We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice style, shame about the details” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #103 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Moulsford on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice style, shame about the details”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the second stay I have had in this hotel, and this time was for 3 nights. The reception and rooms are impressive, in a basic manner. However if it is going to be basic, everything should work well, and it didn't. We had issue with the Internet, showers, and the service is only ok.
Not worth the money

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, General Manager at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi Stevo9999,

Thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. We were pleased you liked the lobby and rooms, however at the Hox, details really matter to us. Really great service from our team, superfast internet and amazing rain showers are what we do every day! We are sorry you were dealt a dud hand on this occasion. May I ask that you drop me a line at Timothy@thehox.com, as we'd love to have the opportunity to show you how it should be done?

With thanks,

Timothy and the Hox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,721
    1,226
    174
    52
    33
See reviews for
408
1,995
291
696
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small cosy rooms, excellent lounge, very friendly staff. At first seemed a bit far away, but quite easy to get to. Dont expect a traditional london hotel! This is a different concept. Eat, drink, hang out in the lounge which gets as crowded as a popular pub in the late afternoon.

Room Tip: Look out for deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tipini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of shoreditch. Very close to Old Street tune and a 10 min walk to the city. Rooms were clean and relatively quiet and the foyer was v shoreditch chic with a great restaurant and very friendly staff. Would recommend it and will be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gpeterkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Second visit and again a relaxed friendly comfortable experience.
Cannot say anything negative and do not want to.
Convenient,friendly,clean and with an ambience that means we will be back!
Have tickets for the Barbican in March and will be looking to book for the night as it is so easy from there.
Thanks and well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have stayed in various London ,both on business and pleasure, and cannot reccommend the Hoxton highly enouigh. Affordability and quality are two things which dont often go hand in hand in London but the Hoxton scores on both counts. The room was larger than a great many London hotels, comfortable bed and the shower excellent. Theres an attention to detail with things such as the toiletries and complimentary breakfast, free milk and water you just dont get in other London hotels. Staff at reception and in restaurant/bar super friendly and helpful. The bar area was rocking on the Saturday night I stayed but I had requested a 5th floor room well away from any noise; and didnt hear a thing. My room also had a fantastic view over the City skyline. Will definitely use the Hoxton again. .

Room Tip: Higher floors to the rear come with a great view of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is convienently placed next to Old Streed tube station, access to all parts of London is therefore very staigthforward. The neighbourhood is great at night : gazillions of pubs and trendy clubs.

The fundamental concept of this hotel seems to provide simple but impeccable service :
- rooms are small but finely decorated, well equipped, very comfortable, and of course spotless. Everything is working flawlessly.
- beds are queen size only, but pillows and matresses are extremely confortable.
- phonic insulation is excellent
- bathroom with shower only, but spotless, large mirrors, effective shower doors, ... and good water pressure,which from my experience seems to be quite rare in England !
- an array of additional services is provided for free or at a very moderate price : 1h of telephone calls is included in the price, you can buy a plug adaptator for £1, a flash usb drive for 4£, free mineral water in the room, free milk, simple but excellent breakfast (granola yoghurt + orange juice + banana instead of the usual greasy and cold scambled eggs or precooked croissants) etc...
- the hoxton provides a set of computers for customers, instead of dated and agonizingly slow PCs as in most hotels, you'll get brand new iMacs, some of them 27' wide with a fast DSL connection.

A special note should go to the hotel restaurant : excellent food, wine and service. It seems to be a popular destination in the neighbourhood.

The next time I travel to London, I won't hesitate a second about wich hotel I should go to :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mounzer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently stayed at The Hoxton for 3 nights and can't say enough about what a great experience. For it's location, Shoreditch, it's incredible value for money. Everything you need. Great service. Friendly helpful staff. Rooms were very clean, smart and we loved the rainforest shower in the bathroom. The reception area got very busy at the weekend evenings but actually loved it. Such a great atmosphere. Will definitely staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane_Pinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#70 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#295 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#252 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing