We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Ranked #572 of 1,088 Hotels in London
whitby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It certainly doesn't look like the promo pictures. All in need of a lick of paint as a bit tired. But not bad. Clean and in a great location. An easy walk to upper street and Islington from here. oK value for money. Could do worse but not amazing for quality or value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurawhitbyseafoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Laura,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about

Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    54
    26
    7
See reviews for
136
44
5
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place. Fully recommended!

Greeted with a smile upon arrival.

Studio apartment is very spacious and has a fully equipped kitchenette.

kngsize bed is very comfy. Large flat screen TV perfectly placed.

Stayed in lots of places in London and for the price this is fantastic value.

Well done Ascott serviced apartments

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFT7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear JFT7,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a slightly strange review for me to write, as my stay here was due to being relocated by my insurance company whilst building work was being carried out to my home less than a mile away.
As I live close by and this was my first stay in a serviced apartment in London I have little to compare it to.
What I would say though is that the staff here were excellent and I would certainly consider this a better option than a hotel room for a medium term stay, presuming a similar price point.
I didn't see my bill so can't comment further on value for money
The apartment itself was spacious and well equipped though some of the fittings and equipment were a little basic.
The welcome pack was enough to get me through the first day or so but no more.
Wifi was included and was strong and quick.
Others have mentioned the long walk from reception and as my apartment was on the top floor at the farthest corner of the building this was certainly the case, though this had the advantage that it was a quiet part of the building.
Overall then I had a comfortable stay and no significant complaints.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear SuperTrev,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Apartment was very spacious and comfortable. All appliances operated well, including the spacious strongbox (safe).

Angel tube stop is less than 10 minute's walk. Bus stop (west bound on City Road) is about 50 meters from the entrance. Was not happy with the extra 60£ per day service fee.

Room Tip: It can be a long walk to your room, and some apartments are in an attached building where a short fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CapinDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear CapinDFW,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

St. Marks was a little more expensive than other comparable places we've stayed in London - but in terms of location and what you get for your money, it really is worth it.

The apartments are located in Islington which turned out to be my favourite part of London by far. St. Mark's is about a 3 minute walk to Angel tube station, which is surrounded by restaurants and little boutique shops.

The two bedroom apartment we stayed in was beautiful. Very clean, very spacious with a kitchen, two bathrooms and a large living area. The room also had a washing machine and dryer.

The front desk is manned until quite late at night - we never arrived home after a night out with nobody to welcome us, so I imagine late check-ins wouldn't be a problem. The apartment complex is also situated opposite both a mini-mart and an internet cafe which was especially handy.

One thing to consider is that the rooms aren't serviced while you are there - or at least this was the case when we stayed for our 7 days. This may be a service available at an extra charge.

I'd definitely stay here again, and I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Chris,,

Thank you for posting a glowing review of your stay with us at Citadines St Marks Islington.

We are delighted that our apartment met your expectations and we would like to thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in providing high standard apartments and our outmost aim is to have happy guests.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the facilities that we offer and look forward to offering you a warm welcome on your next visit to London.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Nothing much of the luxury apartments here. Old Victorian style, needs renovation, tired bedlinen and towels. Extremely noisy with road vehicle noise, no double glazing, no curtains, broken blinds, shower over bath.....

Room Tip: View the room first, don't pick one close to City Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Jim L,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I are staying here as temporary housing while looking for a permanent residency (we are relocating to London from the US) for the next several weeks. And while, yes, the staff are very polite and accommodating, there are some serious issues with the building itself. For example, within my first week the dryer was clogged and could not dry clothes, ergo the maintenance attendant had to be sent up; the hot water stopped working, ergo the maintenance attendant had to be sent up; there were no instructions for the oven and--as our welcome book suggested--we called reception but THEY didn't know how to operate it, ergo the maintenance attendant had to be sent up; there is no air conditioning so we had to specially request a fan in the unseasonably warm weather--but it couldn't be sent until the following day, leaving a night drenched in sweat. Several issues we have dealt with were simple (the dryer, the fan, the oven) and could have easily been taken care of BEFORE we arrived if they performed due diligence and checked their appliances etc.

Their "welcome package" is subpar compared to other residential options we were given (I regret not choosing them now!). The package contained a couple instant coffees, tea bags, dish soap, a sponge, and gel packs for laundry. You will most certainly need to go grocery shopping if you plan on staying awhile, and note that while you get a couple pots and a pan, you have no baking dishes.

Additional things to consider include:
1) Each apartment has a different layout. There were some issues with our first apartment, and so the second apartment we were given was a much better layout for us and what we wanted. Don't be afraid to ask if they have another option at which you may look.

2) Although my apartment didn't face the street, it was very easy to hear street noises. Coming from a city, this does not annoy us so much, but it may annoy other patrons (bring earplugs?). That said, I rarely heard anyone in the building.

3) The mattress and pillows leave something to be desired.

4) Be aware that it is an old building with long, winding halls. If walking is an issue for you, I'd suggest requesting an apartment closer to the entrance. I had to walk quite a bit to my apartment.

While I'm certainly not expecting a five-star hotel, I expect the basic amenities to be there and functioning with relative ease--especially if they advertise themselves to be perfect temporary lodging for business executives.

Room Tip: Top floor (3) has lovely skylights--my apartment had two and there are several in the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aalynia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Manager at Citadines St Mark's-Islington London, responded to this review, April 14, 2016
Dear Aalynia,

Allow us to first thank you for your review and for taking the time to write your thoughts about

Citadines St Marks. Such comments are always very valuable for us and I can assure you that we are already working on the areas of improvement you have highlighted.

Our apartments are subjected to rigorous checks in order to maintain our high standards of housekeeping and maintenance, and I am sorry we have failed on this occasion. At the moment we are undertaking a refurbishment and we hope to improve our building going forward and your comments are greatly appreciated.

We understand that we did not meet your expectations this time; however we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future so we can show you the true Citadines experience.

Best wishes,

Daniela Codreanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#444 of 1,088 in London
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holborn
Citadines Holborn-Covent Garden London
Thistle City Barbican
#589 of 1,088 in London
2,888 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#176 of 1,088 in London
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines St Mark's-Islington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines St Mark's-Islington London

Property: Citadines St Mark's-Islington London
Address: St. Mark's Apartments 300 City Road, London EC1V 2PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#333 Business Hotel in London
#343 Family Hotel in London
#346 Luxury Hotel in London
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines St Mark's-Islington London 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citadines St Mark's-Islington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marks, London Hotel London
St Marks Hotel London
Citadines St Mark's-Islington London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing