We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, my new place to stay in London...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #113 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, my new place to stay in London...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Service was second to none, atmosphere was amazing (that open fire!), room service was some of the best I have had. Photo booth in the lobby is a cute touch, wifi was hassle free, the Pret brekkie is a cute idea but for more filling fare I recommend The Breakfast Club a 10 min walk away. Room services food was great (from the grill), TV was a bit iffy (colour kept changing) but all is dwarfed by that shower, it was like walking through a tropical downpour!

We loved it.

Room Tip: Request the rear of the hotel, 4th floor or above, you get a view of the Shard and it's quiet as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,839
    1,300
    187
    55
    34
See reviews for
429
2,085
302
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crozon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoy staying at The Hoxton and do so every time we visit London. The staff are very helpful and go out of their way to ensure that you have a pleasant stay. The rooms are very comfortable without being excessively cluttered and the breakfast in a bag is ideal for those who want to make an early start. The Grill serves excellent food, reasonably priced and the service is really good. So why no "five blobs"? Since our last visit in 2011, some of the facilities seem to be no longer available - fewer TV channels for start, no "in room" internet using the TV which is useful for us oldies who don't want to lug around a laptop, and the in-room beverages seem to require restocking - I don't like peppermint tea! OK! the last hitch was remedied very promptly but why not have a choice there waiting for you?
We want to be sure that good service and facilities are in place for our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redford99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi Redford99,

We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry we didn't earn 'five blobs' this time, however wanted to write to let you know you still get all of the extras you have come to expect from the Hox.

We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring you have everything you need to enjoy a 'five blob' stay!

With thanks,
Timothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a cool hotel with very friendly staff and a nice bar with music at weekends. Beds are a bit too small and rooms are not spacious either.. but overall it is a very good hotel in a great location

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReDeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

You never really know what you are getting when you book one of the many "Im so cool" hotels. The Hoxton hotel is just ok and I would probably recommend it if the price is right! First of all the location is great right near Old St tube and a short walk from Liverpool Street. There are loads of restaurants, bars, markets and trendy shops in the area. The lobby in the hotel great and a nice place to sit. The grill is also a great place for a drink and to unwind. The rooms were disappointing very small and very basic. The bathroom was not up to standard. The shower had two options the hose and the outdated "rainforest shower." I hose shower would not extend above my head and im only 6ft. Plus the bathroom would flood with every shower.

Overall the hotel is nice and clean and if you can get it at the right price then its pretty good, but im sure there are better "wanna be cool" hotels out there and I will check those out before coming back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimothyGriffin, Director of Operations at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hi superpang,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write and let us know your feedback - we really appreciate your comments. We wanted to let you know that we are certainly a design-lead hotel, however what is more important for us is our guests feel at home, so much so they want to move in!
We have just launched some specially designed rooms by three prominent designers and would love your feedback. Do drop me a line at Timothy@thehox.com to learn more.
Again, with thanks,

Timothy and the Hoxton Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Hoxton is situated in the fantastically cool area of Shoreditch. The staff are professional, friendly and dare I say slightly quirky? The decor is superb throughout from the funky bar, leather sofas, restaurant, bare brick walls and amazing art work. Loved the Pret a Manger breakfast consisting of orange juice, a banana and a granola yoghurt pot which was waiting outside the room before we awoke although you can get a cooked breakfast too. The addition of a fridge in the room with water and 'fresh' milk in was thoughtful as were the large array of aromatic teas and variety of coffees on offer. If you're technologically minded, you'll never leave the hotel, wi-fi is everywhere and the rooms have more sockets and widgets in than you can shake a stick at. We stayed in an amazing room with a huge bed surrounded by three walls. It was so immense we could hardly decide which way around to lie. Loved the graffiti on the walls and the graffiti handcuffs on the floor! Bathroom was gorgeous too, well lit, immaculate and luxurious. Didn't get the chance to eat in The Grill but the surrounding area has more than its fair share of fabulous eateries. Vibrant area with hotel to match - we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendles_522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We got a reasonable price for a twin room and enjoyed our stay. The hotel has everything you need including a little breakfast in a bag on the door handle in the morning. Loved the signs around the place! We also had dinner on the Sunday at a place on the corner (can't remember the name) and it was the best roast beef dinner I have ever had!

Room Tip: We didnt have any trouble with noise - nice staff - ask if you are bothered by noise and need a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We always stay here it's such a good place to be, friendly staff and rooms minimal and trendy. Spittalfields Market about 15 minutes walk great at weekends very vintage! Also Brick Lane with restaurants to everyone's taste.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lochnagar1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#71 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#325 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#295 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing