We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“London City Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #104 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“London City Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel on and off for the past 4 years. Great service, food and bar scene, never fails to hit the spot.
Reminiscent to many of the smaller trendy NY hotels in terms of look and feel. The Hoxton has a nice “Cool Britannia”
edge to it.

Steaks are a must in the grill. The bar is very good and spills over to the main lounge area most evenings I have stayed.

The rooms are small and of a similar size to many “business hotels” in London, but very clean and practical.
Recommend it to anyone staying in the city that’s prefers a “bit of life”.

Room Tip: Try the "bunk room" on the 6th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,776
    1,258
    180
    54
    33
See reviews for
420
2,033
296
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just to keep it short: The Hoxton is modern, but payable. Located close to Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate Station, you can get easily to all major attractions in London. A small breakfast is included and can be brought up to the room (Banana, Orange Juice, Yoghurt) or you can have a normal breakfast downstairs for an extra charge. A restaurant is in the hotel, but havent used it. The rooms are clean and equipped with all you need. Even the bathroom is for British conditions very clean. The room size is smaller than usual, but why would you spend so much time in the hotel anyways. The people at reception are all nice, friendly and professional.

Only back point is parking. There are a few spaces at the back of the hotel and everything around has to be paid for which isnt cheap. Best to come with public transport to Liverpool Station (Bus directly from London Stansted Airport) and walk 10min.

I would go again and again.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view over London!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stay here as often as we can; although we are mid 50s the energy of the hotel is infectious and the staff always great. Super shower; great little extras and best value in London. Nearby City beverage has great wines to take away; hotel breakfast is great but also try ALBION: just over 5 mins on foot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurneyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

this is my second time in London and second time at the Hoxton. it is the best choice.. friendly staff, cool lounge bar, clean and modern room and 5 min walk from Old street tube. all at good price for London !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Having paid £160 for a one night stay, believe me my expectations were high and I was not disappointed! The service we experienced was excellent from everyone we encountered. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very welcome. I was particularly impressed with Dyon on reception who upgraded our friends room for her birthday and personally took champagne to her room as a birthday treat.

The whole place has a cool retro vibe and the bar was buzzing at night! The room amenities and the breakfast bags were a nice touch and the power shower was fab!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return! #HoxtonRocks

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NarleyHoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hi NarleyHoolio,

Thanks so much telling us about your recent stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and liked the vibe, room and free breakfast bag! We're delighted you met Dyon - we are so proud to have such great people as part of our team!

With thanks,

Timothy and the Hox Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed in the Hoxton before, really loved it and reviewed it here. But this time I was staying nearby and brought the family round to try out the food - we weren't disappointed.

Unlike many hotels, the main public area is always buzzing and the restaurant is part of this atmosphere instead of being cut off from it. Sunday night, very busy but no problem getting a table and really good food. Being Irish, I find Guinness so often disappointing in heathen England - but here (on tap) it was really good. When the manager came round to check up and I commented on this, he got me a further pint on the house. Now that's service - and no I wasn't angling for this either.

The 3 girls with me loved the food and even managed to bother the desert menu - another good sign.

I still really like this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Windsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hoxton in July and had a wonderful four days. From the cheerful team at the reception, to the daily breakfast delivery, the cool rooms and the strong showers. And the grill downstairs does an excellent dinner, among a cool club like atmosphere. Definitely the best value experience in London!

Room Tip: Get the ones facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank confucius73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#75 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#321 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#287 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#102 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing