We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit was as great as the first”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #94 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Hoxton has become our second home in London now. Whenever we come down from Scotland we always stay there now. The prices are good but the hotel, and it's staff, are consistently great.

In the heatwave, when it was 30+ C outside, the air-conditioning in our room was quiet and did a great job of keeping us comfortable. The room was always clean and our special request (a higher floor overlooking Willow street) was met without argument. The free breakfasts are a great way to get you started in the morning.

We love the area around the hotle so much (Shoreditch) that we tend not to venture into the city unless we are visiting one of the big galleries - it has everything you'll need! There is even a co-op shop across the street if you just feel like a quiet night in with a glass of wine.

All in all, still a brilliant place to stay and we shall be back ASAP!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Willow street are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Trevor and Fiona

Thank you very much for sharing your experience!

We are proud to deliver great customer service to all our guests and love to hear we have becomes your home away from home..

We look forward to your asap return to The Hox! ;)

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,895 - 1,901 of 4,874 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having little time to go away around work, my partner and I decided on a weekend in London the weekend after our wedding. We wren't disappointed by the Hoxton. Having mentioned it was our honeymoon they put us in the Hoxton Cabin, one of the concept rooms (and thankfully away from the noisy Grill and bar downstairs!). The staff were lovely and the little breakfast was a brilliant extra. The rooms are quite small but beautifully formed, I'd definitely recommend it. it had the added bonus of being on top of Old Street station making it a handy base for going into other parts of town.

Room Tip: If you are hoping to get a quiet nights sleep, avoid the rooms directly over the internal courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louhew_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Louhew_13

Thank you for your review - full house of fives for us!

Great to know we made your stay extra special and you and your partner enjoyed minimoon away in London!

Hope to see you soon @ The Hox!

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had stayed at The Hoxton before and absolutely loved it. So we decided to stay again for my partner's birthday. They gave us a concept room which was absolutely lovely and they put some balloons in for my partner which made her feel very special.
The decor and ambience of the hotel was very chilled out, modern and stylish. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever stayed in and the room was equipped with everything we needed for a short stay. On our previous stay we had reviewed that the only thing better would have been something to plug our iPod into and this time we got just that. So it really was perfect.
The staff were also super friendly. Everyone who visited our room (from room service) knew it was my partner's birthday and all wished her well. The front desk staff were very helpful and had some of the best customer service skills I have ever come across.
The room was very reasonably priced, the only thing I would say is that there were certain items on the room service menu which perhaps could have been a tad cheaper. Not the entire menu I might add. But for example, my girlfriend ordered Eggs Benedict for breakfast and they were fantastic. Well worth the money at £8! However, I ordered a Bacon Bloomer, which I thought for £5 was rather small as it was just a glorified piece of bacon in a bap. However, it was very tasty and I appreciate that there is a premium for having it delivered to our room.
Overall, the experience left us feeling very special and The Hoxton is fast turning into a tradition for us. We will most definitely be back! Thank you :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJFeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi SJFeehan

Thanks so much for your review!

It's nice to know we got it right for you this time and visiting The Hoxton is turning into a tradition for you and your partner.

We look forward to your next stay already! ;)

See you soon @ The Hox!

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The air-conditioning in this hotel sucks and the repair and staff were happy to confirm this!

However, the food, staff (management) and overall atmosphere is outstanding. The reason for the two stars is because when you stay in a hotel you want the actual hotel room to be great especially for the price you are paying. In this case...it were not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RishiOps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi RishiOps,

Thanks for the feedback, sorry to hear that your A/C was not working during your stay. Not ideal in these very hot summer evenings.

It would be great to discuss this further with you, please drop me a line at benjamin@thehox.com.

Thanks

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Amazing. Funky. Only criticism was my door card kept failing to work, however staff couldnt be more helpful. They really went above and beyond and i couldnt imagine staying anywhere else after a 26 hour flight! Not to mention they gave me early check in!! Loved it and will go back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zozocash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Zozocash

That's great! All fives from you!

Thanks for sharing and hope to see you soon at the Hox!

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at the Hoxton on 12th and 13th July 2013 with my best friend. The hotel is based in Shoreditch and we stayed in a concept room - Hoxton Cabin.

This is one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in anywhere and would happily stay again. The concept room we had was great, clean, lovely décor, decent size room, great shower and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself was contemporary and there was a lovely atmosphere all the time. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

There is also a bar and restaurant in the hotel both of which are busy all the time so if you want somewhere quiet and peaceful to hang out this hotel is probably not for you. However we thought the restaurant was very good and the food was tasty and the lounge area was stylish and lively.

The area of Shoreditch is great, lots of places to eat and drink and easy transport links. I have never stayed in this part of London but thoroughly enjoyed it and would stay again and recommend to others.

The only thing to note is that parking is on the side streets and there is a congestion zone applicable so you might need to drive around a little before finding somewhere to park. However I managed to find a spot on Tabanacle street for the whole weekend, which is a short walk from the hotel so parking can be located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dippalli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Dippalli N

Thank you for your review!

Loved to read how much you and your friend enjoyed weekend away at the Hox and found the team friendly and helpful at all times!

We hope to see you soon @ The Hoxton!

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

After booking a concert at The Olympic Park I needed somewhere to stay in The East part of London. After lots of conversations with friends and advice on the area I still was no nearer to finding the right hotel. Myself and my partner like boutique stylish modern hotels and like "nice" places so the challenge was on. After lots of searching I came across The Hoxton hotel and I am so glad I did. I booked it via their website and found it straight forward and the best price too!. We visited on the Wimbledon final weekend so everywhere was busy or over priced.
On arrival the staff were friendly although clearly very busy but were still happy to help and we were able to leave our luggage as the room wasn't ready which enabled us to continue with our day plans. On check in later that evening the guy on reception was fantastic and has the best customer service manner I have come across friendly, relaxed and just a nice guy. The room I had requested was a feature room as it was for my partners birthday and I was lucky enough to be given one. As it was his birthday the hotel staff had kindly placed some balloons in the room a really lovely touch- Thank you. The room was fantastic small in size but just what we needed. Bathroom was a real great size with everything we needed- large shower etc.
The bar was busy and maybe the only thing that is needed is more seating rather than having to pounce as soon as someone has moved from there seat or staff in the restaurant area asking you to move.
Overall a really cool hotel, great location and value for money- We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: High floored room for those wanting a relaxing / romantic break
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMiss1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Rachel G

Thanks very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

We loved to hear you enjoyed your weekend away at The Hoxton and would like to come back!

Great to hear a small tought from us made your partner's Birthday extra special!

We hope to see you soon at the Hox!

Take care

Hx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#386 of 1,081 in London
1,145 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#64 of 1,081 in London
1,780 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#167 of 1,081 in London
524 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#539 of 1,081 in London
103 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#302 of 1,081 in London
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $149 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing