a regular business customer of five star hotels in Asia and Europe, loves it here. If you're travelling with kids, they will allow at least one to stay with you in the larger rooms. Call them and see what they can do. And there are kids' activities in the basement downstairs (not available at all times so, again, ask when booking).

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 7 have lift access, rooms 8 to 14 require you to walk the last flight of stairs. Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
40
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

You really do feel a sense of luxury staying here and it is often possible to get extremely good rates, especially for a Sunday night. Beds are super comfortable, brilliant shower and everything you could possibly need is in the room, a large range of cowshed products, complimentary mineral water in the mini bar, homemade cookies in the drawer, up to date magazines, hair straighteners, the list could go on!And they come in to turn down your bed and give you fresh towels while you are out in the evening. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 402Ellie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I greatly enjoyed my stay at the High Road House. At check-in we were escorted to our room while the attendant explained the hotel and room amenities. The room was small but was well stocked with everything from a tea drawer (awesome), to an umbrella. Bed was "fluffy" and comfortable. The rain shower-head was fabulous and they provided a nice selection of Cowshed products along with toothbrush, razor, comb etc. The cafe service and food was very good (despite what I've heard about English food!). Chiswick is a vibrant area and was convenient for our business purposes . If you have the time I recommend taking a walk around Chiswick if for no other reason than to see the wonderful homes. The modest hotel entrance belies what a nice stay awaits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Brilliant boutique hotel, very modern and chic with amazingly comfortable bed and awesome rainstorm shower! The room was small but they made up for this in clever design, so hooks around the room for clothes etc. Everything you wanted there including lovely toiletries (Cowshed) of which you could help yourself to their miniature selection and others to use in the bathroom. As a member of Mr and Mrs Smith we were given a complimentary shower gel. Attention to detail made a lot of difference and the biscuits for morning tea were home made with a variety of teas etc. This was the first hotel where we have been escorted to our room and shown how everything works and pointed out the fire exits to us (top marks!). There are stairs but a lift takes you to the 2nd floor and the reception staff will carry your bag to the 3rd. One small complaint is that our room was at the front and we had noise from the pub turning out for a while and if we shut the window it was too hot, although got rid of the noise.
The hotel is located a short walk from Turnham Green underground station so perfect for us and Chiswick is lovely. Recommend a walk down to the river and onto Richmond. Plenty of restaurants and coffee places in the area. Reasonable price too.

Room Tip: Ask for no higher than 2nd floor if you can't carry bags. Try to get a room at the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly situated close to Heathrow and for us Wimbledon we needed a place to crash close to the tennis. After staying at 2 other Soho House Venues I thought we would give this a try. I just wish we had the time to stay longer. The room, bed, linen, bathroom was everything you would expect from a Soho house hotel and the breakfast and dining rom itself was fab. Next time I will definately leave more time to try the club

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you need to be in this part of town, or just fancy a change of scene, you can't go wrong staying out here. Rooms well equipped, tidy and smart, service is mainly excellent. Bar and restaurant are great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The staff, the facilities, the food are all first class. Young staff whose only intention is to make your stay comfortable and nothing is too much. Highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are stylish, very comfortable beds with luxurious bedding. Toiletries exceptional and the generous supply of Cowshed products are super. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptd191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Hammersmith / Fulham
Chiswick Rooms
Chiswick Rooms
#667 of 1,069 in London
209 reviews
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#175 of 1,069 in London
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kings Head Hotel
#596 of 1,069 in London
35 reviews
Urban Villa Hotel
#1 of 6 in Brentford
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Road House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Road House

Property: High Road House
Address: 162-166 Chiswick High Road, London W4 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — High Road House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your High Road House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Road House Hotel London
High Road House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing