We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #186 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice hotel, cosy environment, large rooms, very nice shower, nice people, central location. Living room rich in delicious with compliments (crisp potatoes, sweets, etc.).
Very good ratio value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Mr Eduardo,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a praising review. We always strive to make our guests to feel at home, welcoming them with a genuine smile and being helpful whenever we can. Here we do offer these complimantary sweets & snacks with Tea/Coffee to all our guest just to make them feel home. And ofcourse we are best value when it comes in terms of money.
We hope to see you back at The Sumner Hotel soon.


Many Thanks,
Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
There are newer reviews for The Sumner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here December 11-14 and we have absolutely no complaints. We picked the Sumner based on affordability and location, we were certainly not let down. The location was fantastic, a very short walk to the tube (which we took to and from the airport) and multiple bus stops. The room itself was very clean and the staff courteous. Though we read many complaints about the bed and noise level, we weren't bothered by either. I found the bed to be pretty comfortable. The noise from the street could be heard, but it wasn't a very busy street so it really didn't bother us. The continental breakfast was perfect to fill up a little before a day of sight-seeing. We will definitely recommend The Sumner and will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshleyZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Ashley,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad to hear that you had a lovely stay here at The Sumner with our high standard service & facilities. Although we are just a few minutes walk away from a Oxford street but our place is really calm, quite and peaceful.
It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We always try to provide you the best service & maintain our high standards.
We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for only one night (in London for a theatre trip); we really enjoyed the experience. Room 205 is a well-appointed room with a large comfortable bed. Everything was spotlessly clean and towels were white and fluffy -excellent bathroom products. If I had to find a fault, the coffee was a little bitter and my croissant stale but there again, we did arrive towards the end of breakfast time and the scrambled eggs were first class : )

The location is perfect for a stay in London; our day started with a walk thorough Hyde Park.

The abiding memory of our stay will be the service from the young woman on the front desk - so helpful and polite - nothing was too much trouble - we really appreciated being able to leave our luggage while we went to the West End.

We will definitely return and recommend the Sumner to others looking for a non-chain hotel experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words as “Lovely location. Small and intimate hotel.”
I hope you had a great & memorable time here with us and at the theatre. I am really glad that you liked & appreciate our service & facilities.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at the Sumner Hotel for three nights on a business trip to London. I had an upgraded room, which was reasonably priced for London standards. The room was very nice and large enough to be very comfortable. Internet worked well, and included breakfast was nice enough to visit on all three days. Definitely I will check this hotel again if I need accommodation near Marble Arch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Petri,
Thanks for leaving us your feedback.
We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Sumner. We always make sure that we try to maintain the high standards at all the time & make our all customers happy & satisfied.
It was a great pleasure to have you all here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at this wonderful hotel and hope to do so again. The staff was unfailingly helpful and friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, an the breakfasts good. We especially appreciated late-night tea in the lounge, which made us feel right at home.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Adele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Adele,
Thank you for your kind feedback as “Friendly, Comfortable, Convenient”

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to make our guests to feel at home.
It was a great pleasure to have you all here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...
Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sumner for two nights whilst visiting our son who lives in London. We found the staff very friendly and efficient, breakfast was of an excellent standard. The room was clean and comfortable although the bathroom was small, it was very clean with plenty of towels and bathroom accessories. Our room no was 106 and although there were no views it was lovely and quiet
I spend a considerable amount of time in hotels and I found the informality and cosiness of the Sumner an absolute bonus.
It's position too is so handy for Hyde Park, Marble Arch and all the shopping you could wish for.
Try it you will not be disappointed. We will be back.
Kamila Guilliard

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Anna,
We are so delighted to read thru your feedback on the trip advisor -The Sumner was Great.
It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you soon.

We would love to welcome you again soon

Many Thanks,

Regards,

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My son and I were going to London for one night to see a BBC recording. We arrived at the hotel early and were made most welcome with complimentary teas/coffee and biscuits in a very cosy lounge.
We were shown to our room 15 mins later, room 203. The room was nicely decorated and it was a front room, a grade up from our booking. There was plenty of room to sit; furniture included three very comfy chairs, an occasional table, a wardrobe, drawer unit and dressing table with every conceivable electric socket! Everything was imaculate and the room had everything one could wish for.
The service was impecable- nothing was too much trouble. A tea tray was ours for the asking and very welcome, late at night.
Breakfast was a feast with cereals and cold and hot buffet items. No tinned fruit at the Sumner- strawberries, melon, kiwi, grapes, oranges and pineapple were cut up and displayed with whole fruits such as bananas etc. Continental items (meats, cheeses etc.) along with hot items and a huge range of juices, breads and pastries completed the meal.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It is hospitality of the highest standard and value. The location is excellent and superb if you are sightseeing in London.
I would definitely re book when next in London- thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in 203. It was a twin room though probably can be changed to a double. There was plenty of...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Kathy,
Thank you for your kind words as “Fantastic experience with our outstanding service”.
I hope you both had a great time here with us at The Sumner. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner. It was a great pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We'll look forward to welcome you again...

Kind Regards

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#26 of 1,071 in London
526 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#221 of 1,071 in London
218 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#318 of 1,071 in London
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#83 of 1,071 in London
1,679 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#22 of 1,071 in London
1,758 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#440 of 1,071 in London
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#147 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $198 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing