We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
6 days cycling

Went on the Saturday night and was real happy with the seats that we had as was on the side and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Tony S
,
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Great venue for getting close to the action

One of the best things about velodromes is the proximity of the spectators to the action. This was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
1sammi
,
Leyburn, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 247 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from $34.27
More Info
from $31.70
More Info
from $56.80
More Info
from $57.40
More Info
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
172
46
11
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
46
11
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taster session olympic park road bike cycling event bmx track let loose free lockers hour session excellent track great cycling olympic venue west ham amazing venue own pace birthday present cyclists instructor
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

Went on the Saturday night and was real happy with the seats that we had as was on the side and just 5 rows from the front. Talk about close to the action!! Found the security and venue staff proffesional and helpful. Bar prices reasonable.
We were not to impressed with the food on offer but that may have been personal choice although we did hear similar comments from others there. We wished that we had eaten before going to the velodrome instead of waiting until we got there. Hence the 4 stars instead of 5.
That aside, a fantastic night of action.

Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your kind review. We’re pleased to hear you had a great time visiting us to see Six Day London, a night of brilliant cycling that we’re so happy to have had hosted again this year. If you think the fifth row was close to the action, you should get even closer and try it for yourself with one of our Track Taster sessions. More information can be found on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

One of the best things about velodromes is the proximity of the spectators to the action. This was for Six Day London, it’s a great event, top riders, male and female and a wide variety of different types of races.
There is a fantastic atmosphere but I found the DJ moronic (like he was on a club 18 - 30 holiday) although it didn’t really affect my enjoyment of the event.
There’s not much parking and the best bet is to park in the Westfield shopping centre and walk from there (about half a mile).
The food and drink inside the velodrome is pretty good too.

Thank 1sammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. It’s great to know that you enjoyed your visit to Lee Valley VeloPark, where we were privileged to host Six Day London once again. You can get even closer to the action by trying the track out for yourself with one of our Track Taster sessions (without a DJ this time, promise!) More information can be found on our website. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to the velopark for the 6 days event on the Saturday evening. All of the stay were polite and helpful and genuinely seemed happy to be doing what they were doing. The venue is very easy to get to and very well sign posted from the local area. Marshalls were posted quite some distance from the venue and I have to say they are the happiest marshalls I have ever come across. This is a fantastic venue and when it is full, with the crowd cheering the noise is amazing and the atmosphere is always incredible. I would definitely recommend it.

Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your brilliant review. We love hosting Six Day London at Lee Valley VeloPark and it’s great to know your experience at the event was a positive one. Six Day definitely injects more life into the venue, creating a vibrant outing for both cyclists and sport enthusiasts. Try one of our Track Taster sessions, allowing you to continue your cycling experience following in the footsteps of the champions you saw at Six Day London. More information can be found on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for the Six Days Cycling event on the Saturday.

The staff were very good from the security getting, to the reception for passes and people serving during the evening.

The location is nice and the facilities are kept clean and tidy.

The evening was really fun and the second time we have been and likely to return.

Thank rice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review. We’re pleased to host Six Day London once again at Lee Valley VeloPark this year. You should try on of our Track Taster sessions and get an even closer look at the track and experience the thrill of cycling champs. More information can be found on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You will not regret going to the Velopark if nothing else for the building alone. It is just an absolutely stunning space, modern, sustainable and a joy to be in.

Food concessions are decent and Carly reasonably priced given the profile and London location.

If you have never been to a cycling event (as we had not) then go you will enjoy it garaunteed. 6 day London was a wonderful event and great entertainment.

Thank 207NeilM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and recommendation, we’re pleased to know you enjoyed your time at Lee Valley VeloPark. Six Day London is an excellent event for keen cyclist lovers or for someone who has never cycled in their life, the buzz of the event will create a great experience for all of the family. Our Track Taster sessions is a great place for beginners to get on the track and experience the thrill of cycling in the velodrome first hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliantly organised and good instruction. You do need to be a pretty confident and stress no rider to get the most out of the experience. We found riding around the very steep banking on fixed wheel bikes with no brakes and 18 people close together on the track quite a challenge. We are now even more in awe than we were already of the professional cyclists and how easy they make it look.

Thank deanh206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review. It’s great to hear you had a go on the track and enjoyed your experience. The professionals do really make it look easy. We hope to see you again for another Taster Session soon, perhaps for a Flying Lap Taster and see how you compare to the pros.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

I bought my husband a track taster session for his birthday and he absolutely loved it! It was amazing to see him and the others in his session whizz around the track like the Olympians we’ve seen on our screen. The whole village is world standard, clean, peaceful and the best thing to have happened to this part of London. Husband came away from the session saying it was the best birthday present ever. Major brownie points for me then. And the coffee wasn’t too bad either.

Thank amritaw2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your brilliant review. Glad to hear we were able to help your husband’s birthday be a great day out. The atmosphere here is truly amazing whether you’re spectating or taking part in one of our exciting sessions. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for your birthday next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Took part in the track taster session. Don’t go cycling at all but thought it sounded fun. Really great experience. Was fortunate to be as a group of two. Lots of time on the track. Were taken in steps through how to ride. No pressure at all to race or go to the top. Started on the flats then on the light blue transition zone and slowly taken up higher the track. By the end the other man in my session and myself were both cycling around at the top (completely free though - the coach didn’t make you do this as an exercise but we just did in the free time at the end). Would thoroughly recommend it. Very much enjoyed it.
Spectators can watch for free in the seating areas and take photos.
Can take a water bottle to the side of the track too if you like - I’d recommend.

Thank traveller723723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018


Thanks for your great review, it’s great to hear you had a fun filled session with us. Maybe you could try a Flying Lap Taster session next and see how you compare to the professionals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Just returned from The Velodrome having done the one hour taster session with my son.
Brilliant.
I do ride fairly frequently but not on a fixed wheel road bike so I was a bit nervous. The staff were, imo, very competent and went through the safety briefing quickly and efficiently.
Once we got going on track our confidence quickly increased and and riding on the steep banking became enjoyable.
My advice is give it a go.Just ride at your own pace and don't worry if others are going quicker. It's not a race.
Also take some water. You're going to need.
And don't forget to register your car when you get there for four hours free parking.

Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley VeloPark, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018


Thank you for your kind review. We’re happy to hear that you and your son had a great experience and felt comfortable with our highly trained staff. We hope to see you both again soon for another experience at Lee Valley VeloPark.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

If you a normal mortal being........

You cannot play Football at Wembley

You cannot play Rugby at Twickenham

and you certainly cannot knock a tennis ball over the net at Wimbledon

But................. you can ride the Olympic Velodrome at the Olympic Park London.

What a super day out we had at the London Velodrome.

We are a small group of old friends who road cycle together regularly on Sunday mornings on this Sunday had booked for a taster session at the Velodrome.

The venue has been very well maintained since those heady days in the Summer of 2012 and is very clean.

Echos of Sir Chris, Sir Brad and Laura Trott are woven into the fabric of the track.

4 hours of free parking outside and excellent staff helped the experience.

Spectators are welcomed and can sit anywhere in the stands and the cafe was open.

We hired the shoes as the pedals were not suited to our road bike cleats, but there is a reason for this as they are fixed pretty tightly because you really don't want them coming out when fix wheel peddling at speed.

All the kit including the bikes are in top condition and our instructor was friendly, happy and communicated well.

So will you get to ride a the top of the track......if you want to.....absolutely you will. Whilst the walls are steep, you will graduate quickly as your confidence increases.

What a breathless buzz.

This is harder work than you might originally think, but hey its also addictive.

One hour later we were all a little hot but very happy.

There are showers in the changing room and you may well need them.

Great experience

Thank Philgoodwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews