We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for business visits to the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #93 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Hoxton is well located and is a comfortable modern hotel. The restaurant is not bad although a bit short on veg.
The big attraction though is the no frills and no extras attitude which is really refreshing, especially when you pay the bill yourself. I Always try to stay there when in London - the room rates can get quite high at busy times though. But at least you know that you will get good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamblingRose1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we are very pleased that you always choose to stay here when you are in town. You should try the Avocado for breakfast - it's very green ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,654 - 1,660 of 4,827 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Many hotels try to be hip and trendy but try too hard, thereby failing to hit the spot.

This is one of the best I've stayed in. Very funky bar area, great bedrooms although ours was a little small and the beds are excellent.

Only problem was a rather noisy banging of doors in the corridor/bedrooms early in the morning. This was then supplemented by the sound of hoovering and tidying up in the bedrooms above us or next to us.

If you want a long lie in the morning (ie until 8am) don't stay here. If you want to feel trendy and chic, stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in 121...view was out the back onto the rear of buildings. pretty uninspiring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for the comments, happy to hear we hit the spot and sorry about the noise. Let us know when you come around again and we'll give you something to make sure you don't hear a peep! Hope to make you feel trendy and chic again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Monday night, just for the night.

The lobby is very dark, but the bar/grill looked good and had a nice vibe.

Check in staff were helpful and I was soon checked in.

I had a newly renovated concept room with wooden floors. Positives:

- comfortable bed;
- huge TV
- powerful shower
- efficient A/C

Negatives:
- the room felt a bit bares/cold
- distinct lack of storage space

Overall, I thought the hotel was all about marketing - they make a big deal about giving you some free waster and a breakfast bag - but there's only a certain amount of excitement I can generate from a banana and a yoghurt!

Sorry, I know a lot of my colleagues love it here but it didn't do anything for me. It was a distinctly average experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, shame we didn't quite click. We do try not to fill the rooms with wasters but we do offer free water ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a total pleasure it was staying at The Hoxton. We had 24 hours away from children to discover the delights of Shoreditch and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect base. Friendly, efficient, stylish with lots of very very amusing signs / branding all over the place. The hotel guide telling us where to go and visit in the local area was invaluable. We love the Hox!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms. If you want guranteed quiet (especially on a Friday) as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaJBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

And the Hox LOVES you! Thank you for taking the time to spread the love, we're happy you enjoyed your stay and glad someone found our signs funny ;-) Do come around again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Hox for my birthday on 25th Oct. The hotel is lovely, I had booked from a friends recommendation - my husband was so impressed when we walked in to the lobby - its really, really cool but not not too pretentious or young. The front desk staff were absolutely charming and so helpful. Rooms were good (not big) but Ok - if you stay in that part of London you really don't want to be staying in your room very much anyway!. Showers were spotless and rain shower was fab, fab.

There was a DJ in the lobby on Friday night was perfect as it was still very lively but you could get a drink and managed to get a chair....

I cannot wait to go back again we have ben raving about the hotel and the area to all our friends we will def be back . Cannot fault this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Well HAPPY belated Birthday! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are raving about us to all of your friends - always love it when we discover a new fan.

We defo can' wait to have you back. Thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Hoxton staff helped me organise a small surprise for my wife in our anniversary. I had posted a small parcel and card which was placed in room with a chilled bottle of wine.
Front desk staff couldn't do enough and offered to traipsy down road to find a particular bottle of wine they didn't stick, my parcel was places in a lovely gift bag and balloons placed in our room.
They arranged for one of the concept rooms which was great with really comfy beds.
Great Ambiance in Bar and breakfast was so tasty.
I would heartily recommend this hotel for pleasure or business as nothing seems too much trouble.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lassothemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Happy Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to feedback, we're pleased we could help you mark the occasion in style. Great to hear you liked the concept rooms too and indulged in some brekky. Do come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and the staff at the hotel could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating - even going to the effort to wrap the gift my husband had sent down in advance and ensuring it was in the room for our arrival, bringing us chilled wine (again - fantastic service here as they didn't have the type my husband had requested so were going to buy it in specially!) and sending balloons up to the room. Loved, loved, loved it here and will def be back. We stayed in one of the new concept rooms and it was beautifully designed. Leaving today and wish we weren't!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank moohouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Happy anniversary and thank you for taking the time to feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and glad you got the vino you wanted. Do come back again soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#387 of 1,076 in London
1,116 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#64 of 1,076 in London
1,745 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#121 of 1,076 in London
695 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#562 of 1,076 in London
84 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#306 of 1,076 in London
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $145 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing