We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montagu Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Place Hotel
Ranked #171 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Le Vesinet, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Friendly and Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a nice little hotel, not too far away from the action, but not too close so it is quite and relax.
The staff is discreet and friendly, the rooms as well.
I would avoid the basement bedrooms though, a bit more noisy.
A great place to stay to really enjoy a few days in London.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregoire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arron D, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your feedback on TripAdvisor - your feedback is really appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope you had a great time at Montagu Place Hotel, London.
Thank you for your comment regarding our location and your overall experience with our team members. Comments like yours truly inspire us to work harder every day and striving for Excellence in everything we do.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Montagu Place in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Arron Dorjbat - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    108
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
54
214
41
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very nice and the staff, as per other reviews were very attentive and could not do enough for you.
As they realised we were in our room, rather than have the housekeeping staff knock on our door, they phoned up to us to find out when we wanted our room serviced. We had 3 or 4 other requests and they were very quick on doing all of those.
The website we booked on told us the breakfast was £23 but it actually turned out to be £14, and while we still did not have breakfast, it looked very nice. The staff were happy to recommend other places where we could have breakfast.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Montagu Place hotel and sharing your experience. Guest feedback helps us measure our performance and we appreciate your taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments and feedback will certainly be shared with all our staff.

Once again, thank you for your generous score and we certainly look forward to another opportunity of accommodating you again!

Warm regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

What a great find, delightful, spotless boutique hotel with such wonderful staff. Lovely location, very comfortable bed and staff who do everything to make sure you are comfortable. I'm delighted to have found this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lp9994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your feedback on TripAdvisor; your feedback is really appreciated.

Our team really enjoys delivering great guest experiences. I have shared your comments with our team and it makes them want to keep doing great work.

Thank you once again for your wonderful comments on our hotel decoration, facilities as well as room amenities. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 with my mum, and have stayed several time prior to this with my husband over the last few years. This is a small friendly hotel, the rooms are tastefully decorated and the well appointed bathrooms have Complimentary Molten Brown toiletries. We stayed in the Swanky Room, which had a enormous bed ( we had been told they would make it into two singles for my mother & I but this hasn't been done when we arrived so we decided to leave it as a very large king size bed!) The hotel is a short walk from Baker Street tube station, so very convenient for getting about. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing for a smaller hotel, although you need to be agile as its in a townhouse so if you get a room on the top floors there's a lot of stairs! We didn't eat breakfast here as we thought it quite pricey at £14 each on top of the room rate, and preferred to walk to a nearby cafe for pastries and coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback from your recent stay at Montagu Place Hotel, we are pleased that you and your mum enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly appreciate your valuable insights on what is important for our guests; from the location to the comfort of our beds; decoration. Indeed, it is a pleasure to be your hotel in London.

While we are glad that you were generally happy with the hotel, we apologize for the mismanaging in following up on your request for twin beds. We strive to provide our guests with an efficient and excellent service; we would therefore follow up on your feedback with the appropriate department.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to London.

Warm regards,

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lovely townhouse in central London in quiet road. Clean spacious rooms including real coffee! Nice contemporary feel and very friendly staff in great location, being near Selfridges & all the restaurants in Marylebone & a bus ride from Eurostar. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojowho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and post your feedback on TripAdvisor; your feedback is really appreciated.

We evaluate your high regard of our hotel location, cleanliness, room facilities as well as amenities. We are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back you again.

Warm regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wendyducati
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Booked in for one night. Modern beige - brown good quality decor in good order. Very pleasant helpful staff. Clean room comfy bed, ours was on 2nd floor, the only downside was due to the age of the building. The water pipes had a tendency to bang and could hear the upstairs residents creaking about -and quite clearly having sex albeit briefly!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyducati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Montagu Place Hotel.

We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, cleanliness as well as the décor and our amenities, were all to your likes. Our staff work very hard so positive feedback such as yours is always a pleasure to read and pass onto them. I am pleased that your time with us was comfortable and enjoyable.

While we are glad that you were generally happy with the hotel, I am sorry to hear that the noises from upstairs prevented you from fully enjoy your stay in Montagu Place Hotel and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay and I hope this incidents will not deter your from visiting us again in the future. Should you require any further assistance from us please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be more than happy to assist you personally.

Kind regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location just off Baker St close to tube station. The staff are poltie but not accomadating.
We stayed for 2 nights in room number 2 down the stairs, the room is a good size. However the duvet and pilows neeed to be replaced, they are old and not fit for use, patchy with stuffing!
The noise coming from the night staff just up the stairs is so loud all the floors creeks and they set up for breakfast at around 5 am, you can hear the phone ringing and other peoples toilet flushing!

This really has put me off staying here again.
Sorry about poasting poor reviews but im just being honest. Maybe they should put this room as an offic e or store room its not a good hotel room at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal M, General Manager at Montagu Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback on TripAdvisor on your recent stay at Montagu Place Hotel. It is regretful to hear that we missed the opportunity to create a positive experience for you. I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for this to you.

As per the noise issue I would like to thank you for addressing this. Only a few days after your departure we had the entire ground floor soundproofed to prevent our future guests from similar negative experience.

Moreover as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest value, may you give us the chance to make your next stay with us nothing else but perfect, please do feel free to contact us directly and we will make sure for that to happen.


Once again please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in this occasion and I hope this experience will not deter your from visiting us again in the future.

Kind regards

Michal Michalik
General Manager
Montagu Place Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#58 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,822 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#117 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,343 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#310 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#405 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#238 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Place Hotel

Property: Montagu Place Hotel
Address: 2 - 3 Montagu Place | Marylebone, London W1H 2ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Romantic Hotel in London
#92 Family Hotel in London
#132 Luxury Hotel in London
#154 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Place Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate, boutique hotel, set in a listed Georgian townhouse, offers you stylish accommodation in a quiet residential street, just a short walk from some of London's leading thoroughfares. With just 16 bedrooms, the hotel is small enough to be cozy and welcoming, yet offers the amenities you would associate with a much larger hotel. With dedicated staff providing a high level of personal service Montagu Place can truly be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Montagu Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Place London
Hotel Montagu Place
Montagu Place Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing