We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent time at the Sumner”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #148 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“An excellent time at the Sumner”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have to give the Sumner an overall excellent rating. I spent 5 nights there and had a very relaxing stay. The breakfast was super and I especially liked hanging out in the very well designed lounge with the morning papers. I will definitely recommend the Sumner to everyone traveling to London.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. We are glad to know that you have found a little treasure in the heart of London. Now that you have found us we hope that you come back and visit us at The Sumner soon.

Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    434
    55
    23
    7
See reviews for
251
723
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Enjoyed our two night stay at The Sumner. Room and bathroom was small, there wasnt any tea or coffee facilities in the room but this didnt matter. Staff were very efficient, breakfast was great, rooms were very clean and functional. Great value all round for what i deemed to be a fantastic location, couple of minute walk to Oxford Street and Marble Arch Station. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure if a ground floor room may be a little noisier. We stayed in 106 and had a good nights slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its always great to know that you had a good experienced at The Sumner. We would love to see you soon again in future.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent Hotel, Excellent Staff and a Good Location very close to the tube station - Nothing was any trouble, thought the lack of tea and coffee in the room would be a problem but wasn't - will be going back!

Room Tip: King Size Bed is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skidog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its our pleasure to have you here at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I love the position (near Marble Arch) and the quiet charm of this hotel. The room was clean and spacious, too hot in the beginning, but I then noticed the heater controller... My advice is to ask for a front bedroom, don't be afraid of the possible street noise, it's rather quiet in the night. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its always great to know that you had a good experienced at The Sumner. We would love to see you soon again in future.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just returned from our 5th stay at The Sumner, and cannot fault it. It is excellently located, extremely clean and pleasant and the staff are very courteous and helpful at all times, this being the reason for our 5th stay.
The rooms are really clean and towels are provided daily, and having asked for the same room each time, we know we are getting a nice quiet room which is what you need at night time.
So this is why we think The Sumner is amazing value for money, it is particularly well located within easy walking distance of many places, and I might also add that the breakfasts are excellent and a change from the usual "continental breakfast" at most hotels. Truly a gem of a Hotel and we will definitely return again for our next
stay in London!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: room 108 is a perfect room if you want a good nights sleep, it is lovely and peaceful......
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshiretraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its our pleasure to have you again & again. We wish to do something special & better each time you visit at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azeitao, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excelent location just near Oxford street with simpathy ,ambient, tea at any time -you just. Demand it and no more than five minutesit is on the room- , Nice breakfast and excelent team advising us and giving good suggestions. A good list of restaurants in the neighourd . Very good staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antonio f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its our pleasure to have you & to know that you had a good time in Feburary here at The Sumner.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sumner for 4 days with my friend and had a very good experience.
Ambience of hotel and room was good as well as service and staff is very co-operative and helpful. I enjoyed the relaxed home-like feel, particularly the lounge space with books . The food was excellent everything is good . We would certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: room no. 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aakash9555038876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the kind words you have shared with us on trip advisor. Its always great to know that you had a good experienced and you felt like home at The Sumner. Its our pleasure to have you aswell.
We always make sure that we do our best to improve the quality of services & maintain the high standards at The Sumner.
Your kind words of appreciation about the our hotels service, facilities and staff will certainly go a long way in boosting the morale of the team to do even better and excel in everything they do on a day to day basis to make sure our esteemed guests like yourself are comfortable and well looked after. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Many Thanks,
Kind Regards.

ROHIT GOGIA
Manager
The Sumner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#35 of 1,067 in London
495 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,067 in London
1,558 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#228 of 1,067 in London
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#304 of 1,067 in London
664 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#60 of 1,067 in London
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing