We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family run resturant”
Review of Trattoria Terra

Trattoria Terra
Ranked #2,409 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Family run Italian Trattoria Terra at North London, Crouch End, Archway. Please note, we are open for Saturday lunch on request.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run resturant”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This restaurant has popped up about 100 yards away from our flat and its brilliant - really tasty and very good value for money!

The prawns for starters are simple but beautiful and the mains are also fantastic - Tuna and Sea Bass was very tasty.

Really good place to go, whatever event you are going for.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Thank you Tripadvisor contributors!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our usual place for a family birthday meal (500) was closed for summer holidays as were a number of our "second choices". Using the search function I found Trattoria Terra and its exceptional reviews. What a discovery!

A party of eight including two small children had an excellent meal at a very acceptable cost.

The menu is limited to five or six choices for each of the three courses, and included outstanding carpaccio of beef and vegetarian antipasto, vegetarian main course as well as pasta, fish and meat. Both the lamb and steak were beautifully cooked and delicious.

The children wanted ice cream for dessert, which was not on the menu, and we were offered home made lemon sorbet; again outstanding.

We arrived at 6.00pm and left at 8.00pm. The service was extremely friendly and helpful; certainly a child friendly venue early evening. If you go with children you should be aware that there is no bread or grissini on the table (although toys and games were) and so some small snacks might be required!

Terra will be added to our list of favourites and we will go again. It does compare with 500 and it probably means we shall have to eat out more often! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service, good times!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went last night for a birthday meal thinking we should try it out given the great reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed, and are happy to give the team at Trattoria Terra another 5 star review. All the food was of the highest quality - fresh, delicious and fairly priced. The service was warm and friendly and we will return soon. Having recently moved to the area we've been slowly working our way through all the local offerings and would say Terra is easily as good a dining experience as offered at 500 (which is also excellent).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CMPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and service”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A great little restaurant: delicious Italian food expertly cooked, and warm and friendly service - we're very lucky to have it on our doorstep. Trattoria Terra's growing reputation locally gave me the idea that it might be good for a special birthday celebration for family and friends. The owner Jimmy Tirinzoni was wonderful at every step of the way: in planning, making suggestions, bearing in mind specific dietary needs, catering for toddlers, and especially in creating a wonderful menu selected from an impressive repertoire of his own take on Italian classics – for example beetroot risotto, grilled swordfish, rabbit cooked in lemon and thyme. On the day, good weather meant the small outside decking patio was perfect for prosecco, the food was delicious, made with first-class ingredients - even better than I'd anticipated - and front-of-house service from Jimmy and his wife Gayane was both professional and as if they were friends. Well-chosen wine and freshly-sourced ingredients, beautifully served in a friendly and thoughtful way - thank you! I can't wait to go back. Mmm... that tiramisu!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bravo! Excellent, excellent, excellent!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I had been wanting to try this place for a while as this end of Whitehall Park lacks a local restaurant. From the second we walked in it just felt 'right'. The owner was charming and welcoming and the restaurant itself is cozy and comfortable. The owner told us he had fresh squid that he was just cleaning in the kitchen and offered us a dish off-menu, and oh my it didn't disappoint. The squid was perfectly tender and fresh and had been seared with garlic, chili and cherry tomatoes. He served it with a small salad and fresh bread, it was perfect.
For the mains, my 13 year stepson had steak which was perfectly cooked and he raved about it for days. I had homemade tagliatelle with a tomato and aubergine sauce, and a cheese on top similar to mozzarella.. I wish I could remember the name. It was solid to start but slowly melted into the sauce, and divine doesn't quite cover it.
The whole meal was excellent and I cannot WAIT to go back.

Well done, really really excellent, we are so excited to have this as our new local.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Terra also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing