We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel in the heart of London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #138 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in the heart of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

A small and lovely hotel: nice and spacious rooms, nice and helpful staff, excellent buffet breakfast... and all this in a central but quiet location, near Marble Arch and a few minutes walk to the subway.

Excellent choice for a vacation or business trip.

I can't wait to come back !!!

Room Tip: We hired a double king room on the front - was quiet even with the windows oppened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review as “Charming Hotel in the heart of London” on tripadvisor.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always try our hard to provide you the best service & make our you feel like home.
It was a great pleasure to have you all here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    429
    53
    23
    7
See reviews for
251
717
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the sumner hotel for 5nights.We enjoyed very much. The room was clean and comfortable. We liked the decoration of the hotel, the music and the breakfast. The team was very helpfull. We recomend very much

Room Tip: 103 is a good room with twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip advisor - “Wonderful stay at the Sumner!”.
We are glad to know that you liked our Decoration, Music & Breakfast. Your comments/feedback means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you soon in future.

Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for a split stay....with a trip to Italy in between....We think of the Sumner as 'our place in London'. Comfortable, stylish, quiet, friendly staff...and a short walk to Oxford Street, Hyde Park, Marlyebone High Street, ....easy connections to bus or tube...fabulous little wine bar around the corner.....and the Portman Pub right on the corner.....The Sumner is always our little oasis when in London.....

Room Tip: We always choose the 'room at the top of the stairs' roomy and airy...with a big comfy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Linda,

Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Sumner. Nice to hear about The Portman pub & the wine bar next door as well. Because of our location, everything's so close here which is fabulous. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you sometime soon. We'll look forward to welcome you again...

Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We found The Sumner on Trip Advisor and, after reading the reviews had high hopes. We were not disappointed. Each member of staff was warm, friendly and efficient and we instantly felt at home.

Our room (and the entire hotel) was spotless and very well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was nice and quiet. The breakfast in the morning had everything you could possibly want and was excellent. They also provided a useful list of nearby places to eat.

We couldn't fault the place at all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus_Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review as "Excellent Experience” on tripadvisor.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to make our guests to feel at home.
It was a great pleasure to have you all here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights -4 guys in 2 rooms for a fun soccer trip in London just this week (mid march), we picked it based on trip advisor's rating as we always do and it was a great choice. This is a boutique hotel in perfect location in London (right near the Hyde Park and Oxford). The service was excellent – chauffer service was right on time, the staff was friendly and welcoming and they helped us with all our questions and requests. We think price is reasonable for London (which is quite expensive) and breakfast was generous. Rooms were clean, and in general the hotel’s atmosphere was wonderful. I'm not sure when will we be back but we sure hope to stay here again and we will recommend it to all our friends

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ofiraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very very much for your awesome review. We are so very glad that you liked our services. The hotel is indeed very well located near Hyde Park and Oxford Street. We have tried to keep our prices as low as possible in comparison to other hotels in London and yet we try to provide our guests the best services in town. We would be glad to welcome you at the hotel again.

Best regards,
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Sumner met our needs and hopes for our four-day visit to London very nicely. My son and I found the hotel welcoming, attractive, clean and comfortable. Good mattresses, good shower, outstanding breakfast downstairs each morning, and a location convenient to a tube station--the hotel served as a fantastic home base for exploring London. Also, the staff proved most helpful in pointing us to area restaurants and more than once provided good directions and tips for travel in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very nice review. We are happy that our services at the hotel met your expectations completely. Maintaining the cleanliness has always been our first priority, while we always replace the mattresses before their age as we want our guests to get a very comfortable sleep. Thank you for recommending our hotel.

Best Regards,
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary in London, during part of which we stayed at the Sumner. Despite being offered an upgrade at no further cost, we decided stay in the room originally booked, as it was a Saturday and we treasure a good night's sleep. Our room was very nicely decorated and comfortable if a little bijou but we could have accepted the upgrade which was offered. Breakfast was also very good. With all that, the rates being charged were exceptionally reasonable for a capital city. There is pre-bookable NCP car parking about 100 yards away and it just a short pleasant walk to Marble Arch. We will return to and would recommend the Sumner.

Room Tip: Take any upgrade offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all a very very happy wedding anniversary. We are very happy to know that your stay at the Sumner Hotel was indeed very comfortable. The rates that we charge at the Hotel are never too high and we always try to provide our guests world class services. The car parking that you have mentioned about is very safe and you never would have to worry about your vehicle once parked. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcome you at the Hotel once again.

Thanks,

Best Regards,
Rachit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#102 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#67 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#304 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#100 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
The Darlington Hyde Park
#200 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#116 Luxury Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing