We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel, excellent people” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Ranked #207 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel was convenient with walking distance to tube (5 mins) and stores nearby. Was surprised that this hotel served halal food which makes it easier for us to eat.

Had stayed in a rather large room to accommodate the 5 of us (3 small kids) but the room was still cozy and clean. Loved that the rooms were warm when outside it was freezing. TV and toilets worked fine without any problems.

However, the best thing about the hotel are the people and them being very accommodative to our needs. They also managed to book us a taxi from the hotel to Heathrow at a good price and were very accommodating in terms of directions to eat and go to certain places. They also packed us breakfast as we had to check out early in the morning. Noticed that some of the people there spoke other languages as well (not mistaken French and Japanese).

Negative side of it was maybe the breakfast as wasn't as good as expected but that was me alone as none of the others raised it up. Wifi signal in the room was also quite poor. However, overall a very good stay indeed..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_idid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    76
    26
    19
    8
See reviews for
61
57
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great location, great staff, very reasonable rates (plus a reduction for only having 3 in a quad room). Rooms are clean and serviceable. Only one complaint, the fire alarm went off at 6.50 am!! Finally, although it's adequate and surprising that its included considering the low rates, I would recommend going out for breakfast!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beckahodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I and my 9 year old son have had the pleasure to visit this hotel five times since may 2011. Allways the stay has been relaxing, and with perfect, but respecful services. It is situated just between to underground stations, closest is Paddington st. The personal is very service minded, and allways in a good mood. The rooms are just somewhere to sleep. But it is allways clean, and fresh. In the end, I have to meantion the calm and quite moment och breakfast. People from Sweden, Norway and elsewhere who share their experiencies from yesterday, and perhaps what will happen today. I will say.. go there!!! You will not be disappointed! Väl mött på Picton Mandalay hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in London for three nights and just needed a room to sleep. This one was just 5 minutes' walk from Paddington station, so it was handy as we took the train from Heathrow (although there are plenty of other hotels in the area as well).

The service was very friendly and anytime we needed something we were immediately attended. The bathroom was very small, otherwise the room was ok. Breakfast was enough to start the day - nothing special but nothing to complain either.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

if you are looking for luxury, don't go here. But if you want a safe and very cheap place to stay, go! The hotel is small and the opposite of fancy, but the owners are extremely helpful and nice. The room I had was very small but also very clean, which is not always true of London hotels.
The bathroom was tiny and not very comfortable, but again - clean.
The full English breakfast was included in the room price.
This hotel is perfect is you are in London to stay out - and not in. It is real value for money, and the location only two minutes walk from Paddington is perfect, especially if you are flying in and out from Heathrow.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingeborg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter in July 2010 for 3 nights. I had decided on it through reading the reviews here on tripadvisor for budget hotels in London. It is close to Paddington station, about a 5 min walk. And just around the corner from a great little Italian cafe which served great coffee. And a 5 min walk to a great Indian restaurant, called Noorjahan 2.
The staff at Mandalay Picton were all really friendly, helpful and polite, they serve a good size breakfast in the mornings too. The room catered for our needs with twin beds and an ensuite bathroom. I remember reading some reviews about the ensuites being small. Well, this one had room for a basin, a toilet and a shower. And room to stand and dry yourself. What more does a person need? The shower worked really well, I didn't feel cramped at all in it, or in the bathroom. The room was really quiet also. I always take decent earplugs with me when I travel, but I had no need to use them here.
It was also no trouble to leave our bags with them after checkout, as we had a late flight out.
I'd stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellywood_Kiwi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

As most people have pointed out, the hospitality and service at this hotel is five stars. The owners are incredibly welcoming and friendly people.

A few times we ended up talking to them for 20+ minutes at a time - about everything from our hometowns and London to world issues and the weather. It was a joy to meet them.

As for the rooms they are in need of an upgrade, like many budget hotels in London. The amenities, blankets and window coverings are a bit dated (and our toilet seat was broken).

The breakfast was not very good.

The location is great - just a short walk from Paddington Station, close to some great restaurants and pubs, and close to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanaduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hotel Columbus
#481 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
The Belvedere
#632 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
East End / East London
Kadimah Hotel
Kadimah Hotel
#242 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#31 of 556 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Kennington B & B
#14 of 556 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#133 of 556 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay Picton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay Picton House Hotel

Property: Mandalay Picton House Hotel
Address: 122 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mandalay Picton House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Mandalay Picton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay Picton House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing