We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (Shoreditch)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Get the Best!
Ranked #102 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I don't often stay in London hotels as I live here but thought this place was brilliant, beats the sterile feel of so many other chains. The room was cosy, pretty trendy and upon entering the room we spent our first few minutes checking out all its impressive little quirks! The 'Congratulations' balloons in our room was also a nice touch seeing that it was our wedding night.

Location is great, tons of places to eat and drink around the corner but you could easily spend the evening in the lobby with the big pile rugs and comfy armchairs by the fireplace.

Overall I loved it and would definitely recommend/stay there again if I need a change of scenery.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sher77f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,659
    1,195
    170
    48
    33
See reviews for
405
1,938
285
674
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner and 7 year old daughter. I was slightly worried about the space in the room with an extra bed in, but the room we had was big enough for the extra bed and still plenty of room left. The hotel itself is amazing. Very trendy, great location, just a 5 minute walk from Old Street tube Station. The room was great, and the small things really matter. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom, excellent tea and coffee, fresh milk and a fridge which was really handy. Also a safe in the room which was really handy. We stayed on New Years Eve and although there was a party on in the bar, there wasnt too much noise and we still slept really easily. I will definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. I think i would also go out on a limb and say this is the best hotel i have ever stayed in! Thank you Hoxton!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great friendly hotel where you don't feel that your every move is charged extortionately. We stayed for a couple of nights with two children under 3 and though the room wasn't huge, it was light, well kept, clean and quiet enough for us to be able to relax (no small thing, in London at its price). The hotel provided an extra bed and travel cot at no extra charge. The restaurant was child friendly with a special menu and the staff both there and in the hotel were all helpful. There's a ping pong table for bigger kids. Location is great for both local and central London/city sightseeing but the nearest tube station (Old Street) was closed throughout our stay for engineering works. The reception bar area was a good place to sit both with the kids and friends. Overall, a very positive experience after a number of average stays in worse hotels for more money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonidas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent hotel, lively, friendly and clean. Staff we're helpful and nothing too much trouble. We had a designer room, would recommend these rooms. Family stayed in other rooms and one smelt very musty? However overall, excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for designer rooms, beds very comfortable and showers are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Besides of being very arty and hip, the hotel is also very conveniently located, clean, with a great staff and excellent food. “Lite” breakfast is actually quite substantial and nutritious. I have stayed at the hotel twice already and definitely coming back. This is my place in London!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very good hotel. Young and friendly. Good spot to visit East London and the centre.
Nice breakfast in the room. Kettle with teas and coffe in the room. nice restaurant and bar on the ground floor.
Tube station very close.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ema531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hoxton was a great surprise and especially for the price. I found the Hoxton by chance when I opened my Lonely Planet guide to the page for accommodations in East London. It described it as the best value for what it is and I concur. GREAT part of town if you like things a little less touristy but still vibrant and interesting (a lot of great street art illustrates the streets); the staff is super nice and friendly and the rooms are great...a nice size and the decor is hip but also cozy. The shower was one of the best I've experienced anywhere. Also the rooms are really quiet so even though I fell asleep early on New Year's Eve, and there was a raging party downstairs at the bar...I heard nothing of it. The only slight bummer was in my room on the 6th floor I couldn't access the wifi (which is free). My first visit I stayed on the 4th floor and the wifi was fine. There are several computers on the ground floor available for free use so it wasn't a big deal.
I am trying to figure out a reason to come back to the UK so I can stay at the Hoxton again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#60 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#293 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#241 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TravelClick, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing