We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #108 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times over the years, although a stay last weekend reminded me to review it. I've always loved staying in this hotel and find it great value.

The location is great for pubs, restaurants etc with every type of cuisine catered for. The hotel room contains a handy map / guide for the local area which has some great recommendations. It's the small things like this that I like about the hotel. Other examples are free wi-fi throughout the hotel (so many large chain hotels continue to charge for this), free use of a room safe, the room service prices are the same as the bar prices (around £3.90 a pint for room service which for a hotel in London is amazing!), a bottle opener is provided in the room if you want to buy your own wine, plus the min bar is empty to allow it to be used as your own fridge - the hotel encourages this, which makes a welcome change from a mini bar full of items charged at extortionate prices.

The bar and restaurant are also worth a visit and there is a great atmosphere, particularly at the weekends. The bar is also a great place to chill out in during the day, with a beer or coffee. They also provide free Guardian newspapers and free use of iMacs in the reception area.

As others have mentioned, your breakfast is form Prêt and consists of a muesli / yoghurt pot, a banana and an orange juice. All very nice. The coffee in your room is also a good standard and they provide you with fresh milk in your min bar for this - much better than the usual long life milk other hotels provide you with. Hotel staff are always very friendly.

I look forward to staying in this hotel during my next visit to London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DL_1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,900
    1,325
    192
    55
    34
See reviews for
444
2,119
305
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

London is one of our most loved destinations all around! Not only due to it's proximity, and despite it's rain-track-record, it's a wonderful, colorful, exciting city! But you all know this, or you would not be checking out this hotel here.

The Hoxton is a beautiful, trendy hotel. Not far from Old Street underground station, plenty of restaurants and bars around, not city centered, but you're always close to everything when on the Tube!

We had a smooth check in proces. The lobby looks good. There's a corner with iMacs, a room with ping-pong tables, a nice looking restaurant. Here's the base of our main problem with this hotel during our stay. Every evening (friday - saturday) there's a big party in the restaurant and lobby area. Lively, definitely, but oh boy, what a "pain" when you want to sleep!

The room was small, but everything was there. Just spacey enough to put everything down and away. Nice, clean bathroom, soap to take home, great shower. Good bed.

Back to The Noise. We went to bed around 11pm. Unfortunately the patio was still used, and people talk. It was so bad, that we could understand words people were speaking to each other. A second origin happened to be on the ground floor level, under our room, were a private party was being held. Chairs moving around and general clutter of moving things on tables, cleaning up, the latter night and morning too. A third came from hall-noises, doors slamming and people talking.

Obviously we complained about all this several times. We could have changed rooms, but after the first night we were promised there would not be another party downstairs, so we choose to stay, without the hassle of moving everything around. But then came saturday... It's only logical when you're having a good time, that every night seems to short. It was patio-noise-night. To us, it's a hotel's obligation, to ensure a good nights sleep. It's supposed to be a core business for a hotel one would think. For this hotel class, and prize class, it was just not good enough.

Well, we lived to tell..., but at that time it was pretty d..n frustrating...

Concluding I can say that you should try to avoid any room with a window facing the patio. We learned that these windows are still waiting for a noise-canceling-treatment, something the windows facing the streets have had already.

You can imagine we will not be going back to The Hoxton due to our experience.

Room Tip: Don't take a room facing the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timeisatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed at the Hoxton at the weekend for pleasure. Perfectly located for all the attractions of of the area, Brick Lane Market, Hoxton/Shoreditch bars and clubs.

Trendy hotel, wonderful grill resturant, open plan wareshouse style, fantansic bar, open till 2am on saturday. Great service and friendly reception staff.

Bad points.....no parking, although available nearby, my room was lovely but small, no bath only shower, can get a bit noisy at night, but that is to be expected in Hocton, and its why many of the people are there!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITLady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I would uncondtionally recommend this hotel. Great staff, location, ambience, wonderful, comfortable lounge-lobby. you can walk anywhere. There is a marvelous restaurant, Eyre Bros. just a few blocks awsy serving Iberian food that you must try.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollyne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The best hotel in London.... Top location - not so many turists, great food and shops and markeds nearby, top rooms - with funny things written on everything:-) and everything you need in at room, top atmosphere - restaurant with very good food and wine, party atmosphere in the afternoon and evening in a very casual way. Not my last stay at this hotel!!! Thank you very much HOX:-))).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for the weekend. It was beautifully designed to cater for everything you need - loved how it all worked as it should. And at a very affordable price. Near Brick Lane and Spitalfields so lots of places to walk to locally.Can't fault much at all but we did need to ask for sugar and milk when this was forgotten by the room cleaners. I would like to have a little bottle of conditioner provided - why do hotels never do that? We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandyboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I've wanted to stay at the Hoxton for such a long time - so when we needed to book a one night stop over before a trip to Paris, I knew this would be the place to try!

We arrived pretty late and were feeling tired, but we were greeted by such a friendly member of staff that sorted us out with our reservation in no time at all. He was fun, friendly and personable, and I knew immediately that we would love this hotel!

Once we were talked through where we could find everything in our room, we headed up to it to freshen up before dinner. Industrial and design led is how I would describe the decor - very cool.

The room was ideal for a short stay - reasonably sized with a great bathroom and a comfy bed. Particularly liked the breakfast bag that they offer included in the price of the room - perfect for people like us who were up and out at the crack of dawn!

One tip for anyone thinking of going - do book into their restaurant and/or sample a cocktail or too - the food and drinks were delicious, and the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant was electric!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_kates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#330 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#307 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing