We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
Ranked #21 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had a very nice stay at Palmer's - good breakfast, quiet (when I was there), great building, nice privacy with the curtains, centrally located. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirrledTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico C, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi there and thank you for your kind words.

It makes us very happy to hear that you have s nice stay with us.
We hope to see you with us soon!


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    532
    179
    65
    31
See reviews for
77
154
521
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was very surprised by the cleanliness and roominess of the hostel and its rooms. I have stayed in hostels before, and expected Palmer's Lodge to be similar. I loved the building and the attention to detail. The common room and free wi-fi was great as well. It was a wonderful place to go and chill after a long day of walking. It also gave us an opportunity to meet fellow travellers and make connections. The rooms were great, I love that the bed were three walled, and that there was a curtain. Lots of privacy, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were incredibly friendly, and allowed us to keep our pack at the hostel after we had checked out. Fantastic neighborhood in Camden, and right by a metro stop. I would recommed Palmer's Lodge to anyone staying in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, hope you come back soon!

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Living just south of London I needed to be at work in Camden Town at 7:30am one morning so decided to stay at Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage instead of getting on a train at 5am. I'm usually not a hostel person however Palmers Lodge was very clean and quiet. I stayed in B08 female dorm and it was clean the bunks are made on your arrival so you don't have to try to make your bed with others sleeping around you. The privacy curtains are great and the bunks do have a personal reading light in them so you don't bother the whole room (mine was either pulled out by the person below or the globe had gone I mentioned it to the lady checking out and she said she would be on top of it before the next person stayed) . Showers are on 30 second timers to save water which is a little annoying but you deal with it. Over all happy with the nights stay and had a nice chat with other travelers in the room by the bar. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily_2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi, glad to pleasantly surprise you and that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Well, I guess I will be the grumpy traveler who has to throw the wrench into the rave reviews. Like what others said, I did a fair amount of research in Palmers Lodge before booking 5 nights after reading the rave reviews. So right to the point, here are the Pros and Cons

PROS:
-Great price
-Reasonable location from Central London
-Yummy free breakfast
-Free Wifi

CONS:
-Too many people at any given time (at least when I came in the month of October) causing loud environment and squished walking space
-Lack of number of sinks for so many people
-Smelly rooms that reminded me of my old gym locker...ugh
-Teenagers constantly running around and making noise at night

As you can see, my major gripe was the amount of people funneling into the hostel day in and day out. Everyday, there would always be 2 to 3 buses full of teenagers being shuffled into the hostel. I always had to make sure to get my breakfast early or leave the hostel during the afternoon because that's when the kids either left during checkout or came in during check in.

The bathrooms were always full of people in peak times meaning you would have to find other places to go and if you didn't have a computer, good luck. Think about sharing 3 computers with 15+ teenagers crammed in one room at any given time - not fun.

The worst part though was during the night time. Of all the nights I stayed there, I never had ONE good night sleep. It would either be the teenagers slamming stuff on the ceiling, or my neighbors snoring all over the place (which can't be helped I must admit), to even worst construction work being down outside in the early morning.

Palmers Lodge IS a good hostel if they could simply limit the amount of people that crowds the hallways, bathroom, and lounge, during peak hours. The location is fine, the pricing is just right, and the food and bar is a gem. Maybe they became too popular for their own good and couldn't hold so many people.

I really wanted to give this place a good review, but in the end, it's all about the user's "enjoyability" during his stay...and I never had ONE good night sleep. Case closed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello
Thanks for your review, we do sometimes have to run a fine line between school groups and regular guests, especially during September, October, March and April. We do have 24 hour staff and take damage/noise deposits from the groups so that if anyone complains and wants to be moved we deduct it from their deposit. We are looking at reducing the number of groups we're taking in the future dramatically however.

As for sinks we are slightly limited by the building in what we can do as it's Grade 2 listed both inside and out, meaning we can't touch the floors or the walls in most rooms. So it's tricky to add more bathrooms, sinks and showers. We are planning on building a small annex soon which will add another 5 showers and 6 toilets.

As for the smell, we are planning on quick refurbishments in the rooms over this winter but sadly some peoples feet are just a bit smelly.

Should you ever want to stay with us again please get in contact and we can arrange some small discount/free drink :)

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucan, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Spent two nights at this hostel.. The staff were warm and friendly when I arrived at 2:30 (thx to Ryanair). The room are a nice size and the curtain on the bunks give a little privacy..The gaps to get into the top bunks are a little narrow but that's not a big deal. The location is two minutes from Swiss Cottages Tube station which is convenient for those going by public transport...which takes only one train change after you arrive on Stansted Express at Liverpool Street.

Room Tip: Wider gaps required in top bunks is my only qualm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipshakeirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hey there, sorry to hear about your Ryan Air problems. Glad we were there to make you feel at home. Hope you can come back soon!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at Palmers Lodge for 3 nights. The hostel is located in a very posh neighbourhood, Swiss Cottage. It is also in a central location, on the Jubilee line which gets you into central London in 15 minutes. The building is an old Victoria building, but, it is quite modern inside. The place is very clean. The hostel offers free breakfast with a wide selection to choose from, juices, breads, pastry, coffees, teas etc. The breakfast is delicious. The staff are friendly and efficient. There is a louge equipped with computers and a huge flat screen TV which makes it a nice, comfortable place to hangout. The rooms are spacious and clean. Each bed is equipped with a lamp and electrical outlets. At Palmers Lodge you get value for your money; I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much, please come back sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at Palmers Lodge for 2 nights in August. Stayed in female room with 12 beds. This was my first stay in a shared room and I would say everything was really nice. Room and showers were clean, breakfast was great (I don't know what people could complain about, it is a hostel after all), staff was helpful, hostel is close to subway station, in a seemingly safe part of a town. My room was opposite the canteen, but I didn't hear any noise at night. Also I think I was lucky to get good roommates: there were no snoring, noise or door slamming.
I will definately stay here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you kindly, we're looking forward to your return :)

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#42 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

Property: Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
Address: 40 College Crescent | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 5LB, England (Formerly Swiss Cottage)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 823 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the multiple award winning boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge, where you can experience Victorian elegance in the former home of Samuel Palmer, of the Huntley and Palmer's biscuit empire. Built in 1881, this substantial house has been restored to its original glory in order to offer our guests not just budget accommodation but also a unique experience during their stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmers Hotel London
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing