We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No parking”
Review of Hotel 55

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 55
Ranked #467 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Upon arrival we realised there are only 4 parking spaces!!! In the hotel information it says there is no need for reservation!
We had to drive round the back of the houses near that area and park outside somebody's house! We do not think that is acceptable! If you are driving up to London this hotel would be no good whatsoever! It disappointed us from the beginning and made our stay less enjoyable. On the plus side the receptionist - a dark haired male was very very helpful and did his best to help us when requiring a taxi to take us to wembley. Overall the stay was "okay" but don't really think that is good enough for a stay in London. This was our first time in London and we was hoping to be impressed! I dont think the prices reflect the hotel i think the prices are too high for the location, the room size and decor and the overall stay there. We wouldn't recommend staying there if u are a driver as more often than not you would not get a parking space. We will not stay there again -if we go to London we will look at our hotel stay more carefully.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 419 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I had a pleasant stay in this hotel whilst travel on business. The room was comfortable,well equipped and reasonably priced. Small touches like free bottled water and free wifi make the difference. The garden to the rear is very nice for relaxing with a drink. The only downside was having a road side room and being in the room next reception. This was a bit noisy however not enough to bother me too much. If you can, pay the little extra and get a garden side room.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms, road side could be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I came across Hotel 55 here in TripAdvisor and chose it due to a reasonable price and good reviews. The place did not disappoint.

Staff was extremely friendly in the reception as well as the Japanese restaurant that operates in the establishment. A late check-out for the two rooms we had was not an issue, we got plenty of wifi vouchers and our three 20 kg (44 lbs) luggages were carried to the second floor no problem.

The location was brilliant as the closest tube stop North Ealing, a station of the significant Piccadilly Line, was 100 m (500 ft) away. The Central Line was well within a walking distance as were many parks and central Ealing.

We had two garden view rooms, one upstairs and one downstairs. They were both very clean with a fantastic espresso maker, quality flatscreen (although modest in size) and an empty minibar to keep drinks in. They had well functioning air-conditioning which during a heat-spell of +26 degrees was fantastic. The other room was very small though so I suggest asking for a spacious room, whereas the other room had a view of a brick wall which didn't bother as this ensured quiet nights (the street traffic was quite heavy).

The Japanese restaurant operating in the hotel premises Momo was fantastic and had the friendliest staff I encountered during my year in England. I highly recommend having a meal there.

Overall, staying at Hotel 55 was a very pleasant experience and I would not hesitate booking a room there the next time I go to London.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the room as some are so small you would not be able to open a large suitcase w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel was absolutely fine, The room was clean and had all the facilities you would expect from a modern hotel. Free WiFi, tea/coffee machine, fridge and Air Conditioning (came in very useful as the three days we stopped here it was very warm in London). The check in was fine and was offered help with our bag as this hotel has no lifts. Breakfast was the only real let down to speak of as we found mouldy bread for toast and continental isn't really ideal...but each to thier own. We also found some of the staff a little miserable..cheer up guys! Great location in Ealing..the area was safe and the hotel is literally minutes from the Picadilly Line. There is a small block of shops nearby with a nice pub serving meals if you do not fancy the 30 minute tube ride into cenral London.

Room Tip: have a rear room, its on a busy road and it can be noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wren_Fuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I needed a place to stay for 1 night in London nearby Wembley area to watch football game and found this Hotel 55 as it is nearby underground station (just 2 min walk).

The clerk at check-in was very friendly and helpful. The room (#1 ground floor) was was big and clean, well decorated, and had a nice bathroom (shower only). The bed was very comfortable.

However I found out that there is a rust at the coffee maker and also the bathroom didn't work very well as I had to shower in cold water in morning and night.

I would prefer to stay at different hotel if I visit the same area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nazrin_navin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have stopped at this Hotel on many occasions, as it is convenient both for visiting family nearby and also cheaper than central London hotels. Tube station is just around the corner and takes about 30 mins to Covent Garden on the Picadilly line. There are some car parking spaces available, if you are lucky. Lovely garden at the back of the hotel that can be accessed through the dining room.
I usually stop in a ground floor room, facing Hangar Lane. These are supposed to be disabled rooms but apart from a lower hand basin and seat in the shower, there are no obvious aids, especially around the toilet. It can be quite noisy with traffic and other guests coming in and out but the rooms are reasonably priced, clean and with a lovely big wet room, which has toiletries and loads of hot water. Good heating/air con unit you can adjust to your liking, drinks maker and flat screen TV.
Continental breakfast only. Staff on reception and in dining room are very pleasant and helpful.
Downside - tea at breakfast was so weak, it looked like hot water and milk and there was no marmalade to be had in the hotel! I think many Brits would appreciate marmalade for their toast, or is it just me? Lots of jams, honey etc. I did mention this on departure.
All in all, good value for London.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel 55 at the end of March and had a wonderful stay. We arrived at the hotel a few hours before check in, so we had our bags held while we returned our rental car. When we returned they told us our room was ready and we had been upgraded to their suite. That was a real treat. It is in a small building across a small garden and as it is away from the road it is very quiet and peaceful. In the mornings all that can be heard is the birds outside of your window. It is a lovely room with a small kitchen area fully equipped with dishwasher, coffee maker, refrigerator, and washer/dryer. It also had a Nespresso machine and tea maker with all of the coffee and tea making accessories. The room was clean and well taken care of. In the mornings we were warmly greeted by staff who supplied us with tea and we were shown the assortment of continental breakfast items. We were all happy with the breads, yogurts, fruits, meats, and cheeses provided. There is a tube station just around the corner which was unfortunately closed the weekend we were staying there, but another is just a 10 minute walk away. We were also able to catch the Heathrow Connect train from that station so while it was a little bit of a walk with luggage it was an easy way to get to the airport. We would definitely stay there again when we are in London.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciteacher98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Ealing
1.1 mi away
The Fox & Goose Hotel
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#207 of 1,081 in London
1,091 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Xanadu
Hotel Xanadu
#281 of 1,081 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kingsland Hotel
Kingsland Hotel
#735 of 1,081 in London
437 reviews
9.2 mi away
Church Street Hotel
Church Street Hotel
#530 of 1,081 in London
451 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Hide London
The Hide London
#61 of 1,081 in London
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 55

Address: 55 Hanger Lane, London W5 3HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in London
#318 Business Hotel in London
#335 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $94 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 55 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 55 is a 29 room boutique hotel just a 2-minute walk from North Ealing Tube Station. Stylish accommodation with free internet is 25 minutes from central London by underground. Each air-conditioned room at Hotel 55 features a king-sized bed, flat-screen TV with freeview and a Nespresso Coffee Machine. They also include L'Occitane toiletries and minibars. Momo Japanese Restaurant is located within the hotel and serves authentic Japanese cuisine. Continental breakfast is served daily and it only costs £8.50 Per person. Our guests can also enjoy a drink in the elegant 24 hour lounge bar. Wembley Stadium and Kew gardens are both within a 3-mile radius of Hotel 55. The M4 is a 10-minute drive and there is limited parking available, on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
55 Hotel London
Best Western London
Hotel 55 London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing