We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #113 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ranica, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very stylish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hoxton is a great choice for a stay in london.Its urban style welcomes you when you arrive and enter the
lobby. the hoxton grill is a great restaurant good food fir good value. the hoxton is something different and I certainly would return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c62gio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Why thank you, we're really happy to be named stylish and great to hear that you enjoyed the food in the grill. If you haven't already try the Pulled Pork Bap, it's MEGA! Hope to see you here again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,868
    1,314
    191
    55
    34
See reviews for
436
2,105
303
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haderslev, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

You feel at home when staying at the Hoxton Hotel. The staff greets you and make you feel welcome. Great value and excellent atmosphere. I stay at the Hoxton both when I am on business trips and when I go to London with my family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We get you both times do we?! Business and for leisure...Happy to hear that you feel at home here and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had booked 5 nights, but had to leave unfortunately, for family reasons, after only 2 nights. My stay was pre-paid, but the hotel was EXTREMLY generous: they refunded without discussion or problem, after just 3 minutes of inquiry, the 3 nights which I didn't sleep in. I think this is unusual and rather great!

Room Tip: Rooms, as usual, far from elevators, are much quieter! That is normal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Ssssshhhhh don't tell everyone ;-) Pleased we could be of service and we hope everything worked out OK. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Hoxton for a girl's getaway/birthday celebration. We really enjoyed our stay - the beds were very comfortable (probably the best I've experienced in a hotel recently) and the showers were fantastic. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The staff were excellent - truly amazing. They all wanted to go out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. In fact, one staff member in particular stood out - Olivier at the front desk. He provided tea while we waited for our rooms to be ready and when he found out we were there for my friend's birthday he had balloons (elegant not tacky) placed in the room with a birthday message for her. I did not bring my adapter with me and he went out of his way to find one for me. And every day he was there he always made sure to ask us how we were doing. We dined in the restaurant for breakfast and found the food to be quite good as well. As with other comments it is a lively place in the evening which we rather enjoyed (great cocktails). The only constructive offering is that it would have been nice having a section of the lobby available only for guests. I would definitely go back and will recommend the hotel to my friends and family. Olivier - if you are reading this, thank you for ensuring a memorable experience for me and my friend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalandelala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback, always nice to hear compliments and we'll be sure to give our Oli a big pat on the back and share your feedback with the team!

Do say a BIG belated happy birthday to your friend and come back around again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great stay, despite being very busy the staff was keen to help and advise me. Also, compared to the ridiculous prices most London hotels charge their guests, The Hoxton's pricing policy is very fair, to say the least. Pretty much the best hotel I've been to!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broda85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
WOW! Thank you for the feedback, we are really happy to be named the best hotel you have been to...Do come around again soon, we will be waiting ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Hoxton several times in the last couple of years always through busines (sadly). However I've had a great opportunity to see the hotel in reasonable detail.

The bar area is seamlessly fused with the lobby and is surprisingly popular with "locals" not just guests and there is a fairly trendy, affluent "City" feel. This is Shoreditch and let's be honest you will not find the atmosphere quite as down to earth as you might up the road in Islington (during the week at least). The vibe is about successful, aspiring, stylish youth and you may spot the odd celeb in there too from time to time. And in a way I guess this is the target demograph.


While I accept this hotel has worked hard to cultivate something stylish and is relatively unique with the product it offers I guess the thing for me is when I'm travelling for work I like to have as much space as I can get as the room substitutes for my home. That's where the Hoxton is a bit of a let down for me. I won't dispute the rooms are stylish and adequate for a short stay for someone on vaccation but as someone who frequently has to work in their room during a trip they're a bit on the small side and quite dark. The rooms have dark wood furnishings and a really dark bathroom (I mean ceiling to floor dark tiles - sorry, this has just never been my thing - nor is the complimentary Pears soap for that matter :-).

I also enjoy a good breakfast and the paper bag with a yogurt, banana and juice is a let down. I know they have the bacon sandwiches and the full service (if you have the time). Again the problem for me is that I'm working; I don't have the facility to stop off for take away then eat it at a desk and the service breakfast I am reliably informed is quite slow. Now if I was enjoying a relaxing city break this would probably be fine as I'd head out for the day and take breakfast at leisure somewhere.

The highlights of this hotel however are the staff and the restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a casual ambience at reception that is really welcoming. I've eaten in the Grill a number of times, the food is unpretentious and honest and it's really good! The slow cooked beef ribs are the highlight but the slaw is surprisingly good as well!

Overall, the Hoxton is good for for couples or small groups of friends having a short break and looking for a location just a bit less cliched than "Up West". Breakfast isn't great but dinner is super (in a casual way). It's convenient for a lot of businesses operating near Liverpool Street for the business traveller. But I really feel it's better suited to flying business visits than a week long project for example and not great for anyone who has to work from their rooms in the evening. As with most other people, the fresh milk in the fridge in the room and the bottles of water are a great touch. However the Pears soap - noooooo!

By the way, for any romantic men out there, if you want to surprise your wife or girlfriend with a stay in London you could do a lot worse than this hotel - every female colleague I have just raves about the place!

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing onto Great Eastern Street - you can get some traffic noise from about 04.30 onwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanoverian27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Hoxton was an excellent and lively hotel. It seems to be the beating heart of Hoxton/Shoreditch.
Staff were excellent. We ate at the hotel once and the food was very good. I had the pulled pork burger and this was superb.
The room was a little small but adequate. Bathroom with rain shower excellent. One or two stains noted on the chaise longue.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area which is rich with quirky and lively bars, restaurants and clubs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we always like to hear that we have another pulled pork bap fan out there. Great that you enjoyed the lively atmosphere and the surrounding area - we'd love to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#90 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#322 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#41 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing