We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hoxton delivers consistently”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #106 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“The Hoxton delivers consistently”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my 6th or 7th stay at The Hoxton while in London on business. The hotel keeps delivering great value to me. The staff at the front desk are excellent and several have been around for years. The room is great, service in the restaurant and in the bar/lounge area are very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,948
    1,342
    198
    55
    35
See reviews for
454
2,145
308
784
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The reviews are overwhelmingly positive so I accept I am in a minority here. But, here's a slightly alternative view of the "Hox".

Location - it's in a really cool area but not the best if it's a location for visiting the rest of London. The nearest tube is Old Street which has difficult connections.

Lobby, bar etc - great vibe. The place attracts a youthful cool clientele and is buzzing.

Staff - couldn't be more helpful

Rooms - OMG, take a torch and some slippers. Dark in an East End dimly lit "cool" kind of way. So dark I couldn't find the minibar! No carpet- just concrete. Carpets are obviously uncool in Hoxton. The decoration consisted of murals of bicycles and a huge reminder of the room number. I like design but this room was not a comfortable area to hang around in ( at least for me, sorry)

Cost- The Hoxton makes a big deal about being a trendy boutique hotel with fair pricing "low cost, high quality". I paid £219 with no breakfast (and no carpet). That's not cheap

Just personal opinion and I realise that I am saying the opposite of everyone else. But, hey, just telling it like it was!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonArundel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi LondonArundel,

Thanks for your view! We are so pleased you liked the buzz at the Hox, our location and our lovely staff. We are so pleased to have such great people working with us!

We have been busy building five designer concept rooms, with a view to choosing one design to use throughout the hotel. The feedback you have provided on one of those rooms has helped us make some changes to that particular scheme. Please let me know at timothy@thehox.com when you are next in town and we would love to show you what we have done. We hope you like it.

Again, thanks so much for your feedback,

Timothy and the Hoxton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Although the lounge and bar meet most people's expectations of a trendy boutique hotel, the rooms are a big let-down. I expect to find soft warm carpet in my hotel room, not bare concrete flooring! The wall decor is rather up its own uber as well. A classic example of fashion over substance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi sussexblogger ,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Hoxton. We asked five renowned designers to each create what they believe is the Hoxton bedroom of the future. You experienced one of these rooms, and your feedback is most appreciated. With your comments we are able to not only choose the right designer, but also refine the design to such a degree you want to move in!

Please drop me a line at timothy@thehox.com, as we'd love to welcome you back and hear your thoughts the other designer concept rooms.
With thanks,

Timothy and the Hoxton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recent 3 day mini break to London Town using The Hoxton as our base. Modern well maintained hotel that has lovely quiet ambience for business or personal traveller that greets you as you walk through the main entrance. We liked the exposed brickwork together with the relaxing plush chairs and leather sofa with the open fireplaces either side of the lounge area made for cosy or formal atmosphere. Great modern decor as wall coverings throughout with light and airy bedrooms, well catered for with tea/coffee/milk & water. Loved the light breakfast in a bag! Ate twice at the Hoxton Grill, again very comfortable seating area serving delicious food. Reception staff and waiters all very welcoming. Great Hotel made for our Great Trip!

Room Tip: Rooms on fifth floor and above have views over the roof tops of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynford35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Über trendy hotel, jam-packed bar and restaurant even on a Wednesday night. Room size was fine by London standards and the bed and pillows were really comfy - plus the room temperature was great and there was no noise, a much better experience than some London hotels I have stayed in. The free mineral water and fresh milk was a good touch and I really appreciated the free breakfast bag as I had a early start in the morning. The free wi-if would have been great but it wasn't available because of technical issues - was a bit inconvenient but the staff did repeat several times the option to use the hotel computers or meeting rooms where wi-fi was available.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mumof2yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Service was second to none, atmosphere was amazing (that open fire!), room service was some of the best I have had. Photo booth in the lobby is a cute touch, wifi was hassle free, the Pret brekkie is a cute idea but for more filling fare I recommend The Breakfast Club a 10 min walk away. Room services food was great (from the grill), TV was a bit iffy (colour kept changing) but all is dwarfed by that shower, it was like walking through a tropical downpour!

We loved it.

Room Tip: Request the rear of the hotel, 4th floor or above, you get a view of the Shard and it's quiet as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozon, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoy staying at The Hoxton and do so every time we visit London. The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. The rooms are very comfortable without being excessively cluttered and the breakfast in a bag is ideal for those who want to make an early start. The Grill serves excellent food, reasonably priced and the service is really good. So why no "five blobs"? Since our last visit in 2011, some of the facilities seem to be no longer available - fewer TV channels for start, no "in room" internet using the TV which is useful for us oldies who don't want to lug around a laptop, and the in-room beverages seem to require restocking - I don't like peppermint tea! OK! the last hitch was remedied very promptly but why not have a choice there waiting for you?
We want to be sure that good service and facilities are in place for our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Redford99,

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry we didn't earn 'five blobs' this time, however wanted to write to let you know you still get all of the extras you have come to expect from the Hox.

We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring you have everything you need to enjoy a 'five blob' stay!

With thanks,
Timothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,068 in London
1,528 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#132 of 1,068 in London
420 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#343 of 1,068 in London
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#135 of 1,068 in London
348 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#320 of 1,068 in London
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing