We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very well thought out but felt like a trendy,luxury jail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #103 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very well thought out but felt like a trendy,luxury jail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here overnight while on business in London. Greatly impressed by the attention to detail shown here-they really have thought about the small things which taken together make for an excellent stay. Things like the mini guide to Shoreditch in the room, the breakfast bag included in the price and delivered to the room door, good coffee with milk and also bottled water in the room at no extra charge, a cash machine and mini shop in the lobby and a bathroom with an excellent monsoon shower. The hotel is designed to a high hip and trendy standard. This works really well in the lobby which is a wide but comfortable space with an open fire and comfy chairs. The bar is here and is a fine place to have a drink (I have reviewed the restaurant separately). I have also used the meeting rooms at the back before and these are among the best I have used in a hotel. However, upstairs, the design themes work slightly less well for my taste. The corridors have a mocked up metal bulkhead effect and my room was quite dark and spartan with a view out only to the internal atrium and no space in which to relax other than on the bed. I just felt more conscious than usual that I was in one of many identical rooms stacked on top of each other with a feel like a very smart, clean and comfortable jail. That said, my night was comfortable and the place impeccably clean. The location is good for the City, 10 minutes walk from the top end of Bishopsgate and given that and the overall attention to detail I will stay here again for sure. I am not sure that I would stay here for more than a night or two though given they way I felt about the room.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the outside world
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,715
    1,225
    174
    52
    33
See reviews for
408
1,991
291
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is simply the best hotel for a really great price. My absolute favourite stay in London. The service is excellent and the rooms are spotless. A really convenient and comfortable stay with really nice touches, good ethos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlover3422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here midweek in early January for a night out in London. It was wonderful - great room, lovely and clean, really nice bathroom, breakfast bags a great idea. In short tremendous attention to detail. The views from the room (5th floor at the back) over towards the Shard were also great. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the lobby, bar and restaurant area downstairs is fantastic. We will definitely look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing towards the Shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidaymaker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very cool hotel, very hip, trendy. My hubby & I were away on a break from the kids. Loved the lobby/foyer area & would have loved to get an armchair by the fireplace in the evening to chill out with a glass of wine. But fri & sat nights - not possible - very busy spot. Would recommend for people looking for good night life/party scene. Having said that we couldn't hear any noise/music in our room on the 4th floor. Staff were lovely. Nice touches - free light brekkie, guardian paper....10 mins from Spitalfields markets and a few cool pubs near by. i'd come back again for sure

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahine1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Have stayed here 4 or 5 times now. Excellent value and a really well thought out hotel. Rooms are small, but very well designed. The room rate includes loads of useful extras that many hotels don't even think about or charge for such as fresh milk, bottled water, free wifi (easy to use, no codes etc.). The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Stylish and busy bar & grill on the ground floor as well as lots of good places to eat nearby. Just a short walk to Old Street tube station, making it a good place to stop over even if you don't plan to stay in the east end.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Location is very practical (just some 400m form Old Street Underground station), rooms are no nonsense good: everything you need and no unnecessary extras. Service is very warm and even personal. You want some negative comments: they're hard to find but: the entrance/reception area is a very popular bar/restaurant/meeting place and can be very noisy. And if you have a room that looks out on the inner court: smokers can make some noise there in the late evening. We already staid here 3 times and highly recommend the hotel

Room Tip: rooms looking out on the inner court have some noise from smokers in the late evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvoFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I like staying here. It’s a Hoxton hero. The location is perfect if you need to be in East London. The rooms are a little small but in good shape (the beds could be bigger). The service and restaurant is second to none and the hotel has a nice vibe. It’s excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#295 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#256 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing