We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location for tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Tower Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Tower Bridge to your Saves list
Hilton London Tower Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England (Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #191 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Poor location for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our 1st London hotel stop in our 2-week mini-tour....

Modern hotel (kinda like the W in San Francisco) w/ good amenities, comfortable beds & great water pressure. Their restaurant is the pits & ended up being one of the most expensive, worst tasting meals we had

Super-near Tower Bridge but on the more businessie side of London, we found the location to be a bit inconvenient - took a while to get everywhere & seemed like we always had to take the Tube (hardly anything w/in walking distance)

It was nice to be able to walk across Tower Bridge & over to the Tower of London but that was about it as far as touristy spots - except for some kind of horror-prison-type thing that did not at all appeal to us.

So probably wouldn't stay here again but only for location. The rooms were really nice & the staff was extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found the staff attentive. I am a little concerned that you felt our location was poor for tourists. We are ideally located in terms of Southbank and Westminster, Tate Modern, Tower Bridge, Borough Market, The Shard, Tower of London, London Dungeons and the War Museum. In addition to this we are located across the road from London Bridge which gives you direct access to both the Northern and Jubilee lines. We are located on a major bus route, overground and underground.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lendelede, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights,2 adults and a child. With arrival we were pleasantly suprised that our upgrated room was already available. the room was very clean, spacious and beautiful. The products we received in the bathroom were from a very good quality and very much appreciated. The breakfast was perfect. We couldn't ask for more. The tiny complain that we have is the extra bed. For the price we payed, we expected a much more comfortable bed. we also experienced the fire alarm on New Years Eve. But the staff were very professional and we were all informed in 15 min. about what was going on. thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your New Year stay so much and that you enjoyed the food quality.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lovely new and clean hotel, excellent location, very friendly reception staff checked us in early (10am) for no extra charge. Great value, would use again. Didn't pay for breakfast, but there are lots of cafes and restaurants on your doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatters84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure granting you a free early check-in. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
618 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed here for the weekend and was impressed by most aspects of our stay at this hotel. We have stayed at a number of Hiltons in London and this was close to our best experience.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded as it was my birthday and so had access to the executive lounge.Whilst taking on board some of the comments about the food the standard was generally ok with breakfast a bit chaotic due to the numbers but it was the weekend. It was also ncie to have a drinl before venturing out at night and the service in the lounge was very attentive.
The rooms were very comfortable and we enjoyed a very good and peaceful nights sleep and the shower in the morning was powerful and refreshing.
The rooms are a little small but on a par with most London hotels.
Perfectly placed just 5 minutes walk from London Bridge underground and also just 25 minutes stroll up the river to Westminster.
The big plus to see is Borough Market which is a foodies paradise especially on a Saturday morning.
We would use this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for posting feedback about your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the room so comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in a good location. I was not thrilled with the comfort of the beds, but they certainly could have been worse. The price of Wi Fi is astronomical. If you are on the Executive floors, the lounge had two computers, and some mediocre food and drink. BE SURE to check your bill carefully prior to check out. We had a dozen questionable charges that had to be removed. If you TOUCH anything in the Mini Bar, you will be charged for MOVING IT. Finally, we had a 5:30 a.m. fire alarm on the morning of our check out. Nobody was evacuated, but everybody was AWAKE.

Room Tip: We stayed on the tenth floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCSpacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I am glad that you liked the location of our hotel but noted your comment about the bed comfort. We replaced all mattresses in March 2012 so they are all new. With regards to WiFi, we provide free to guest WiFi in all public areas and free internet in the Executive Lounge for qualifying guests.

I was sorry to hear that you found the food offering in the lounge to be mediocre as we always receive rave reviews about the quality and variety. The mini-bars are automated thus if you move any item they will be charged, however I am glad that my team reversed your charges once establishing that you had not consumed anything.

Finally with regards to the fire alarm, although we apologise for the disrupted sleep, policies and procedures are in place to protect the lives of staff and guests, thus every precaution must be taken when an alarm sounds. It is out of control as to when an alarm might sound.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, MD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We loved everything about this hotel! We stayed three nights previously at the Hilton Paddington, which was ok, but not great! This hotel is new (2006) and in a good location. An easy walk to the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, London Bridge, Globe Theatre and Tate Modern. The riverwalk was wonderful. We had access to the Executive Lounge which we LOVED! We had a great breakfast each morning and sometimes had lunch and dinner there. They also had complimentary drinks (spirits, wine, beer, sodas and juices) and snacks. This was probably our favorite thing about the hotel! The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Service was excellent, from housekeeping, front desk and concierge.

Room Tip: Ask if you can be upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klg_Centreville_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We appreciate the time taken to provide us with feedback about your stay with us. I was glad to read that you loved the location, our rooms, executive lounge and the overall food quality.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 1 week. Very Nice located, friendly staff, very clean. No complaints.
But it is not a cosy hotel. If you are looking for a romantic, typical British hotel, look further.
If you want a luxury business hotel, this is great. We had a great stay in an executive room with breakfast included.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay so much.

My team really do pride themselves in offering superior service in a relaxed environment.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#317 of 1,058 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 4,243 reviews
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#111 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Tower Bridge

Address: 5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in London
#88 Business Hotel in London
#94 Family Hotel in London
#130 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of one of the capital's most renowned historical landmarks, Hilton London Tower Bridge is on the doorstep of the city's financial and shopping districts. We're located in a prime sightseeing location, near to many of London's top tourist attractions. This, combined with fantastic dining, stylish rooms and first-class business and leisure facilities, means we have everything you need for an unforgettable stay in London. A choice of elegant rooms and suites await your arrival at Hilton London Tower Bridge. Select a spacious Suite with a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room to benefit from free breakfast each morning, refreshments through the day, and spectacular London views from the terrace. We offer a fantastic sightseeing location, within walking distance of the Shard, Shakespeare's Globe, trendy Borough Market, Tate Modern, HMS Belfast and the Tower of London. London Bridge Station is a 3-minute walk away, giving easy access via the Northern and Jubilee Lines to London attractions including Buckingham Palace, Westminster, the West End, Canary Wharf and the O2. Sip cocktails with family and friends in the lively atmosphere of the stylish TwoRuba Bar. Book a table for afternoon tea or simply relax with a newspaper and a fresh coffee. Feeling peckish? Sample mouth-watering snacks from the lunch and dinner menus. Drawing inspiration from the Italian way of life, Jamie's Italian is all about relaxing, sharing great food and enjoying each other's company. With its laid-back atmosphere, Jamie's Italian is the perfect spot to unwind with family and friends, while tucking into fresh pasta, beautiful antipasti, and delicious desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Hilton London Hotel Bridge
London Hilton
Hilton Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing