We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with so/so location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH London Kensington
Ranked #248 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average hotel with so/so location.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking to hang around the Earls Court part of London, this hotel does the trick. Its larger than most of the small places that litter the area around the station, but also a little further to walk to. The Hotel itself felt old but looked new, not exactly my favorite vibe; sort of like they put new wallpaper on old walls.

Staff was very nice, and rooms while smallish, were nice and well equipped for the size. Overall no complaints, but not real amazing virtues of this place to write about either.

Let it be noted that my travel type is: Stay in the hotel only to sleep and not much more. There was a hotel bar that I did not take advantage of, though no gym, so all-in-all it was good place for sleep, but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Garden view was nice, I was told the street facing rooms were not noisy, but I just didn't buy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles-M-SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    664
    181
    45
    35
See reviews for
361
611
61
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I made two mistakes, I booked a Virgin Vacation and chose their option of the NH Kennsington in London. After 20 hours of travel we arrived at the hotel only to be told they had no room. I had, of course, pre-paid for the hotel. When I requested they put is in an equivalent hotel in the Kennisington area we were told there were no rooms and they put us in one of their hotels in a less desirable part of town. I would have left, but my wife was exhausted, so we stayed. The lesson, don't book a Virgin Vacation and don't book an NH Hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank thunterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is in a good location with quick access to the underground and supermarkets nearby. Housekeeping was excellent and room was cleaned thoroughly. The hotel even took notice that we were on our honeymoon and extended a very lovely gesture of sending a handwritten card and cake from the General Manager congratulating us.

This hotel is an superb option for the slightly budget conscious who do not want to compromise on accommodation quality!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We checked in behind a huge group of Japanese tourists and thought this was going to be the worst London stay ever but we were pleasantly surprised. Comfy beds quiet rooms and efficient reception. Room 103 needs a better flusher on the loo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here on the 25th February through to the 28th February 2013 and were in Room 511.
The Hotel is well located within easy walking distance of both Earls Court Tube Station and the Gloucester Road Tube, with Earls Court being slightly nearer.
The Reception Staff and others we met during our stay were both vey helpful and pleasant to speak and deal with.
Our Room had a slightly smaller Double Bed and should be borne in mind if requesting rooms.
There is an issue with the Bathroom sink taps which although modular and modern in appearance do not really mix the hot and cold water supply well, leaving it luke warm in the mornings. The shower however operates differently and is very good, so just be aware of this water supply anomoly when in the room.
The Air Conditioning heats the room well. The Room also had the benefit of an In Room safe which is very useful.
There was one day when the main bolier for the Hotel did not 'light up' leaving a rather cold awakening but they did recitfy and then it worked well. One of those things really which did not detract from how the Hotel as a whole performs.
We did not eat in the Restaurant at the Hotel in the evening so cannot comment here. There is a small Bar Area and this was a nice place to end the evening with great staff working there.
The breakfast was very good with a great selection to meet all tastes.
Be aware that there are large parties using this Hotel when touring, so if travelling as we do on business or for that matter as a couple for leisure, try and make it the earlier breakfast. We ate around 8am and had no issues. We did note that when leaving around 9.00am, the area was packed.
There is WiFi throughout the Hotel and this worked very well, so does assist with business and leisure whilst staying there.
This was a good stay for us and met our needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Terrific location - depending on how quickly you walk - five minutes to the Earl's Court Tube Station - direct to Heathrow and in to Central London.

Stayed for three nights with our 18 year old daughter. If you're expecting an American size, chain hotel room then this is not it but was completely acceptable for two adults and the price was great. Room was clean and well organized with built in storage unit. (Always appreciate not having to lug a hairdryer with an adapter overseas.)

Bathroom was large by European Standards.

One caveat that's been mentioned in previous posts is the quality of your "free" wireless connection. Great for smart phones and checking/sending a quick email or two. Don't expect it to load trip photos to your laptop.

Overall - great experience and would most definitely stay again...if the price is right of course.

Best health always,
SuperMom101

Room Tip: Loved that we could actually open a window (from the top) to circulate air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel due to the location, price and the fact breakfast was included. The room was clean however the bathroom had damp and In the morning the hot water wasn't working. I had to request for it to be fixed 3 times before I was even given an apology and it got sorted. A.c. worked but switched itself off after a few minutes. The breakfast was disappointing but there was a good selection. Bread was hard as dry. Staff were reasonably friendly. Location is good with many restaurants nearby and the underground a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
South Kensington
The Rockwell
The Rockwell
#285 of 1,067 in London
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH London Kensington

Property: NH London Kensington
Address: Cromwell Road 202-220, London SW5 0SW, England (Formerly NH Kensington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in London
#183 Luxury Hotel in London
#187 Business Hotel in London
#231 Family Hotel in London
#233 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH London Kensington is the beginning to a wonderful London getaway. Centrally located in London's Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, the hotel is surrounded by historic buildings, famous cultural institutions, and world-renowned destinations for shopping and nightlife. The perfect connecting to public transportation (5min walk to Earls Court Tube/ Bus Line 74 in front of the hotel) makes NH London Kensington the top spot for a weekend break, shopping trip or a great base to discover all beautiful sights of the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Kensington Hotel London
Nh Kensington London
Nh Hotel London
Nh Hotels London
NH London Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing