We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“hospitality in every fiber” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #109 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“hospitality in every fiber”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

No uniforms for the reception staff at the hoxton: they do not put on an attitude with the uniform, but they ARE friendly, helpful, professional and client oriented. I guess also not because the hotel does not believe in one 'brand' expierience but a personalised one. The rooms are clean, small, good bed and linen and everything neatly in its place (except for the mirror, you have to stand up drying your hair, you can't do this relaxed sitting down). Breakfast - juice, yoghurt and banana included and outside your door when you want it. Incredibly warm and welcoming reception, lounge and bar with fires burning day and night. Close to the city (convenient) and to the design and art community (fun). Not the most prestiguous but simply one of the best hotels I ever stayed in and one I always love to come back to. Meeting rooms with a central larder are just superb too, good coffee, healthy snacks and drinks - top!

Room Tip: use the website to choose your desired room style - however the hotel is often full, it might be tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Syrah63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,803
    1,278
    183
    56
    33
See reviews for
423
2,059
302
725
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hoxton is a cool hotel, funky liveley big lobby with a hip crowd. Rooms are clean and smart, beds are realy good and firm.
The simple breakfast is perfect and efficient. The guys at the reseption are verry helpful.
Shoreditch is a verry nice and liveley location lots of young party people. Nice restaurants just arround the corner.

So,... i will visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

"Uber cool" shoreditch location to me just looks like a dive. Great Eastern street is busy and infested with office space riddled with to let boards.
As for the hoxton, the best part is the lobby, comfotable seating and double volume entrance with fireplaces on each side works well, something you will never find in competing, branded hotel chains.
Hoxton rooms are small and nothing special. Black and gray makes for a depressing environment. My room looked very tired and uninspiring, carpet worn and industrial style decor looked jaded.
Bathroom shower was the highlight.
Supposedly setup as a luxury budget hotel. But at this stage of its existence the hotel is not luxurious at all and certainly not budget. Plus their "budget airline billing model" means you get billed in full, nonrefundable the moment you book.
I wouldnt stay here again. Better value from a premier inn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bannorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, General Manager at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hi Gooooze,

Thanks so much for telling us about your recent visit to the Hoxton. We were pleased to read you liked the lobby and our showers!

We are passionate about providing value for money, and that's why we use the airline pricing model (the sooner you book the cheaper it is), and like to throw in a free breakfast bag delivered to your room, free internet, an hour of free phone calls a day and a lobby shop at high street prices!

There are lots of tucked away gems to explore in Shoreditch, and our team would love to help you find them - just drop us a line at info@thehox.com, and we'll help you make the best of your visit.

With thanks,

Timothy and the Hox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really nice hotel, small rooms but very funky and well appointed, one serious problem is that you cannot even have a seat in the LOBBY area at night as the seats are reserved!!!!! I was moved two times on a saturday night when i had invited a friend to meet me at the hotel for a drink even though i was a paying guest!!!! I could not get a seat or a table. You apparently have to RESERVE a table in the LOBBY at night if you want to sit. I also ordered a malibu and coke three times and was given something completly different, eventually a really wonderful, honest waiter told me the bar had RAN OUT OF MALIBU so they just substituted it for something different without telling me!!!!!!!!
When i checked out they were very courtious and did not charge for the drinks, which in my opinion was admirable and very proffesional. I will be back though as the staff are wonderful which makes the hotel a nice place to be. The staff are a credit including the ladies who clean the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niamh7limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hoxton for 2 nights. The place is really nice, cosy and trendy. The lounge with its two fireplaces and its lively atmosphere is a unique place in itself to hang out at night or just to chill out during the day. The rooms are very clean and conveniently arranged. No noise at night despite being in a popular and crowed neighborhood. Add to the mix the proximity with London St Pancras, the friendliness of the staff and the numerous attractions of Shoreditch and you have a great place to stay in this amazing city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yguillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My Boyfriend and I stayed for one night at the start of February. I was a a little worried that the room would be really small but I was happy for the size just for our short stay. We paid £99 for a one night stay which is what we were expecting to pay, it was nice to be able to stay at a hotel that was well designed for that price. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly, the bed was comfy and the room was clean.
Had a wide range of teas, one small carton of fresh milk and two bottles of water. It was a real treat to have fresh milk rather than UHT which is usually put in hotel rooms, tea just doesn't taste the same.
We know London very well and chose to stay at the Hoxton as we were heading out in the evening to the local bars. For those who don't know London so well, Liverpool street Station is about a 15 minute walk and it will take you around 5 minutes to reach Shoreditch High Street Station or Old Street Station.
We ate at the Hotxon Grill, below the hotel in the evening. The restaurant is lively and fairly loud. We had the ribs to share which were really nice. Beware though, there is a 12.5% service charge added to your bill as standard.
Overall we had a great stay with no complaints. The 24 hour reception is a big help, we strolled in around 4.30am on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyPat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed now multiple times at the Hoxton. Most times for Business but also for a weekend on privat occasions.

Why Hoxton?

First of all the Hoxton is located in a very interesting area, which you could describe as the emerging quater of London. A lot of creative businesses have settled down down their followed by a lot of interesting restaurants, bars, boutiques and Hotels like the Hoxton. It is not maybe perfectly central for the first time tourist to London and also maybe not the easiest to reach when flying in over Heathrow, but you will see a different face of London compared to what you see typically on post cards. On the other hand it's not far away from the fnancial district.

The Hoxton is a well equipped and good money for value Hotel compared to other Hotels in London. The rooms are ok sized and are well designed. At my last stay two nights ago I got the chance to sleep in one of their fresh designed rooms, which is the example how the other rooms will be refurbished more or less (see pictures). This will be a good and worthy investment because I believe people will like the new styles - and it will maybe increase my rating for the next time.

Another plus is the Bar and the Restaurant. Regardless of what day, the place is always full to packed. A lot trendy people from the surroundings mixed with tourists and business traveller's find ther a really nice place with good food which reminds you more on a living room. It's a bit like a house party or get together between neighbours.

The personell is very nice and refreshing as they don't try to act like a 5 start superior and so on Hotel, which I personally like. The only thing that I miss is something like a room service or snacks after midnight. Especially when you visit the Hoxton for leasure and you have a night out you wouldn't mind getting a midnight snack. On the other hand you hat lots of fast food, Kebap and so on close by, so nobody will starve.

The food itself is fro ok to good to very good. I find the breakfast is superior to what you get during dinner. Simply because its not the standard breakfast you get at hotels. And if you travel a lot, you even start to find those comprehensive buffets boring. You don't want to pay 30EUR for some eggs and bacon or some cerials. My favorite at the breakfast is the Avocado on sourdough bread and a poached egg.

Room Tip: ask for one of the new design roms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omanolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#75 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#311 of 1,080 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#78 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#296 of 1,080 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#104 of 1,080 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing