We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sumner Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$289
$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$329
$274
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$221
$184
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$492
$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$170
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$311
Chesterfield
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$188
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$448
$438
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveler rating
900
445
62
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
900
445
62
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarble archoxford streethyde parksmall hotelboutique hotelbreakfast roomquiet streetsitting roombeansby london standardsdeluxe roomlounge areathe ground floorcentral locationexcellent locationnice roombreakfast was included
Filter
Updating list...
450 - 455 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed one night for my friends Hen party in Mayfair. Location was really good. Room was a nice size by London standards and very quiet. Both room and bathroom were very clean. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family as we had a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurphyZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor - “Excellent boutique hotel”. Its our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Location very convenient and staff were very helpful and friendly, both at the hotel and on the phone when we reserved. We spent 2 nights . Our room was huge by London standard and well appointed with bench, desk, mini bar, closet, etc. (#100 in basement). Very quiet. The room and bathroom was clean and nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eva h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor - “best little hotel ever :)”.
I am very pleased to know that you had a Wonderful Stay at The Sumner.
Its our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very good, clean, quiet boutique hotel. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. There was no swimming pool or fitness center but I did not miss them. There was only one drawer in my room (#202) for folded clothing. I couldn't reach the window lock without standing on a chair .The breakfast was fine although I did get tired of the same music piped in every morning (featuring Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and Sammy Lewis, Jr.) but it was at least pleasant. I stayed for eight nights, was very comfortable and slept well. I do recommend The Sumner and would stay there again.

Room Tip: There was only one drawer in my room (#202) for folded clothing. I couldn't reach the window lock without standing on a chair. It was a decent-sized room and bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor - “Excellent boutique hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff.”
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Sumner. Its our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner.
Please accept our sincere apologise for the window lock problem, you had to face during your stay but just to let you know that all our rooms are safe & secure. But I'll take care of the matter personally & sort it out.
We always make sure that we Hotel do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was fantastic and location of the hotel was really handy.

No complaints at all. Room was small but I expect that in London and worth it to be in a nice old townhouse rather than a large chain hotel. I was only in the room to sleep after all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor - "Stay here in London”.
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Sumner. Its our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we Hotel do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Sumner hotel is located just behind (about 2blocks) from marble arch.
It is a small boutique style hotel and the staff are fantastic in making you feel very welcome.
From the moment you check in you feel like family and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
You are given a voucher each which allows you to have free tea or coffee twice!!, in the lounge or in your room and it comes with cookies A vary nice touch and after a busy day shopping it was a great treat.
The hotel is located in a quiet side side and at night very quiet we had a room on the front of the hotel and heard nothing at all.
A small walk about 5-10 minutes will bring you to the top of Oxford street ( the main shopping area), and in front of marble arch and Hyde park.
Our room 107, was a large king size room with en suite shower room which was small but enough for two.
I did feel though that the room was big enough for a small sofa or 2 small arm chairs and it was not pleasant watching tv sitting on the bed with this vast amount of space in front of you .
Breakfast is great with everything you could want from the full English to a vast selection of cheeses and breads, hams, fruit etc etc.
Fantastic hotel , great location, don't go expecting all the luxury of a 5 star hotel but you will get very friendly, helpful, great service, which in London can be very hard to find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor - “Great little hotel in great location.”
We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Sumner. Its our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner.
We would certainly consider your opinion to place a Sofa in that room so you could watch T.V. more comfortably. Although we do have sofa & arm chairs in most of our rooms anyway.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews