We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hip hotel, but still a great night sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (Shoreditch)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Get the Best!
Ranked #102 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hip hotel, but still a great night sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our stay at the Hoxton was great. The restaurant and bar area are jumping at night but once back in your room you wouldn't know it, which is a huge plus for me. I cannot sleep with noise, so I was worried, but it was quiet and comfortable. Our room was on the small side, but so what, we were in London to see people and have a good time, not chill in our hotel room. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,660
    1,196
    170
    48
    33
See reviews for
405
1,939
285
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely loved this place! Classy rooms without being pretentious. Attentive staff without being overbearing. Lovely free breakfast to get us up and out. Stay here!
apparently reviews need to be 200 characters so am padding this out with nonsense

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elbiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hoxton is just great. Smallish room but comfy bed, fab shower and great little brekkie-in-a-bag. The staff were all super-friendly and helpful and we had a really fun evening downstairs in The Hoxton Grill. Great area too - Brick Lane, Spittalfields all within easy walking distance. Would totally go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Am from London but have lived abroad for some time. I came back with my fiance this christmas and NY and we stayed here. It was FAB. Close to everything, clean, funky, spotless rooms. Yes they are small, but not too small. I live in Hong Kong so the rooms were more than ample! The restaurant downstairs is good and a great place to have a brunch before you depart.

My only quibble was the TV signal was shady and there was quite a bit of noise from the cleaners banging around the corridor, which was annoying on our first day as we had jetlag and were trying to sleep a bit.

Room Tip: Sit by the fire at night or on a Sunday with the papers. Walk to Spitalfields Market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really good Boutique Hotel for a weekend break. Rooms nicely sized for London and confortable. Prices good and a very trendy feel from both the hotel, restaurant and bar. Be warned that on Friday night it's very busy here but it suits the hotel atmosphere.
5 minutes from Old Street tube or 15 from Liverpool street by foot so easy to get access to the rest of London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hoxton is everything a great Hotel should be! From the moment I walked in to the welcoming bustling lobby I was in love. The reception staff was lovely, very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is fabulous as is the service and the atmosphere. The room, stocked with all the bottled water you can drink, is perfect. I've stayed in hotels around the world and this is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I always stay at the Hoxton when in London...that's normally 2-3x a year for at least 4 days. My ongoing issues:
- no toilet brushes. how am I mean to clean the 'debris' that's not being flushed?
- WiFi in the room was horrible.
- a very limited beer selection in the bar. seriously guys, for a London hotel to have such a poor choice of beers?
- no heater in the rooms, especially this time when I was there Jan 17-24.

Overall I have no qualms, but fix these things and my stay will be perfect.

Room Tip: stay on the higher floors because of the loud music some nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Global_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#60 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#293 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#241 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing