We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #94 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Absolutely loved this place! Classy rooms without being pretentious. Attentive staff without being overbearing. Lovely free breakfast to get us up and out. Stay here!
apparently reviews need to be 200 characters so am padding this out with nonsense

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elbiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,076 - 2,082 of 4,687 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hoxton is just great. Smallish room but comfy bed, fab shower and great little brekkie-in-a-bag. The staff were all super-friendly and helpful and we had a really fun evening downstairs in The Hoxton Grill. Great area too - Brick Lane, Spittalfields all within easy walking distance. Would totally go again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Am from London but have lived abroad for some time. I came back with my fiance this christmas and NY and we stayed here. It was FAB. Close to everything, clean, funky, spotless rooms. Yes they are small, but not too small. I live in Hong Kong so the rooms were more than ample! The restaurant downstairs is good and a great place to have a brunch before you depart.

My only quibble was the TV signal was shady and there was quite a bit of noise from the cleaners banging around the corridor, which was annoying on our first day as we had jetlag and were trying to sleep a bit.

Room Tip: Sit by the fire at night or on a Sunday with the papers. Walk to Spitalfields Market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramareed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really good Boutique Hotel for a weekend break. Rooms nicely sized for London and confortable. Prices good and a very trendy feel from both the hotel, restaurant and bar. Be warned that on Friday night it's very busy here but it suits the hotel atmosphere.
5 minutes from Old Street tube or 15 from Liverpool street by foot so easy to get access to the rest of London.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hoxton is everything a great Hotel should be! From the moment I walked in to the welcoming bustling lobby I was in love. The reception staff was lovely, very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is fabulous as is the service and the atmosphere. The room, stocked with all the bottled water you can drink, is perfect. I've stayed in hotels around the world and this is one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I always stay at the Hoxton when in London...that's normally 2-3x a year for at least 4 days. My ongoing issues:
- no toilet brushes. how am I mean to clean the 'debris' that's not being flushed?
- WiFi in the room was horrible.
- a very limited beer selection in the bar. seriously guys, for a London hotel to have such a poor choice of beers?
- no heater in the rooms, especially this time when I was there Jan 17-24.

Overall I have no qualms, but fix these things and my stay will be perfect.

Room Tip: stay on the higher floors because of the loud music some nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Global_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for a night at the Hoxton between Christmas and New Year’s. Overall, it’s good value for London, and we didn’t have any specific problems. The rooms, though, are basic and fairly small. I got the impression they’re all very similar. Our room had a decently-sized bathroom with a good shower (but no tub). It had a smallish double bed and desk and sofa. Décor is modern, and there was some stencil art on the wall, but what really bugged me was that the wall was covered in scuff marks and banged up. If you’re going to do wall art, the wall needs to be clean. We were in the back of the hotel on the second floor, which was quiet enough. If you were on the first floor, I think there would be considerable noise from the lounge below, and the front side might hear street noise and local clubs on any floor. If you’re a light sleeper, I’d ask for a high floor at the back. We had a drink in the lounge, which is fun and usually very busy with guests and locals. The hotel also offers a good breakfast set up where you put a bag outside your room, and they fill it with a banana, yogurt, and juice in the morning. It’s included, and we appreciated the healthy start. The location is right for those looking for something different and trendy or to go out in the evenings, but you’ll be taking the bus or the tube if you’re heading to the usual tourist sites. Very close to Spitalfields Market and some great restaurants. Beware the unreliable Bank branch of the Northern line. If it’s down while you’re there, you’ll be taking the bus a lot or walking further afield to Liverpool St or Shoreditch High St. All in all, this hotel was fine, and if you’re looking for a good value, it’s a good choice. If you’re after something more luxurious, you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors in the back are the quietest. Avoid the bottom floor, especially on weekends w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, General Manager at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Hi tholmes,

We are delighted you liked our free breakfast bag, design and elements of our location. Thanks so much for your comments regarding the stencilled wall in your room. We have built some designer concept rooms with a view to rolling out a new design soon. Check out the choices on our website, and let us know which one you'd like to try next - we'd love to hear your comments.

Again, thanks, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Timothy and the Hox Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#63 of 1,076 in London
1,642 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#383 of 1,076 in London
1,057 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#141 of 1,076 in London
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#156 of 1,076 in London
428 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#299 of 1,076 in London
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $165 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, HRS, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing