We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in London! Great location!”
Review of The Sumner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sumner Hotel
Ranked #169 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My mom and I stayed at the Sumner for about a week and loved it! The location is great, right next to Hyde Park and close to the tube station. We also enjoyed the restaurants nearby, The Portman in particular (delicious!), and found it very nice that we could eat out close to our hotel some nights. Our rate included breakfast, and the breakfast was tasty! It was very nice to get our fill before starting our day. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The room we stayed in was great: clean, comfortable, and perfect size for the two of us. The bathroom was impeccably clean and tiled nicely; much better than a lot of boutique hotel's bathrooms in London and Europe. I've already recommended this hotel to friends that are venturing there soon and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting London. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your beautiful supportive & very kind word for Sumner.

We Sumner whole team is your thankful for your liking about our services.

Kindly let me know in your next trip in London with us.

We will try to give you better service then today.

Good wishes to you n your whole family.

With Best Regards,
Rohit Gogia.
--

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Seems strange to be writing a review for a hotel that cost around £200 and calling it good value... but that's London for you.

As previous reviewers have noted, its clean, comfortable and the staff are excellent. It might not be deluxe (probably 3/4 star standard) but personally I would prefer to opt for an honest 3/4 standard hotel with good service and high standards of cleanliness over a disappointing 5 star hotel.

The location is a few minutes walk away from a tube station and around 15 minutes walk away from Oxford Street. There is car parking at a NCP car park about 5 minutes walk, at £20/day.

Not sure what else you would want from a hotel in London, if you want a great bar or restaurant hen this hotel is not for you - but then again, there are plenty nearby if that's what you're after!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can not recommend this hotel for several reasons.
A Deluxe Room was horrible, the mattress was next to the floor and we discovered that the king room form our friends was cheaper, nicer and well decorated.
Fire alarm in the morning is not the best way to start a day.
Staff helpful but they could recommend us any place.

Das war die schlimmste Erfahrung!!! Zimmer 201

Room Tip: King Room, no Deluxe!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nils w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Respected Sir,

I really apologies that you didn't like our Deluxe room otherwise our Deluxe rooms are the bigger , beautifully modern furnished which is really on daily demand then any other rooms as we have three categories rooms Queen,king & Deluxe.

Deluxe is the best rooms in Sumner but please accept apologies for your uncomfortable stay but Sir if you told me about your complaint while your stay with us I may be could change you in other room.

Our Motto is always give best service in first class way,Here I am promising with you that to your next visit I will assist you personally without any complaint.We will try our level level best to give you full comfortable stay.

Best Wishes to you & your whole family.


With Best Regards,
Rohit Gogia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just came back from London after spending 3 nights at the Sumner.

Before booking the hotel, I used Tripadvisor to identify the ideal hotel based on three criterias: Location, standard and price.

The Sumner was the optimum choice. The location was perfect just at the corner of Hyde Park, with only some hundred meters to the tube station Marble Arch. Staff at the hotel was very polite and helpful, excellent service indeed with coffee and tea served at the rooms free of charge. Breakfast was not extravagant, but a nice mixture of cold and warm food served us well.

The price was not low, but a lot of value for the money compared to alternatives!

All in all I would highly recommend the hotel, and for sure I am gonna come back!!

Erlend, Norway

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erlend B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your very kind words for Sumner,

Sumner is your second home so when ever you come next kindly let me know before time so that we can arrange some better choice in breakfast for you.

Thank you very much for giving us strong encouragement with your kind words.

Best Regards to you n your family.

Regards,
Rohit Gogia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Sumner is a delightful boutique hotel which is conviently located for visiting central London. We stayed there for five days after returning from a bus tour of the Cotswolds. Very nice, pleasant and very helpful staff who project a desire to please (they really try to deliver). The buffet breakfast is varied for many tastes, and had a good fruit selection which I really appreciated. Our room was very beautifully furnished and was maintained very well during our stay by housekeeping. My only complaint about the room is that I prefer feather pillows to foam ones.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, a room in the rear of the hotel is better. The Portman (pub) is next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel very london type, small cosec, great and very nice people, clean and good breakfast. The location is so great since every thing is by foot. hydepark is walking distance, the tube is 5 minutes walk. there is a bank 3 minutes walk. a few bars and restaurants are downstairs and many others are walking distances. If you feel like having coffee in the room, a phone call to the concierge will be enough. The employees are very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: very close to the tube, to marble arch, to oxford street. higher floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesumnerhotel, Manager at The Sumner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Yael G,

we express gratitude on behalf of your valuable feedback. We put more efforts in turning out your dreams come true. Hope you enjoyed the spot substantially every moment since there had been a very limited outdistance to all your beloved points like the hyde park, the tube with a walkable size. Our guys are always readily prepared to undergo services at all times whenever the customers are in need. You can also have some in regarding with the facilities available at our hotel-The Sumner. We welcome your honorable presence any time. We are at your service.
Thank you.


regards
Rohit Gogia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived at the Sumner Hotel about mid morning after an overnight flight from the US. We were greeted at the Reception desk by Rohit, the hotel's charming manager. As we were a bit early for the usual check in time, we were shown the available rooms. The first was a large basement level room. It was very nice, but we asked if we could have a room on a higher floor. Rohit kindly showed us a second room on the third floor. We settled into our room and was given a short tour of the property and the location of the breakfast room. A nice morning spread of hot and cold food plus tea, coffee and juices was available. The staff of the hotel were so kind and helpful. We must give propers to Dora and Magda (spelling?) in the breakfast room. Thank you ladies for your sweet attention! I must mention complimentary tea or coffee service to your room anytime was a wonderful treat. The location of the hotel is great. About 10-15 minute walk to the Marble Arch tube stop, as well as Oxford Street and shopping galore! Taxi's roam the area and are easy to hail, as well. Hyde Park is also a quick walk. There are some nice restaurants in the area. We particularly enjoyed The Portman, a pub and dining room just next door to the Sumner. The hotel property itself is an old townhouse conversion. Our room looked out to the street, Upper Berkeley, which was moderately busy. We were not bothered at night since the windows are double paned for sound abatement. It was of good size for a London hotel room and had a flat screen, mini fridge and safe. My only complaint here was the firmness of the mattress and pillows, but many european hotels are the same. We found the white bed duvet a bit too warm, but had no other option for a bed cover. These were minor, personal comfort issues. The bathroom was very small, with a small shower stall, which would be difficult for a larger person to use. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and a definite recommendation. Well done, Sumner Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzmom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#164 of 1,076 in London
233 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,076 in London
536 reviews
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#326 of 1,076 in London
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#437 of 1,076 in London
683 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,076 in London
1,778 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#173 of 1,076 in London
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sumner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sumner Hotel

Address: 54 Upper Berkeley Street | Marble Arch, London W1H 7QR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in London
#94 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Business Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $197 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sumner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Sumner Hotel. The Sumner has the intimate charm of an elegant hotel. Located in the heart of London within strolling distance of Oxford Street shopping, the bright lights of West End, and the tranquility of Hyde Park. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London and features award winning management. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. About The Sumner: The Sumner is a townhouse hotel located in the heart of London, and features the same award winning management as its sister hotel, Five Sumner Place. Part of an 1820s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards whilst also preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics. Tradition is combined with modern comfort, and all rooms are designer decorated and luxuriously appointed. They all feature air conditioning, widescreen LCD, LED/3D TVs, free Broadband, as well as all traditional amenities. For those guests wishing to indulge in something extra special, we provide in addition to our standard rooms a number of larger Deluxe rooms that have been custom designed with Italian Ligne Rosset furniture. The hotels centrepiece is an intimate and elegant sitting room with an original fireplace and timber flooring, the perfect place to enjoy a drink before or after any excursion into the centre London, which literally lies on the hotels doorstep. Located less than five minutes walk from Marble Arch Tube station and Oxford Street, a five minute taxi ride from Paddington station from which the Heathrow Express service runs, and five minutes walk from the tranquility of Hyde Park the hotel is positioned so as to provide you with the choicest mix of excitement, convenience and comfort. The Sumner is at the centre of all that is great about London, and our knowledgeable staff will be able to advise you on all the best places to go and the best things to see. The Sumner is a brand new townhouse hotel located in the heart of London. Part of an 1830s Georgian Terrace the hotel has been fitted to the highest standards, preserving many of the buildings historical characteristics and combining contemporary luxurious design with warm friendly and attentive service. Sumner Hotel Location: How to find us: By tube: The nearest London Underground station is Marble Arch. From the station turn right on Oxford Street and go first right into Great Cumberland Place. Then turn third left into Upper Berkeley Street and continue for approx 100 m - we are at number 54 on the left. By car: Marble Arch is conveniently situated close to the A5, A40(M), A41 and A4(M) and can easily be reached from the Heathrow, Stansted and Luton airports. The Sumner Hotel is 9.0 Miles away from the London City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sumner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Hotel London
The Sumner Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing