We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly hot and uncomfortable rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #108 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terribly hot and uncomfortable rooms!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The air-conditioning in this hotel sucks and the repair and staff were happy to confirm this!

However, the food, staff (management) and overall atmosphere is outstanding. The reason for the two stars is because when you stay in a hotel you want the actual hotel room to be great especially for the price you are paying. In this case...it were not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishiOps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi RishiOps,

Thanks for the feedback, sorry to hear that your A/C was not working during your stay. Not ideal in these very hot summer evenings.

It would be great to discuss this further with you, please drop me a line at benjamin@thehox.com.

Thanks

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,877
    1,314
    191
    55
    34
See reviews for
439
2,108
304
757
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (829)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Amazing. Funky. Only criticism was my door card kept failing to work, however staff couldnt be more helpful. They really went above and beyond and i couldnt imagine staying anywhere else after a 26 hour flight! Not to mention they gave me early check in!! Loved it and will go back :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zozocash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Zozocash

That's great! All fives from you!

Thanks for sharing and hope to see you soon at the Hox!

Hx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed at the Hoxton on 12th and 13th July 2013 with my best friend. The hotel is based in Shoreditch and we stayed in a concept room - Hoxton Cabin.

This is one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in anywhere and would happily stay again. The concept room we had was great, clean, lovely décor, decent size room, great shower and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel itself was contemporary and there was a lovely atmosphere all the time. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

There is also a bar and restaurant in the hotel both of which are busy all the time so if you want somewhere quiet and peaceful to hang out this hotel is probably not for you. However we thought the restaurant was very good and the food was tasty and the lounge area was stylish and lively.

The area of Shoreditch is great, lots of places to eat and drink and easy transport links. I have never stayed in this part of London but thoroughly enjoyed it and would stay again and recommend to others.

The only thing to note is that parking is on the side streets and there is a congestion zone applicable so you might need to drive around a little before finding somewhere to park. However I managed to find a spot on Tabanacle street for the whole weekend, which is a short walk from the hotel so parking can be located.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dippalli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Dippalli N

Thank you for your review!

Loved to read how much you and your friend enjoyed weekend away at the Hox and found the team friendly and helpful at all times!

We hope to see you soon @ The Hoxton!

Hx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

After booking a concert at The Olympic Park I needed somewhere to stay in The East part of London. After lots of conversations with friends and advice on the area I still was no nearer to finding the right hotel. Myself and my partner like boutique stylish modern hotels and like "nice" places so the challenge was on. After lots of searching I came across The Hoxton hotel and I am so glad I did. I booked it via their website and found it straight forward and the best price too!. We visited on the Wimbledon final weekend so everywhere was busy or over priced.
On arrival the staff were friendly although clearly very busy but were still happy to help and we were able to leave our luggage as the room wasn't ready which enabled us to continue with our day plans. On check in later that evening the guy on reception was fantastic and has the best customer service manner I have come across friendly, relaxed and just a nice guy. The room I had requested was a feature room as it was for my partners birthday and I was lucky enough to be given one. As it was his birthday the hotel staff had kindly placed some balloons in the room a really lovely touch- Thank you. The room was fantastic small in size but just what we needed. Bathroom was a real great size with everything we needed- large shower etc.
The bar was busy and maybe the only thing that is needed is more seating rather than having to pounce as soon as someone has moved from there seat or staff in the restaurant area asking you to move.
Overall a really cool hotel, great location and value for money- We will be back very soon!

Room Tip: High floored room for those wanting a relaxing / romantic break
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMiss1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Rachel G

Thanks very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

We loved to hear you enjoyed your weekend away at The Hoxton and would like to come back!

Great to hear a small tought from us made your partner's Birthday extra special!

We hope to see you soon at the Hox!

Take care

Hx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Hoxton Hotel is a really nice place to stay in London. The staff, very kind and great service. Rooms are clean, with lot of useful things and beautiful. The bar is great. I stayed for two night and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmaiaUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Hotel at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi AmaiaUSC

Thanks so much for your fantastic review!

Hope to see you soon @ The Hox!

Hx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for a week and found it great for the following reasons
(i) fantastc location if you like the east. close to hoxton square, shoreditch high st and the city.
(ii) really cool vibe. bar and restaurant full of young and happening people socialising or catching up on business in a non suity way
(iii) great food - room service or restaurant
(iv) little funny touches in messages and notices around the hotel.
(v) value for money

what i didn't like
(i) rooms a little on the small side, but for london they are pretty good. however bathroom was decent
(ii) no gym facilities
(iii) not much else....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gita J, Hoxton Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Lovebox76

Thanks so much for your review!

It's nice to hear how much you enjoyed hotel's location, vibe and great value for money that Hoxton promises to its guests!

However, it's a shame we did not tell you about other happenings at The Hox - Hoxtown with regular events at the Hoxton from free yoga class every Saturday to inspiring talks, exclusive workshops, live music sessions, DJ sets and much more..

Stay connected and get involved in one of these events next time you stay with us!

To receive latest updates on all the events @ The Hox, please sign up on our Fan Club at hoxtonhotels.com

Hope to see you soon!

Hx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location with really charming and helpful staff! The Grill does yummy lunches and good selection of wines and beers.

We drank late in the bar on Sat night and overall had a fab time. Only thing that marred the experience is that one of our party borrowed a lighter from the front desk and left it on the table where they were drinking. On going up to bed in the lift one of the reception staff asked for the lighter. On being told apologetically that it had been left on the table the member of staff said with extreme sarcasm: "Well go and get it then!".

Needlessly rude - and a real shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairebears68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi clairebears68,

Great to hear that your enjoyed your stay here at the Hoxton during MexFest 2013. Food & drink what a great combo!!!

Sorry to hear that the one interaction marred your experience of the Hoxton, we will be on top form next time.

Look forward to having you hear soon

Thanks

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#85 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#326 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing