We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage
Ranked #20 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here during the Olympics for only one night. The room was quiet and of good size. There were tea and coffee making facilities and the bathroom was of an okay size. The wifi only works in the lobby/ public area space which was kind of a let down. The breakfast buffet was alright. All in all it was a nice and warm hostel/hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButterBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear ButterBird

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really glad to know that you had a good time with us. You will like to hear that we are now offering WiFi access in throughout the property so our guests can connect to the Web, whenever they are in-house.

We hope to see you back at Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage sometime soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

+ Friendly staff in general, except for a girl at the front desk who was a bit grumpy;
+ Free luggage storage, when you arrive too early for check in or after you check out;
+ Spacious lounge;
+ Good lockers under the beds;
+ Located 3 minutes away from the Swiss Cottage underground station;
+ The building is charming, great atmosphere and pretty decor;
+ Lots of toilets and showers;
+ Bed curtains.

The only thing I would mention as not satisfying is that If you're lucky to be in one of the rooms downstairs, you have wi-fi access, but if you're upstairs you'll have to use it in the lounge only (I know because I had to change rooms during my three-night stay).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsadoraRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Isadora

Thank you for your positive review. We are very pleased to learn that you had a good stay at our Boutique Hostel in Swiss Cottage. You will be glad to know that as from last month, we have started to offer WiFi access in every floor of our hostel. We are looking forward to see you very soon and get your feedback on this service.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

On arrival at this hostel I was greeted in a freiendly manner and then allowed to safely store my luggage as I was too early for check in. Throughout my stay I found the lounge and bedrooms very comfortable and the staff helpful at all times. The bar is nice and friendly and everyone talks to each other. The hostel is less than 5 mins walk from the swiss cottage tube and on main bus routes - i felt safe when walking from the tube on my own even late at night.

continental breakfast and wi fi included

would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haylesbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear HaylesBeth

Thank you for your positive and comprehensive feedback. We are very pleased to learn that you had a very good time at our hostel. We hope to see you sometime soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a private room on level 2 and were pleased with the accommodations. A charming building located a 2 min walk from Swiss Cottage tube station. Room was very clean yet basic as expected. Had no problems with check in and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basically toast and coffee/tea but can't expect more anyways. All in all good for a crash but at 65 quid for the private ot could have cost a bit less. Hard to say in London...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisontheroad31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Hello
thanks for the feedback, sadly that's the average price for a private in a hostel for London these days, London although cheaper than some cities (Amsterdam) it's still pricey compared to the rest of the world.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere of the hostel is awesome. It's an old building structure but it has everything a hostel should have. Laundry facilities, a bar, restaurant, common rooms, etc.
I stayed in a 18bed room, and I thought it would be horrible. I was wrong, it was awesome. The bed has curtains which gives you some privacy. Each bed has also a reading light and a locker to keep your luggage.
The staff is very friendly and kind. You get to know a lot of people in the bar.
The price is also good, I paid about 20$ a night, which is something difficult to find in London.
I'd totally recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viniciuspcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hello,
thank you very much for your review hope you can stay again.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed one week there last summer. It's a popular hostel. Staffs are very friendly. Free WiFi and breakie are awesome. Just 2 minutes walk from underground very convenient. Good price and surely it's a nice place to come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titus W, General Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for your nice review, we've done lots of improvements since you last stayed! Come back soon!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a private en-suite for two nights in February. Room was compact but very comfortable and of an extremely high standard of cleanliness. The hostel is set back off the road so the rooms are relatively quiet, although from our room you could hear the hand drier from the communal toilets next door.

The communal areas are spacious and the bar busy and reasonably priced, with great transport links in and out of the city. Breakfast was basic and it would have been nice to have a few more options there, however considering the price paid for the accommodation it was what we expected.

The only real issue we had was that on the second morning there was no hot water. I spoke to reception but this was not resolved in time for us to have a warm shower as we had to check out at 11am.

All in all a great value experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther M, Manager at Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Will

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to know that you had a nice time at Palmers Lodge Swiss Cottage, we are sorry about the problem with your shower, please get in touch with us the next time you come to stay so we can arrange for an upgrade.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,077 in London
1,472 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 923 in London
2,651 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#47 of 923 in London
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage

Address: 40 College Crescent | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 5LB, England (Formerly Swiss Cottage)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $18 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the multiple award winning boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge, where you can experience Victorian elegance in the former home of Samuel Palmer, of the Huntley and Palmer's biscuit empire. Built in 1881, this substantial house has been restored to its original glory in order to offer our guests not just budget accommodation but also a unique experience during their stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmers Hotel London
Palmers Lodge - Swiss Cottage London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing