We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a weekend city-break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #100 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location couldn't be better if you're interested in a slightly less touristy London - you're a short walk from Brick Lane or Columbia Road market, Hoxton Square cafes & restaurants, or Spitalfields galleries and shops. The hotel is sleek rather than 'fancy'. Rooms are totally comfortable, nicely styled and bigger than expected, with super comfortable beds and rainforest showers. Room service comes from the Hoxton Grill downstairs, so there's a pretty wide range and decent coffee. We also nabbed the free mini-breakfast bags for a mid-morning snack. I'd happily recommend this place to friends or family... next time I'm bagsing a late-night spot by the fireplace downstairs.

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room facing the back road (Shard view) which was very nice and peaceful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlfriday29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write nice things about us! Great to hear we have another East London fan out there and you explored the local area. We're also loving your style - bagsing a late-night spot by the fireplace is always a good move! Hope to see you getting a warm again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,659)
There are newer reviews for The Hoxton, Shoreditch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 4,659 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for four nights and had a very good time! The room was lovely and the cleaning awesome. The breakfast was small but still something and the staff was friendly and helpfull. Close to both Old tube station and Liverpool street station, and buss 55 to Oxford circus passes just outside. Will defiantly come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We think it's excellent that you think we are excellent! Thank you for choosing us as your London base. We hope to see you again soon for another excellent London trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our stay at the Hoxton was very enjoyable! I loved the vibe, it was in a good location, really well priced and was perfect for my boyfriend and I because we're just some travelling 20-somethings really. I loved how busy it was at night, the closeness to the tube is imperative to exploring. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. My only gripes were the disappointing full English. If you want a great one, go to a greasy spoon place. We also ate there for dinner upon arrival and it took us AGES to get the cheque because our table was in a different room and 100% forgotten about. I also didn't love the Monday morning construction that woke us up. We were on the top floor and the Hoxton is expanding, so it's understandable - a warning would've been much appreciated, though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uselessmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for the feedback, great to hear that you liked the hotel and sorry about the wait time in the grill. We are giving our rooms a facelift at present which explains the construction. We hope to see you again :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've stayed at numerous London hotels over the years and whilst I've considered the Hoxton before, this was the first time I've stayed here. This hotel is perfect, if you want to be close to less touristy London and the Shoreditch area with its great bars and nightlife.

On arrival, the hotel staff were polite and courteous. Each room is unique in its design and mine included a photo print instead of curtains and a travel chest instead of a wardrobe. Each morning you get a small breakfast in a bag delivered to your door, and fresh milk is included in the fridge - it's these little touches that make the Hoxton unique, special and memorable.

The bar downstairs is popular with guests and the locals is worth a visit, as too is the Hoxton Grill. The burger is probably one of the best restaurant burgers I've had, clearly made with proper meat and fresh ingredients. In summary, the Hoxton will now be my first choice hotel for London and I would highly recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superleague2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

We think you are pretty perfect too! Thanks ever so much for taking the time to share the love. Great to hear you tried the burger - we can also recommend the ribs too! Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We are regular guests of this hotel, because we like the location, the comfort and quietness of the rooms and the connectivity with internet.
The restaurant is a bit noisy at night but that's because the place is really hype...
Last saturday, our disappointment with the breakfast packages was total: as "freshly squeezed" fruit juices we received bottles manufactured early January and to be used by January 10, i.e. the day before !!!! Very poor management of the stocks !

Room Tip: All rooms far from the base floor should be quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean_claude_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review - sorry about the breakfast experience. Be sure to let us know when you return (jules@thehox.com) and we'll ensure your juice is indeed fresh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I've stayed quite a few times and love the place. Fantastic value - £69 - for a Sunday night, and great attention to detail. We had one of the larger, newer rooms which was fine. Only issue, one we've had before, is that the shower flooded the bathroom. Not sure why but it was irritating. As ever a great atmosphere and good restaurants, bars and nightlife nearby.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lexicles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review - sorry to hear about the shower flood. Next time if anything like this happens be sure to let us know and we'll come fix it. Great to hear you love the Hox. Hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Hoxton for the weekend and loved it. The staff were so friendly and helpful. When we arrived at 10.30am just planning to leave our bags they actually let us check in as they had a room free. There is a great buzz around the lobby. Lovely place to sit and have a coffee or beer. Really enjoyed our breakfast bag and the showers are amazing. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing the love! We'd definitely have you back too. Great to hear you made the most of the lobby. See you in the hood again soon we hope :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#61 of 1,072 in London
1,613 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#368 of 1,072 in London
1,041 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#138 of 1,072 in London
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#149 of 1,072 in London
411 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#294 of 1,072 in London
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#90 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $167 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing