We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No easly pleased!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #146 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No easly pleased!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am not very easly pleased but I have to say this is one of the best little hotels for its price, close to marble arch and Oxford street and I mean close just a few minuets walk.
The hotel it's self is really lovely no big Gordy signs outside infact it looks just like a very nice town house, when you enter you will not be disappointed the staff are welcoming and helpful and the surroundings and decor are eligent and relaxing with a very very comfortable lounge that we felt instantly at home in. Our double room was fantastic and as we could not book one of their best double rooms I was overwhelmed by how nice it was very clean and the bed was one of the best hotel beds I have slept in ( and as I have to travel a lot for work I do stay in a few ). The breakfast was also excellent and what a choice just about anything you could want my husband had eggs sausage beans and mushrooms which we were not expecting as we believed it was a continental breakfast, which was what I had and it was all lovely and fresh, plus as they only use a small table it's constantly being replaced with fresh. All the staff were very helpful and friendly all in all I will be rebooking this hotel for my next London trip and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahrae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. We are glad to know that you were so pleased & loved your stay here at The Sumner. We wish to do something special & better each time you visit at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    430
    54
    23
    7
See reviews for
251
719
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
464 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one week in early April. Lovely multi-windowed room...spacious by London standards. Quiet. Very convenient to the Tube. Tasty breakfasts and coffee. Truly excellent service from the front desk woman who helped us with suggestions on a Prague trip and served the very best of coffee and treats on a cold windy afternoon to the manager who assisted us with a much needed aspirn or two when one of us caught the sniffles. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronFWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. We are glad to know that you both had a lovely & satisfied stay here at The Sumner.
I hope your wife's feeling much better now. Its just on of those viral due to change of weather.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent service for the price and very good location! Breakfast very good, and all our wishes were catered for. Very helpful reception staff - gave us ideas for meals at nearby restaurants on a reasonable budget. We would certainly stay there again if we wished to visit London for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared for us on trip advisor. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ganey tikva
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is not one of those huge chain hotels. There is a nice personal touch to the place. the hotel is two blocks away from Marble Arch so the Tube and all Oxford shopping is right nearby. We had the Deluxe room which was very nice and Specious we also had included breakfast which was great. We had to checkout very early and requested breakfast to be ready early for us and it was.
The only thing I can complain about is that there was noise that we could hear from the room/hallway above our room.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Probably better off with the top floor for complete quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanL176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely feedback and choosing The Sumner as a nExcellent little hotel in a Great Location.
It was our pleasure to have you at The Sumner Hotel. We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hotel receptionist was very helpful with travel options for our stay and we will gladly book again. Staff were always on hand to help and the lovely touch of a marshmallow chocolate with the tea was much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its our pleasure to have you here & we are very glad to know that you had a good time here at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived on Thursday afternoon and the booking made months before was all in place and we were shown to our modern room on the ground floor.
A complimentary tea tray with biscuits was offered and accepted.

This is an interesting concept as there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, however there are four bottles of sparkling mineral water provided for free of charge use as well as a Mini-bar for chargeable use.
The tray of tea/coffee is a once-per-day free experience and further trays to rooms are detailed as a paid-for facility. Free snacks and chocolate are available in the front public lounge.

The room was well appointed and the bed was very comfortable, I could have done with 1.5 pillows as one was too thin and two too much but a folded bath towel under a single one fixed that.

The walk-in shower was excellent with great power and heat potential and for those of a more nervous disposition a hand-held one was available.

The tv remote instructions need revising as the operation of coloured buttons as instructed is not possible and for those with English as not their own language confusion would result!

It was good that the towels were changed daily, none of this Saving the Planet nonsense, as a sop to saving laundry bills.

Breakfast was interesting in that the area on the lower ground floor, accessed by lift, is small and pokey and very echoey but well-lit. The sight of vermin/insect traps on the floor was a little disconcerting but we did not see any candidates for same running about.

Remember to collect your own milk jug for your tea/coffee as there is none on the tables and you can be left stranded when they bring you the tea/coffee later.

The food on offer was of good quality with poached eggs and scrambled eggs, sausages or bacon, mushrooms etc. However when the container for those self-service items was becoming empty the residues could be quite cool. I don't enjoy cold bacon...

For those wanting to have fruit and rolls etc then there was a good selection. The packs of butter and margarine were a bit too warm with almost runny content, they should be kept colder.

The waiting staff were very obliging and kept the tables cleared for others to use as they were vacated.

All in all a pleasant experience.

As others have said the hotel is near to Marble Arch and so convenient for Oxford Street.
A taxi-rank is available within 200m just round the corner in front of the Cumberland Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 101 is on the Ground Floor so no problems with heavy cases but of course at street level traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gee4oyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its was our pleasure to have you here. We wish to do something special & better next time you visit at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've stayed here countless times over the last 5 years and never had a bad stay. Great location, lovely neighbourhood and very quiet, given it is 2 streets from Oxford St! Its also an authentic London town house with excellent local pubs and restaurants.....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pdandlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its our pleasure to have you here again & again. We wish to do something special & better each time you visit at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#64 of 1,088 in London
482 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#69 of 1,088 in London
1,411 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#335 of 1,088 in London
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
The Darlington Hyde Park
#197 of 1,088 in London
2,094 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#96 of 1,088 in London
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing