We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, big breakfast”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #158 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Big room, big breakfast”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in Room 203 for 3 nights. As described in other TA reviews, the hotel is well-located, very clean, and freshly-decorated. We were happy to see a lift (even if it is tiny, and doesn't quite stop on every floor, which made luggage a bit of a challenge). Our King room overlooking the street was large, and had double-paned windows that slide on top of the original windows, so noise insulation was very good. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom immaculate, and breakfast the next morning was lavish. The free wireless internet worked fine. The hotel is very small (only 20 rooms), so don't expect alot of extra services (no bellman, no concierge, no secure place to store left luggage). But the staff was friendly and competent (and the housekeeper actually left us a note each morning to thank us for the 2GBP tip). Overall, for 160GBP per night (including VAT and breakfast), The Sumner gave us a whole lot for our money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ne135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    438
    56
    23
    7
See reviews for
253
731
92
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at the Sumner in early Dec 2012 for 2 nights...very enjoyable. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the price reasonable.The room was fine and the street noise minimal. Yes, the building is typically quirky with small landings off the elevator and some steps usually required but that was no problem. Easy access from here to central London shops and restaurants. I especially appreciated the lounge where I could continue to use the internet after checkout since I had an evening departure from Heathrow. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I will start with the bottom line – look no further. If you are looking for a wonderful hotel in a great location with excellent service for a romantic vacation in London – this is the place for you !

We have stayed in the Sumner Hotel in early Jan 2013 for 4 nights. I selected the hotel based on the reviews in Tripadvisor and was not disappointed.
We arrived at the hotel at about 10 am. Our room was not ready (which is expected) but what was not expected is that the lady in the reception sent us to eat breakfast. She also offered us to go ahead and start our London tour and that our luggage will be sent to our room as soon as it will be ready.
When we got back to the hotel in the evening, and went into the room (room 103), we found a wonderful, clean, warm room. The room was not small (as usually expected), the double bed was big and comfortable and the shower was clean. Everything looks brand new !
The hotel also serves complementary coffee/tea. Just ask for it and they bring it up to your room or to the nice living room near the reception. A nice tray with coffee/tea and some cookies (all free of charge).
Breakfast is also great. Wide selection, excellent service and all with a smile.
The hotel is located 5 min walk from Marble Arch underground station, so getting around London is easy.
The free Internet service (wi-fi) is excellent throughout the entire hotel and you can connect with as many devices as you want.

So:
Location – Excellent
Service – Excellent
Facilities – Excellent
You won't be disappointed !

Room Tip: Can recommend on room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yossi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

short walk from Marble Arch tube station. Tonnes of atmosphere on arriving with pretty pink Cyclamen blooming in the Flower pots, inside 9foot Christmas Tree twinkling lights and presents under the tree. Contemporary lifts to the floors which is lovely feature. Bed mattress was so comfortable. Room service of a complimentary Coffee or Tea anytime was ordered. Appeared like magic with chocolate biscuit. Buffet style breakfast of eggs, bacon mushrooms and rye bread.
Casual but Classy. I recommend the terrific service for accommodation of Bed & Breakfast central to shops, parks and river attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMM186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

6 of us visited in November 2011, 2 per room. My room was on a higher floor, quite small but suited our needs. Unfortunately not much of a view (the roof), but we were just there to sleep anyways. Other members of our group had larger rooms facing the street and these were nicer. Breafast was more than enough. The staff were generous to bring us tea any time it was requested. There were snacks in the lobby most days, a nice little treat to help yourself to. Clean and bright. There is only a tiny lift - stairs were necessary most days. A bit tricky to navigate to our room with luggage as the elevator stopped on the floor below so we had to carry them up a half flight. Fine for us but someone with physical issues will find this a challange. The driver brought us from the airport and back again at the end of the trip, highly recommend this service. The restaurants in the area close fairly early, but there is a nice Lebanese place down the street, open late. The Pub down the street was lovely to eat at as well. Not the location for everyone but we loved it! VERY close to Hyde Park. Tube station just blocks away. Would certainly stay again!

Room Tip: Ask if you want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at "The Sumner" overnight on Dec 31st. Very inviting ambiance & cosy sitting room. Staff very friendly, helpful & attentive. Room was perfect for the stay with all the amenities required. Hotel well appointed & in great location - incredibly quiet considering it is only a couple of streets back from Oxford Street/Marble Arch. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harry_p_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived at The Sumner on a very rainy windy Christmas morning and were shown to our room right away. Our three night stay was ideal with the location of the hotel so close to the tube and bus stop. Breakfasts were perfect, the room very comfortable and the friendliest staff we have dealt with. We will return on our next visit to London!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#25 of 1,069 in London
516 reviews
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#201 of 1,069 in London
208 reviews
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#79 of 1,069 in London
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#292 of 1,069 in London
676 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#219 of 1,069 in London
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Property: The Sumner Hotel
Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#128 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing