We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #95 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

They get everything right. Free international calls, wifi, early and late check out, great bar, free breakfast. The staff all overwhelming friendly.
Very good value for money in an expensive city. Flawless for a younger clientele

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 4,829 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Ok so it's about a third more than you would pay for a good premier inn but it costs the same as a raddison in central London and I've never left a Raddison feeling the same way as I do leaving the Hoxton. Service, location, shower, bed and food are all excellent at the Hoxton and that's what a hotel should be judged on. I was greeted by reception and it was noted that I'd stated here before and welcomed back (so easy to do but why has it never happened to me at other hotels!!). Check in was swift, room was ready at 2pm, very clean. I love the little things about this hotel, quirky signs, amazing packets of coffee, fresh milk and free bottles of water, real bar of soap, rainfall shower, always free wifi with no crappy login and password. I also ate at the grill last night and had the chicken burger, it was good and the fries were ace. Thanks Hoxton for actually thinking about what your guests really want. Well done you deserve your success.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Loved The Hoxton as soon as we walked through the door!
Fabulous room and very good staff - all went out of their way with any request.
Will definitely come back and in the meantime will highly recommend to friends and family!
Thank you everyone at The wonderful Hoxton Hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrogateTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my friends birthday. We were told hotel was in an up & coming urban area. It is a short walk from Old Street tube but we weren't very impressed with the area. Hoxton Square was ok but we got pestered by begets whilst we were eating!
That said the hotel itself is great, very clean, rooms have everything you need. The breakfast comes in a paper bag, hung up outside your door. It's small but it's enough to start the day. We actually had a full English downstairs which was very good value at £10. But beware drinks in the bar are very expensive!! Would recommend but stay on a high floor as reception tends to be noisy at weekends

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Well located, very friendly and pretty hip hotel. We went for a short London escape and really enjoyed the time we spent at the Hoxton. We also ate at the Hoxton Grill which was faultless. The only downside as has been mentioned in other reviews was the air con, which was a bit feeble, but aside from that this is a great hotel and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Deborah H

Thanks so much for your review!

Nice to know you found us hip, funky, well located and friendly hotel!

We have started complete bedroom refurbishment this month and our new rooms will be fully upgraded and look fab!

Hope to see you soon @ The Hox!

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Hoxton has become our second home in London now. Whenever we come down from Scotland we always stay there now. The prices are good but the hotel, and it's staff, are consistently great.

In the heatwave, when it was 30+ C outside, the air-conditioning in our room was quiet and did a great job of keeping us comfortable. The room was always clean and our special request (a higher floor overlooking Willow street) was met without argument. The free breakfasts are a great way to get you started in the morning.

We love the area around the hotle so much (Shoreditch) that we tend not to venture into the city unless we are visiting one of the big galleries - it has everything you'll need! There is even a co-op shop across the street if you just feel like a quiet night in with a glass of wine.

All in all, still a brilliant place to stay and we shall be back ASAP!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Willow street are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Trevor and Fiona

Thank you very much for sharing your experience!

We are proud to deliver great customer service to all our guests and love to hear we have becomes your home away from home..

We look forward to your asap return to The Hox! ;)

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having little time to go away around work, my partner and I decided on a weekend in London the weekend after our wedding. We wren't disappointed by the Hoxton. Having mentioned it was our honeymoon they put us in the Hoxton Cabin, one of the concept rooms (and thankfully away from the noisy Grill and bar downstairs!). The staff were lovely and the little breakfast was a brilliant extra. The rooms are quite small but beautifully formed, I'd definitely recommend it. it had the added bonus of being on top of Old Street station making it a handy base for going into other parts of town.

Room Tip: If you are hoping to get a quiet nights sleep, avoid the rooms directly over the internal courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louhew_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Louhew_13

Thank you for your review - full house of fives for us!

Great to know we made your stay extra special and you and your partner enjoyed minimoon away in London!

Hope to see you soon @ The Hox!

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#384 of 1,077 in London
1,121 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#65 of 1,077 in London
1,755 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#560 of 1,077 in London
89 reviews
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#119 of 1,077 in London
713 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#151 of 1,077 in London
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $146 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing