We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Tower Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Ranked #174 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I love Hilton Tower Bridge. It is a large, modern, well-kept property in a really good area to stay in which is well connected. The station is a 3-4 minute walk from where you can be at Westminster/Bond street in around 10 minutes by tube or Gatwick in 30 minutes by train.

I might have a slightly more optimistic view of this hotel than average as I have been upgraded to an exec room on each occasion (as HHonors Gold) but I think I'd still like it irrespective. The room was large, nicely furnished and perfectly clean. The bathroom was spot on and had a terrific shower, separate from the bath.

The exec lounge is one of the best in UK hilton's I have been to, with a really good breakfast - amazing spread of options. Afternoon tea has some truly wicked cakes and the hors d'oeuvres served with the evening drinks are substantial enough for tea!

My advice is not to be put off by the patrons discontented with their afternoon tea experiences and book a stay here without hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abracadabra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your stay with us at Hilton London Tower Bridge. I was happy to read that you found the rooms to be large, modern and well-kept.

It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the executive room upgrade so much as well as the lounge offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    1,142
    206
    70
    45
See reviews for
539
1,503
232
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After reading a previous negative review regarding the festive tea at Hilton Tower Bridge I was sceptical of the experience we were in for. Having returned to see another person comment on here I feel obliged to write my own response as my experience was totally the opposite.

My visit with my girl friend was everything that a festive tea should be at a modern hotel. Everything was included that was described to me and more. We had sandwiches were clearly freshly made, a variety of cheeses including cheddar, stilton and some mulled wine figs. Our desserts were fresh and rich, just as you would expect.

I have been to 'Afternoon Teas' at several high end West End hotels, all of which were expensive and not always good value for money. This was not a 'classic' tea inat one of these hotels, but a tea inspired by Christmas at once of the most modern Hiltons I have been too and it hit every note. As for the comment on crockery, I disagree - it certainly did not appear cheap and really added to the feel that this was an alternative and enjoyable experience, not some stuffy scene in a library.

I do agree with that the staff were great and added to the occasion and it got us off to a really good start to our festive season.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for the honest feedback. We encourage feedback whether positive or negative as this allows us the opportunity to improve our service and quality levels.

I am glad that you and your girlfriend enjoyed the festive tea offering so much. Our brigade of chefs worked very hard to tailor make a high quality festive offering filled with traditional treats. Unfortunately one cannot please everyone 100% of the time but my team and I do try our best to do just that. I am glad that we not only met but exceeded your expectations.

We wish you a very Merry Christmas and hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff were nice but the Afternoon tea at the Hilton was very disappointing. Admittedly we got it on special - I would have hated to pay £54 for it! Why do restaurants always assume veggies eat eggs and fish? I eat neither so they could only offer me cheese sandwich with white cut bread. (The normal choice was turkey and stuffing s/wich or ham and mustard or salmon). There was 1 miniature mince pie, 1 tiny stollen and a tiny piece of cake each and to share 4 oat biscuits, cheese, 10 grapes, 6 redcurrants 2 dried apricots and 2 walnut halves, plus 1 cup of tea or coffee per person.
Tea on the City Cruise boats was double the amount with a variety of veggie sandwiches, including roasted vegetable on granary bread, and at half the price, plus as much tea and coffee as you wanted. Also a much better deal at Orsett Hall in Essex, in beautiful, luxurious surroundings at only £16.50 a head - they are aware how plentiful their teas are as they always give you a box to take take home what you can't eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disappointed254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea. When we developed the Festive Afternoon Tea we did not offer a vegetarian offering as this was supposed to be a traditional Christmas offering and as a result we included items such as Turkey.

My team are however able to accommodate requests for vegetarian offerings if arranged in advance at the time of making the booking. Such requests would then be for a Vegetarian Afternoon Tea and not the Festive Afternoon Tea which is the deal you purchased.

We have received numerous positive comments about our Festive Afternoon Tea and quite a few guests have purchased return vouchers at the full purchase price to return to us over the Christmas period as they have enjoyed the offering so much.

Again please accept my apologies for not having enjoyed your afternoon tea but I trust that you will not judge us solely on this experience as it is not indicative of our high service standards and quality levels.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

thirteen of us went for afternoon tea here using a travelzoo voucher. this was two teas for £25. As they usually charge £25 per head, we thought this was a very good deal.
The first impression that the restaurant gives is a good one, but on closer inspection you see that it is just that, an impression.
the cups and saucers are melamine, not china, and you are offered tea or coffee, no choice of tea, strange considering they have a whole display or different tea on show!!
Now on to the tea itself. where do i begin?
Whte bread was stale, sandwiches had been madw well in advance and obviously refridgerated and were still hard and icy cold. The cakes were all stale and obviously bought in, but the bigest insult was the piece of stilton cheese for two. Not only was it the smallet triangle ever, it was old and dry. We were supposed to have chocolate coins and truffles. None!!! Also mulled wine figs, this was a sliver of a fig and a piece of cinnamon stick.
This has to be the worst Afternoon Tea I have experienced. Do yourself a favour, pay another £4 and go to Harrods. By far the best tea in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I was sorry to hear that you did not like the festive afternoon tea. We have received overwhelmingly positive reviews about this and I can assure you that all items are freshly prepared on the day for the day. The crockery used for the afternoon tea is our standard hotel quality and not melamine.

We do sincerely hope that you will not judge us solely on this one occasion as your experience is not indicative of our high standards of service and quality.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The receptionist was very polite, made small talk with us while checking us in. We had a free upgrade to an Executive room, we couldn't fault the room & the bed was just right, not to soft & not to hard. Overall the Hilton made our time in London very special.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyikos1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
We appreciate the time taken to post feedback and were so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hilton London Tower Bridge.

I was pleased to hear that my reception team were so polite and friendly when you checked in. It was great to read that you enjoyed the free upgrade to the Executive room.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nothing to fault with this hotel, great location, and to top it all, smoking rooms, that were not grotty and smelly, it was a fantastic stay, the rooms were really comfortable, very clean. We were staying at the Hilton with friends for a weekend in London, and it was one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in, I have to say the smoking facility made it better for me, but also for our friends who are non smokers, as we weren't hanging round outside puffing!!!!
This is a great location, so close to the underground station. The location of the hotel is very very noisy, but just close your window, and you won't hear a thing!!!!!!!!!
No more to say, except FAB FAB FAB

Room Tip: If you do still have the horrible habit like me, as for a smoking room!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It is always great to receive customer feedback and we thank you for the time taken to post feedback.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Located a few blocks from the London Bridge Underground station on the south side of the River across from the Tower of London.

New construction, modern hotel with standard American chain sized rooms, spacious and clean modern bathroom and comfortable, well appointed room. Hotel has a spacious (busy) lobby, modern gym and offers an Executive Lounge with a nice roof deck.

Friendly staff and convenient location enhanced the visit. Short walk from hotel to Tower Bridge (which has pedestrian walk-way) and into heart of things. London Bridge Underground station a few short blocks walk has access to Julibee Line and Northern line. Hotel is located on a commercial block with access to outdoor arcade with restaurants, shops and great view across the river. Main Street where hotel is located has supermarket, several convenience stores and (of course) pub.

Easy point to explore from and nice modern room when you return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CMMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sven G, General Manager at Hilton London Tower Bridge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay finding our location so central and my team so friendly and efficient.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Sven M. Goosen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#108 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,375 reviews
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Tower
#247 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 5,125 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#65 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#85 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Tower Bridge

Property: Hilton London Tower Bridge
Address: 5 More London - Tooley Street, London SE1 2BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in London
#88 Business Hotel in London
#93 Family Hotel in London
#130 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Tower Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of one of the capital's most renowned historical landmarks, Hilton London Tower Bridge is on the doorstep of the city's financial and shopping districts. We're located in a prime sightseeing location, near to many of London's top tourist attractions. This, combined with fantastic dining, stylish rooms and first-class business and leisure facilities, means we have everything you need for an unforgettable stay in London. A choice of elegant rooms and suites await your arrival at Hilton London Tower Bridge. Select a spacious Suite with a separate living room and upgraded amenities. Upgrade to an Executive room to benefit from free breakfast each morning, refreshments through the day, and spectacular London views from the terrace. We offer a fantastic sightseeing location, within walking distance of the Shard, Shakespeare's Globe, trendy Borough Market, Tate Modern, HMS Belfast and the Tower of London. London Bridge Station is a 3-minute walk away, giving easy access via the Northern and Jubilee Lines to London attractions including Buckingham Palace, Westminster, the West End, Canary Wharf and the O2. Sip cocktails with family and friends in the lively atmosphere of the stylish TwoRuba Bar. Book a table for afternoon tea or simply relax with a newspaper and a fresh coffee. Feeling peckish? Sample mouth-watering snacks from the lunch and dinner menus. Drawing inspiration from the Italian way of life, Jamie's Italian is all about relaxing, sharing great food and enjoying each other's company. With its laid-back atmosphere, Jamie's Italian is the perfect spot to unwind with family and friends, while tucking into fresh pasta, beautiful antipasti, and delicious desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton London Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Hilton London Hotel Bridge
London Hilton
Hilton Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing