We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room with 18 noisy/creaky beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
Ranked #19 of 909 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hostel itself is great and kitted out leather sofas, a bar and restaurant. breakfast isnt bad either. Another rarity for a hostel was CAR PARKING! that was an absolutely god send.

However I stayed in a 18 bedroom Dorm that the Palmers Lodge has to offer! where the floor boards creak below your feet and above your head. Then the next disappoint the mattresses were so hard that i could only sleep for 2 hours at a time to the point where i woke up the following day stiff and completely restless!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianlewis_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

599 - 605 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you are coming for a quick trip to London, the place is definitively the right one for you. There are two tube stations in less than a 5 minute walk, also if you are coming from Luton or Stansted airport (budget travelers usually do), the coaches will leave you in one of these two stations. You can reach the Green Park Station (Buckingham Palace) in 10 minutes.
Staff is the greatest asset: they are helpful, multilingual, nice and cheery. Also good value for money!

Only disadvantage: VERY small room. I guess one can't expect a lot considering it is London...

Room Tip: Even if you book a private ensuite room, it is most likely not what you and your significant other w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finanzkoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Me and my friends stayed here for a couple of nights over a weekend. We enjoyed our stay very much as the staff were both friendly and helpful at all times, apart from the cleaners who like to stick to their schedule for cleaning toilets/bathrooms. It was also very quiet for a busy hostel.

When we arrived early the staff let us drop off our bags in a locked shed.

As the room we chose wasn't a private room we had a spare bed and it was filled with a stranger who liked to keep himself to himself, both nights of our stay. The room was spacious and clean.

The only issue I think any of us had with the Palmers Lodge was the location. It's not in the centre of London which means having to get the tube every time, but it probably took no longer than 20 minutes to get from our rooms to where we wanted to go.

Overall I probably would stay here again, if it was with a group of friends and all we needed was a bed and shower.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with a group of 5 friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lankeymarlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Never been in hostels before, what a mistake.
I have met a lot of people from all over Europe. The hostel bar is amazing, nice and relaxed atmosphere. The reception staff is very friendly. I have found the hostel clean at all time, nice that you can close the shower. I will definitely go back to Swiss cottage next time in London.
Free breakfast and free internet. All it`s a plus.

Room Tip: I was in the room 003, very spacious and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi !

Thank you for your comment!

We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Palmers Lodge!

Please come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights in an 18 bed mixed dorm. The building is amazing with lots of charm. The room felt very spacious, and the curtains provided privacy for the bed which I liked. Staff were friendly and the other guests were nice. Close to transport, both buses and underground. I would highly recommend this hostel when visiting London. It may be a bit more expensive than others, but from experience it is very much worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi there and thank you for your nice review!

We are glad to hear that you had a good stay in our hostel.

Hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great hostel. They have a amazing infrastructure. The rooms are very confortable. The breaksfast is amazing. They also offers meals for a reasonable price. It is a little far from the city centre but it's pretty close to a metro station so it wasn't a real problem.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_Carolina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio C, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Hi there !

Thank you for your comment.

We are happy to hear you had a great experience with us.

Hope to see you staying with us again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have stayed here before and been very happy. This time I splashed out on booking a double bedded room, with en suite, for myself. For the price - and I know it was New Year's Eve - it was a bit disappointing. Smallish double bed - good thing it was only me. Quite noisy when I went to bed - 2am - but as it was NYE and I was tired it wasn't that bad. What was annoying though was the early morning noise - restocking the bar which was not many feet from my head. The room was small and the wooden frame of the bed quite near the door to the bathroom - I managed to hit my leg on it hard. I still love the hostel and will stay again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareFree5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico C, Director of Sales at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi there and thank you for your review,


We're sorry that you didn't have the best experience this time. Hopefully the next time will be much better. And as always, we will try to improve and bring you the best possible service.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 909 in London
2,621 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#45 of 909 in London
585 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 909 in London
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

Address: 40 College Crescent | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 5LB, England (Formerly Swiss Cottage)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 909 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $18 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the multiple award winning boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge, where you can experience Victorian elegance in the former home of Samuel Palmer, of the Huntley and Palmer's biscuit empire. Built in 1881, this substantial house has been restored to its original glory in order to offer our guests not just budget accommodation but also a unique experience during their stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmers Hotel London
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing